Objectives

The purpose of the Auditing Section of the American Accounting Association is to give greater attention to the area of auditing. To fulfill this purpose, the Section has established objectives in three areas:


Education—to discuss, test, and disseminate various ways of teaching auditing and audit-related topics.


Research—to encourage, facilitate, and publicize research interests and projects in the audit area.


Profession—to create an opportunity for closer association between the profession and those who instruct in the field.


 


2017-18 Officers

President
Rick Hatfield
University of Alabama-Tuscaloosa
Phone: (205) 348-2901
Email: rhatfiel@cba.ua.edu


Past President
Karla Johnstone
University of Wisconsin – Madison
Phone: 608-262-3544
Email: kjohnstone@bus.wisc.edu


Vice President — Academic
Kathryn Kadous
Emory University
Phone: (404) 727-4967
Email:kathryn.kadous@emory.edu


Vice President — Practice
Dan Sunderland
Deloitte
Phone: (203)423-4652
Email: dsunderland@deloitte.com


Treasurer
Chad Stefaniak
Univsersity of South Carolina
Phone: (803) 777-7408
Email: Chad.Stefaniak@gmail.com


Secretary 
Susan Scholz
University of Kansas
Phone: (785) 864-7554
Email: sscholz@ku.edu


Historian
Mark Taylor
Case Western Reserve University
Phone: (216)368-2073
Email: mht17@case.edu


Council Representative
Urton Anderson
University of Kentucky
Phone: 512-471-5339
Email: urton.anderson@uky.edu


Editors


Auditing: A Journal of Practice & Theory

Senior Editor:
Christopher P. Agoglia
University of Massachusetts Amherst
Phone: 413-545-5582
Email: cpa22@isenberg.umass.edu


Deputy Senior Editor:
Susan Scholz
The University of Kansas
Email: Sscholz@ku.edu


Editors:
Christine E. Earley           
Providence College
Email: cearley@providence.edu



Lisa Milici Gaynor            
University of South Florida
Email: lgaynor@usf.edu


Yves Gendron                   
Université Laval
Email: Yves.Gendron@ctb.ulaval.ca


Udi Hoitash                        
Northeastern University
Email: u.hoitash@northeastern.edu


Jayanthi Krishnan            
Temple University
Email: jaykrish@temple.edu


Chan Li                                 
University of Pittsburgh
Email: chanli@katz.pitt.edu


Linda A. Myers                 
The University of Tennessee
Email: lmyers16@utk.edu


Vic Naiker                           
The University of Melnourne
Email: vic.naiker@monash.edu


M. David Piercy                
University of Massachusetts Amherst
Email: piercey@isenberg.umass.edu


Douglas F. Prawitt           
Brigham Young University
Email: prawitt@byu.edu


Jamie J. Schmidt              
The University of Texas at Austin
Email: jaime.schmidt@mccombs.utexas.edu


Ann Vanstraelen             
Maastricht University
Email: a.vanstraelen@maastrichtuniversity.nl


Gary Monroe              
UNSW Sydney
Email: g.monroe@unsw.edu.au


Thomas C. Omer             
University of Nebraska-Lincoln
Email: thomas.omer@unl.edu


Consulting Editors:
Jeffrey R. Cohen
Boston College
Email: jeffrey.cohen@bc.edu



Jeffrey A. Pittman
Memorial University of Newfoundland
Email: jpittman@mun.ca


The Auditor's Report

Editor:
Larry Abbott
University of Wisconsin - Milwaukee
Email: abbottl@uwm.edu


Associate Editor:
Tamara Lambert
University of Massachusetts Amherst
Phone: 413-545-5653
Email: tlambert@som.umass.edu


Current Issues in Auditing
Co-Editors:

Dan Sunderland
Deloitte
Phone: (203)423-452
Email: dsunderland@deloitte.com


Greg Jenkins
Virginia Polytechnic Institute and State University
Phone: 540-231-2527
Email: greg.jenkins@vt.edu


Other

Webmaster
Glen L. Gray
California State University, Northridge
Phone: 818-677-3948
Email: glen.gray@csun.edu


Section Photographer
Julia Higgs
Florida Atlantic University
Phone: 561-297-3663
Email: jhiggs@fau.edu


Committee Chairpersons

Annual Meeting Vice Director 
Brian Bratten
University of Kentucky
Phone: 859-257-1947
Email: Brian.Bratten@uky.edu


Annual Meeting Committee Vice Director 
David Wood
Brigham Young University
Phone: 801-422-8642
Email: davidwood@byu.edu


Annual Meeting Committee Vice Director 
Nathaniel Stephens
Utah State University
Phone: 435-797-8016
Email: nate.stephens@usu.edu



Midyear Meeting Committee 2017
Co-Chair

Ling Lisic
George Mason University
Phone: (703) 993-7584
Email: llisic@gmu.edu


Midyear Meeting Committee 2017
Co-Chair

Noel Harding
University of New South Wales
Phone: +61293856109
Email: n.harding@unsw.edu.au


Midyear Meeting Committee 2017 Vice
Chair

Tina Carpenter
University of Georgia
Phone: (706) 542-3619
Email: tcarpenter@terry.uga.edu


Midyear Meeting Committee 2017 Vice
Chair

Margaret Christ
University of Georgia
Phone: (706) 542-3602
Email: mchrist@uga.edu


Auditing Doctoral Consortium Committee Chairperson  2017
Linda Myers
University of Arkansas
Phone: 479-575-5227 
Email: lmyers@walton.uark.edu


