2014-2015 Strategic Region Leader Committee


The Committee is responsible for monitoring and maintaining the AAA Pilot Region Strategic Plan, which includes:

  • Approving and monitoring strategic initiatives for pilot regional services which inform, and are informed by, the overall AAA Strategic Plan.
  • Assisting with cultivating strategic relationships with AAA communities, groups, and other organizations to maximum mutual long-term benefit.
  • Monitoring the governance and operations of pilot regions, and approving the creation of pilot region policies when necessary, with the purpose of making the pilot region volunteer’s experience, and the meeting attendee’s experience, valuable ones.
  • Encouraging the creation of proposals from pilot region program leaders for innovations at pilot region meetings, and evaluating for approval all such proposals.


  • The Committee shall consist of 15 members:
    • The President and Past President of each Pilot Region, each of whom shall serve a two-year term (beginning in the year he/she is President) beginning in May;
    • Three members appointed by the Management Team, each representing one or more key sub-communities in the pilot regions, each of whom shall serve two-year terms beginning in May;
    • The Director–Focusing on Segments, serving a three-year term beginning in September;
    • Three members of the AAA Professional Staff, appointed annually by the Executive Director;
  • The Director–Focusing on Segments and one of the appointed members of the AAA Professional Staff shall co-facilitate all Committee meetings.
  • Transition note: The Committee structure is currently in transition: transition should be complete in 2015. In 2014-2015, the current Pilot Region Past Presidents will serve only a one-year term and one of the three members appointed by the Management Team representing key sub-communities in the pilot regions shall serve a one-year term. Beginning in 2015, all three members representing key sub-communities shall serve two year terms.


  • The Committee meets annually in May to review the condition of the Pilot Region Strategic Plan, discuss important related issues, and approve any necessary changes to the Strategic Plan and/or to Pilot Region operations, and twice more annually in August or September, and again in January or February.
  • Other meetings of the committee or its sub-committees or task forces may be scheduled in person or by teleconference.


  • Fulfill the committee charter above.
  • David Boynton, (, Segment Services Manager, assists with providing logistical support for committee and task force meetings and conference calls.
  • If the Chair has any questions about the charge or responsibilities of this committee, s/he should contact the Executive Director, the President, or the committee’s Board of Directors Liaison.
  • The Co-Facilitators will have the opportunity three times every term-year to prepare and send a progress report which will be available for the Board of Directors to review at their next meeting. This report should include accomplishments and suggested modifications and should be sent to the AAA President, the committee's Board of Directors Liaison, and staff liaison, Barbara Gutierrez (


Name / Affiliation Contact Pilot Region Affiliation Term Length Term Expires

Director–Focusing on Segments
Anne Christensen
University of Montana




David Boynton
AAA Segment Services Manager,
Member and Leader Services Team

Larry Davis
University of St. Thomas
MW Past President

MW 1 04/2015

Natalie Churyk
University of Northern Illinois
2014 MW Co-President MW 2 04/2016

Carol Hartley
Providence College
2014 NE Past President NE 1 04/2015

Eric Lewis
Siena College
2014 NE President NE 2 04/2016

Richard Fern
Eastern Kentucky University
2014 SE Past President

SE 1 04/2015

Lynn Clements
Florida Southern College
2014 SE President SE 2 04/2016

Claire Latham
Washington State University
2014 WE Past President WE 1 04/2015
Alan Styles
California State University – San Marcos
2014 WE President WE 2 04/2016
Andy Williams
Edmonds Community College   1 04/2015
Tracie Nobles
Austin Community College   1 04/2015
[Representative of key sub-community in the pilot regions]     2 04/2016
Julie Smith David
AAA Chief Innovation Officer      
Erlinda Jones
AAA Senior Director, Meetings and Programs      
Board of Directors Liaison
Director–Focusing on Segments
Anne Christensen University of Montana



Copyright © 1998 - 2019 by American Accounting Association. All rights reserved.