George David Anderson
Mary Elizabeth Barth
Olivia Faulkner Kirtley
Kenneth Wilson Stringer


Four new members of The Accounting Hall of Fame have been inducted by the American Accounting Association (AAA) in August 2018, during the organization's Annual Meeting in National Harbor, MD.  The Hall of Fame, originated at The Ohio State University in 1950, previously inducted 93 members over the decades of its activity. In 2017 the operations of the Accounting Hall of Fame were assumed by the AAA.

Bruce Behn, a Past President of AAA, who directed the selection process, noted that this year's class of inductees represent an array of recent and contemporary professional and thought leaders from a variety of practice and educational backgrounds. The nomination process engaged members of the Hall of Fame, the AAA and other professional accounting organizations. The inductees, George D. Anderson, Mary E. Barth, Olivia F. Kirtley and Kenneth W. Stringer are briefly profiled in the following information.

George David Anderson (1922-2001) was a founding partner of Anderson & ZurMeuhlen Co. PC of Helena Montana. He served as President of the Montana Society of CPAs, and as Chairman of the Board (1981-82) of the American Institute of Certified Public Accountants (AICPA).  He led the AICPA's special committee on standards of professional conduct responding to developments brought about by high profile bank failures and corporate bankruptcies. This initiative secured changes to the governance and continuing review of CPA qualifications which are recognized as one of the seminal events in the history of the CPA profession. 

Mary Elizabeth Barth is the Joan E. Horngren Professor of Accounting at Stanford University. Her contributions include serving as a member of the Accounting Standards Executive Committee of the AICPA.  She was a member of the International Accounting Standards Board (IASB) from its inception in 2001 until 2009.  In this role, Barth contributed significantly to the content and processes of financial reporting and standard setting.   She also has served as Chair of the External Audit Committee of the International Monetary Fund and as President of the American Accounting Association (2013-14). She is currently the Senior Editor of The Accounting Review, the AAA's premier journal, which was established in 1926.

Olivia Faulkner Kirtley served as the Chief Financial Officer and Vice President of Vermont American Corporation from 1991 to 2000. Her corporate board activity includes U.S. Bancorp, Papa John's International, and Rescare, Inc. among others.  She is a graduate of Florida Southern College and earned a master's degree from Georgia State University. She served as Chair of the Board of the AICPA (1998-99) and subsequently as Chair of the Board of CPA Examiners, where she was influential in transforming the examination process to a computer based activity.  Since 2009, she has been a Participant/Member of the Bank Governance Leadership Network based in London and New York. From 2014-16 Mrs. Kirtley served as Board Chair of the International Federation of Accountants (IFAC). 

Kenneth Wilson Stringer (1918-2014) spent his public accounting career with Deloitte and its predecessor firm, Haskins & Sells, advancing the processes supporting statistical sampling in auditing and analytical review.  He served as Chair of the AICPA Statistical Sampling Committee during the years 1960-64, and was also a member of that organization's first committee on Auditing of EDP records. By conducting dedicated working retreats, being a contributor to professional literature and conference presentations, he led and advanced practice, related his knowledge to academics and thus university teaching. While collaborating with others in a variety of disciplines, the major developments in the principles of audit evidence inherent in today's auditing standards can be traced to his pioneering efforts.

About the American Accounting Association
Promoting excellence in accounting education, research, and practice, the American Accounting Association (AAA) is the largest community of accountants in academia. Founded in 1916, we have a rich and reputable history built on leading-edge research and publications. The diversity of our membership creates a fertile environment for collaboration and innovation. Collectively, we shape the future of accounting through teaching, research and a powerful network, ensuring our position as thought leaders in accounting. For more information about the AAA, please visit

The Accounting Hall of Fame, was established at The Ohio State University in 1950.


The Accounting Hall of Fame honors accountants who have made, or are making, significant contributions to the advancement of accounting since the beginning of the 20th century. Since its establishment in 1950, 93 leading accountants have been elected to the Hall of Fame.

... More

Accounting Hall of Fame (AHOF) Committee


Bruce Behn

Chair, Past President AAA

Mary Barth

Past President AAA and AHOF Member

J. Michael Cook

AHOF Member

Olivia Kirtley

AHOF Member

Gary Previts

Past President AAA and AHOF Member

Mary Stone

Past President AAA


Tracey Sutherland

AAA Executive Director

Barbara Brady

AAA Director Operations

Brian Mittendorf

The Ohio State University

Board of Directors Liaison

Marc Rubin

AAA BOD Liaison/AAA President