Auditing Doctoral Consortium Committee Vice-Chairperson 2016
Jackie Hammersley
University of Georgia
Phone: (706) 542-3500 
Email: jhammers@uga.edu


Auditing Standards Committee
Pamela Roush
University of Central Florida
Phone: (407) 823-5664
Email: proush@ucf.edu


Communications Committee
James Long
Auburn University
Phone: (334) 844-6214
Email: jameslong@auburn.edu


Education Committee
Edward B. Douthett, Jr.
George Mason University
Phone: (703) 993-4234
Email: edouthet@gmu.edu


Research Committee
Carol Callaway Dee
University of Colorado-Denver
Phone: (303) 315-8463
Email: carol.dee@ucdenver.edu


Membership and Regional Coordinators Committee
Ben Luippold
Babson College
Phone: 781-239-5995
Email: bluippold@babson.edu


Nominations Committee
TBA


Notable Contributions to the Auditing Literature Award Selection Committee
Linda Myers
University of Georgia
Phone: 706-542-3500 
Email: jhammers@uga.edu


Outstanding Auditing Dissertation
Selection Committee

Scott Vander Velde
University of South Carolina
Phone: (803) 777-6075
Email: vandervelde@moore.sc.edu


Outstanding Educator Award
Chris Hogan
Michigan State University
Phone: 517-353-8647
Email: hogan@bus.msu.edu


Innovation in Auditing and Assurance Education Award Selection Committee
Tina Carpenter
University of Georgia
Phone: (706) 542-3619
Email: tcarpenter@terry.uga.edu


Distinguished Service in Auditing Award Selection Committee
Dan Sunderland
Deloitte
Phone: (203)423-452
Email: dsunderland@deloitte.com


AJPT Awards
Susan Scholz
University of Kansas
Phone: (785) 864-7554
Email: sscholz@ku.edu


Regional Coordinators

Mid-Atlantic Region
James McKinney
University of Maryland
Phone: 301-588-3266
Email: jmkinney@rhsmith.umb.edu


Midwest Region
Jack Armitage
University of Nebraska at Omaha
Phone: 402-554-2912
Email: jarmitage@unomaha.edu


Northeast Region
Udi Hoitash
Northeastern University
Phone: (617) 373-5839
Email: u.hoitash@neu.edu


Southeastern Region
Aretha Hill
Florida A & M University
Phone: (850) 599-8331
Email: hillaretha@aol.com

Southwest Region
Lili Sun
University of North Texas
Phone: 940 565-3077
Email: Lili.Sun@unt.edu


Ohio Region
Ben Hoffman
Kent State University
Phone: 332-672-1120
Email: bhoffm11@kent.edu


Western Region
Kathleen Rupley
Portland State University
Phone: 503-725-3133
Email: rupleyk@pdx.edu


International
Vida Botes
The University of Waikato
Phone: 64 7 856 2889 x8402
Email: vidab@waikato.ac.nz


Practice Advisory Council

Chair
John Fogarty
Deloitte LLP

Members
Trevor Stewart
Deloitte LLP

Michael C. Hrapsky
Financial Mgt and Assurance
U.S. Government Accountability Office

Craig Crawford
KPMG LLP

Susan Jones
Grant Thornton LLP

Jim Sylph
International Federation of Accountants

Sue Lister
BDO Seidman

Scott Showalter
KPMG

Dan Montgomery
Ernst & Young, LLP

Robert Dohrer
McGladrey & Pullen LLP

Chuck Landes
AICPA

Jim Lee
PricewaterhouseCoopers, LLP

Brenda Lovell
Institute of Internal Auditors

 

Journal

Auditing: A Journal of Practice & Theory

Auditing: A Journal of Practice & Theory is available electronically to members of the Auditing Section. If you are a AAA member and would like to join the Auditing Section, please contact AAA Headquarters.

Auditing: A Journal of Practice & Theory is indexed in the Social Science Citation Index, which is included in the Web of Science.

Continue Reading

Midyear Meeting

January 11-13, 2018 – Hilton Portland & Executive Tower Portland, Oregon
Please mark your calendar!

Click here for more information

#AuditProud [Save the date: September 28]

As a part of its Discover Audit initiative, the Center for Audit Quality (CAQ) is coordinating the third annual
#AuditorProud social media day on Thursday, September 28, 2017. On #AuditorProud Day, we celebrate the
audit profession, and help raise awareness about the many opportunities and benefits a career in audit can offer.
The social media event brings together individuals who are helping to educate and train the next generation of
audit professionals, students interested and considering a career in the profession, current and former auditors,
and those who work with auditors. On September 28th, we want to celebrate the audit profession and encourage
students and others to learn more about the world of opportunity a career in audit can offer.

See the toolkit that contains all the information you need so that your university/college can join the conversation on
#AuditorProud Day.

Research

» Audit Section AJPT/PCAOB Initiative: The goal of this initiative is to encourage theoretically-based, yet practice-relevant, research scholarship in the many aspects of external and internal auditing utilizing the PCAOB’s standards-setting agenda and Standing Advisory Group meetings, and the topics covered therein as substantive motivation for creative and innovative research that seeks to make a practical difference to the regulation and practice of auditing. See the linked document for specific instructions for submitting articles to AJPT under this initiative.

» Audit Section Research (ASR) Database: A Database of Auditing Research - Building Bridges with Practice


Articles published by or commissioned by the research committee in 
The Auditor's Report:

Learn More

Journal

Current Issues in Auditing

Current Issues in Auditing is published by the Auditing Section of the American Accounting Association. To promote timely, widespread dissemination of ideas to the academic and practice communities, the journal is published online and is free to all interested parties.

Continue Reading