The Accounting Hall of Fame was established at The Ohio State University in 1950 for the purpose of honoring accountants who have made or are making significant contributions to the advancement of accounting since the beginning of the 20th century. Through 2015, 93 leading accountants from the United States and other countries have been elected to the Hall of Fame.

While selection to the Hall of Fame is intended to honor the people so chosen, it is also intended to be a recognition of distinguished service contributions to the progress of accounting in any of its various fields. Evidence of such service includes contributions to accounting research and literature, significant service to professional accounting organizations, wide recognition as an authority in some field of accounting, advancement of accounting education, and public service. A member must have reached a position of eminence from which the nature of his or her contributions may be judged.

Elections to the Hall of Fame are made by a Board of Nominations consisting of up to 50 eminent accountants from each of the following three groups: public accountants, educators, and industrial and governmental accountants. The presentation of the certificate usually takes place at the annual meeting of the American Accounting Association.

Accounting Hall of Fame (AHOF) Transition Team


Bruce Behn

Chair, Past President AAA

Mike Cook

AHOF Member

Gary Previts

Past President AAA and AHOF Member

Mary Stone

Past President AAA and AHOF Board of Nominations member


Tracey Sutherland

AAA Executive Director

Barb Brady

AAA Director Operations

John Fellingham

The Ohio State University, Faculty

Board of Directors Liaison

Marc Rubin

AAA BOD Liaison/AAA President-Elect