Menu

2014 - 2015 Professionalism and Ethics Committee

Ethics Link Library

Charge

  • To encourage and support accounting ethics education and scholarship in universities, and more broadly, a sense of professionalism and ethical conduct in the practice and teaching of accounting. Specifically:
    • Encourage the development of suitable forums for bringing to the attention to academics and students the centrality of professional and ethical conduct in an accounting career, including the desirability and practicability of incorporating appropriate teaching materials in an accounting curriculum.
    • Plan the Symposium on Ethics Research in Accounting in conjunction with the AAA Annual Meeting.

Membership

  • The committee consists of nine members, including the Chair, serving staggered two or three-year terms.
  • Three committee members constitute the leadership group -- a Chair, Past Chair, and Chair-elect.
    • One new appointee each year is named Chair-elect by the President-Elect and this person serves one year each as Chair-elect, Chair, and Past Chair of the committee (a three-year term in all).
  • Four of the committee members are the co-chairs of the next two Symposia on Ethics Research in Accounting:
    • Each year the Committee Chair selects one co-chair and the Chair of the Public Interest Section selects one co-chair for the succeeding Symposia.
  • The President-Elect appoints one additional new committee member annually to a two- or three-year term.

Meetings

  • The committee meets as needed.

Responsibilities

  • Fulfill the committee charter as above.
  • If the Chair has any questions about the charge or responsibilities of this committee, s/he should contact the Executive Director, the President, or the committee’s Board of Directors Liaison.
  • The Chair will have the opportunity three times every term-year to prepare and send a progress report which will be available for the Board of Directors to review at their next meeting. This report should include accomplishments and suggested modifications and should be sent to the AAA President, the committee’s Board of Directors Liaison, and staff liaison, Barbara Gutierrez (barbara.gutierrez@aaahq.org).

Members

Name / Affiliation Contact Term Length Term Expires
Chair
Don Finn
University of North Texas

Don.Finn@unt.edu
 
3
 
08/2016
Chair-Elect
Hubert Glover
Drexel University
 
hdg26@drexel.edu
 
3
 
08/2017
Past Chair
Ken Merchant
University of Southern California
 
kmerchant@marshall.usc.edu
 
3
 
08/2015
Jane Cote
Washington State University
janecote@vancouver.wsu.edu 2 08/2015
Cindy Sobieski
Deloitte LLP
csobieski@deloitte.com 3 08/2017
Co-Chair, August 2015 Ethics Symposium
Lucy Chen
Villanova University
*Chosen by Chair of P&E Committee


Lucy.chen@villanova.edu


2


08/2015
Co-Chair, August 2015 Ethics Symposium
Amy Hageman
Kansas State University
*Chosen by the Chair of the Public Interest Section
 

HagemanA@ksu.edu
 

2
 

08/2015
Co-Chair Elect, August 2016 Ethics Symposium
Diane Roberts
University of San Francisco
*Chosen by Chair of P&E Committee


robertsd@usfa.edu


2


08/2016
Co-Chair Elect, August 2016 Ethics Symposium
Charles Stanley
Baylor University
*Chosen by the Chair of the Public Interest Section


charles_stanley@baylor.edu


2


08/2016
Board of Directors Liaison
Gary Biddle
University of Hong Kong
 
biddle@hku.hk
 
 
Copyright © 1998 - 2018 by American Accounting Association. All rights reserved.