Accounting Information Systems Officers


Objectives

The purpose of the Accounting Information Systems Section is to further the theory, education, and practice of information systems. To achieve this goal, the Section (1) sponsors a mid-year meeting and provides other forums for presentation and discussion of theoretical, educational, and practice developments; (2) publishes the Journal of Information Systems and a newsletter for Section members; and (3) organizes committees to work on special topics.

2016 - 2017 Officers

President
Robert Pinsker
Florida Atlantic University – Boca
777 Glades Road, KH 131
Boca Raton, FL 33431
Phone: 561-297-3422
Email: rpinsker@fau.edu

Vice-President (President-Elect)
Robin Pennington
North Carolina State University
Dept of Accounting/College of Management
Campus Box 8113
Raleigh, NC 27695
Phone: 919-515-4509
Email: robin_pennington@ncsu.edu


Immediate Past President
Tina Loraas
Auburn University
301 Lowder
415 W. Magnolia Ave
Auburn, AL 36849
Phone: 334 844-6203
Email: loraatm@auburn.edu

Secretary
David Wood  
Brigham Young University
540 TNRN
Provo, UT 84602
Phone: 801-422-8642
Email: davidwood@byu.edu

 

Treasurer
Georgia Smedley
University of Missouri-Kansas City
UMKC-Bloch School of Management
5110 Cherry St
Kansas City, MO 64110
Phone: 816-235-2877
Email: smedleyg@umkc.edu

Council Representative
Gregory Gerard
Florida State University
821 Academic Way
Rovetta Building B
Tallahassee, FL 32309
Phone: 850-644-9115
Email: ggerard@cob.fsu.edu

 

Historian
Ann O'Brien
University of Wisconsin- Madison
975 University Avenue
Madison, WI 53706
Phone: (608)262-1028
Email: aobrien@bus.wisc.edu

 


 

Editors

Journal Co-Editor
Journal of Information Systems

Alexander Kogan
Rutgers, The State University of New Jersey, Newark
Phone: 973-353-1064
Email: kogan@business.rutgers.edu

Journal Co-Editor
Journal of Information Systems

Patrick R. Wheeler
University of South Florida
Phone: 813-974-6516
Email: prwheele@usf.edu

 

Knowledge Resources Editor (Journal of Information Systems)
Eileen Taylor
North Carolina State University
Phone: 919-513-2476
Email: Eileen_Taylor@ncsu.edu

Associate Editor for Web Services (Journal of Information Systems)
Deniz Appelbaum
Rutgers University
Email: deniz.appelbaum@rutgers.edu

 

In-the-Literature
Lane Lambert
University of West Florida
Phone: (817) 222-9113
Email:LLambert@uwf.edu

Newsletter 
Accounting Information Systems and Technology Reporter

Marcia Watson
University of North Carolina-Charlotte
Phone: (704) 687-7708
Email: mwatso40@uncc.edu

 



Webmaster
Shifei Chung
Rowan University
Phone: (856) 256-4500 ext 3032
Email: chung@rowan.edu

AAA Commons Editorial Board Member
Nishani Vincent
The University of Tennessee at Chattanooga
Phone: (423) 425-5253
Email: surani-vincent@utc.edu

 

Committee Chairpersons

Nominating Committee
Richard Dull
West Virginia University
Phone: (304) 293-7851
Email: richard.dull@mail.wvu.edu

By-Laws Review Committee
Paul Polinski
University of Washington- Bothel
Phone: (630) 862-0485
Email: polinski@uw.edu

 

Research and Publications Committee
Stephanie Farewell
University of Arkansas-Little Rock
Phone: (501) 569-8882
Email: smfarewell@ualr.edu

Initiative for the Education Issues Committee
Diane Janvrin
Iowa State University
Phone: (515) 294-9450
Email: djanvrin@iastate.edu

 

Initiatives for the Membership Service Committee
Jennifer Riley
University of Nebraska-Omaha
Phone: (402) 554-3984
Email: jenriley@unomaha.edu

Awards Committee 
Jagdish Pathak
University of Windsor
Phone: (519) 253- 3000 Ext 3131
Email: jagdish@uwindsor.ca

 

 

Meeting and Regional Coordinators

2017 Midyear Meeting Coordinator
Jee-Hae Lim
University of Waterloo
Phone: 519-888-4567 
Email: jh2lim@uwaterloo.ca

2018 Midyear Meeting  Co-Coordinator
Georgia Smedley
University of Missouri-Kansas City
Phone: 816-235-2877
Email: smedleyg@umkc.edu

 

2018 Midyear Meeting  Co-Coordinator
Dan O'Leary
University of Southern California
Phone: (213) 740-4856
Email: oleary@usc.edu

2019 Midyear Meeting  Co-Coordinator
Ken Guo
Cal State University - Fullerton
Email: kguo@fullerton.edu

 

2017 Midyear Meeting Research
Paper Coordinator
Stephanie Farewell
University of Arkansas-Little Rock
Phone: (501) 569-8882
Email: smfarewell@ualr.edu

2017 Midyear Meeting Education
Paper Coordinator

Diane Janvrin
Iowa State University
Phone: (515) 294-9450
Email: djanvrin@iastate.edu

 

2017 New Scholars Consortium Coordinator
David Wood  
Brigham Young University
Phone: (801)422-8642
Email: davidwood@byu.edu

2018 New Scholars Consortium Coordinator
Chris Wolfe
Texas A&M
Phone: (979) 845-0964
Email: cwolfe@mays.tamu.edu

 

 

2017 Midyear Meeting Coordinator
Jee-Hae Lim
University of Waterloo
Phone: 519-888-4567
Email:jh2lim@uwaterloo.ca

2018 Midyear Meeting Co-Coordinator
Georgia Smedley
University of Missouri-Kansas City
Phone: 816-235-2877
Email:smedleyg@umkc.edu

 

2018 Midyear Meeting Co-Coordinator
Dan O'Leary
University of Southern California
Phone:(213) 740-4856
Email:oleary@usc.edu

2019 Midyear Meeting Co-Coordinator
Ken Guo
Cal State University - Fullerton
Email:kguo@fullerton.edu

 

2017 Midyear Meeting Research
Paper Coordinator
Stephanie Farewell
University of Arkansas-Little Rock
Phone:(501) 569-8882
Email:smfarewell@ualr.edu

2017 Midyear Meeting Education
Paper Coordinator

Diane Janvrin
Iowa State University
Phone: (515) 294-9450
Email:djanvrin@iastate.edu

 

2017 AAA Annual Meeting Coordinator
Jurgen Sidgman
University of Wisconsin Oshkosh
Phone: (262) 204-7039
Email: sidgmanj@uwosh.edu

2017 AAA Annual Meeting Assistant Coordinator
Tawei (David) Wang
DePaul University
Phone: (312) 362-1129
Email: david.wang@depaul.edu

Midwest
Rebekah Heath
St Ambrose University
Phone: (563) 333-6474
Email: HeathRebekahA@sau.edu

Northeast
Jagdish Pathak
University of Windsor
Phone: (519) 253- 3000 Ext 3131
Email: jagdish@uwindsor.ca

 

Ohio
Anthony Holder
University of Toledo
Phone: 419-530-2560
Email: Anthony.Holder@utoledo.edu

Southeast
Mitch Wenger
The University of Mississippi
Phone: (662) 915-5755
Email: mrwenger@olemiss.edu

 

Southwest
Jacob Haislip
University of North Texas
Phone: (432) 528-3257
Email: Jacob.haislip@unt.edu

Western
Lizhong Hao
California State University – Fresno
Phone: (559) 278-0301
Email: lhao@csufresno.edu

 

International
Satoshi Horiuchi
Chuo Univeristy
Phone: (426) 977-7719
Email: satoshi@tamacc.chuo-u.ac.jp

International
Carsten Felden
Technische Universitaet Bergakademie Freiberg
Phone: +00493731392611
Email: carsten.felden@bwl.tu-freiberg.de

 

   
At-Large Member
Lizhong Hao
Cal State- Fresno
Phone: (559) 278-0301
Email: lhao@csufresno.edu
At-Large Member
Surani Vincent
University of Tennessee- Chattanooga
Phone: (423) 425-5253
Email: surani-vincent@utc.edu

Letter from the President

Robert Pinsker

Hello all and welcome to the Fall 2016 term.

I hope everyone has a smooth transition from summer. Before I begin, I want to thank my Presidential predecessors, most immediately Rick Dull and Tina Loraas, for their hard work and dedication. I also want to thank everyone who is volunteering within the section this academic year. You are the ones who improve the AIS section each and every year.

Continue Reading

Journal of Information Systems

Journal of Information Systems

The Journal of Information Systems (JIS) is the academic journal of the Accounting Information Systems (AIS) Section of the American Accounting Association. Its goal is to support, promote, and advance Accounting Information Systems knowledge. The primary criterion for publication in JIS is contribution to the accounting information systems (AIS), accounting and auditing domains by the application or understanding of information technology theory and practice.

Learn More