Menu

Forensic Accounting

Objectives

The Forensic Accounting Section is dedicated to the continual improvement of forensic accounting research and education, through the encouragement, development, and sharing of:

  • The promotion and dissemination of forensic and investigative academic and practitioner research.
  • The relevant and innovative curricula with an emphasis on effective and efficient instruction.
  • The exploration of knowledge-organization issues related to forensic accounting programs.
  • The creation and presentation of CPE courses to members and professionals.
Forensic Accounting often intersects with other professions including those of the law, criminology, sociology, psychology, intelligence, information technology (open sourcing, cyber-crime, digital evidence, data mining, and IT systems and control), computer forensics, and other forensic sciences.

Specific objectives include, but are not limited to those of:

A. Research:

  1. To initiate, encourage, and sponsor research in the field of forensic accounting.
  2. To stimulate discussion, promotion and dissemination of research means, methods, resources, and findings resulting from forensic accounting research.
  3. To raise questions and to share knowledge about forensic accounting and fraud research, including theory, application, and practice.
  4. To provide guidance and opportunities for members to test and to improve their forensic accounting research skills, tools, and techniques.
  5. To investigate and share various means of evaluating research by using scientific research methodologies, forensic accounting practice methods, policies, techniques, and research tools.

B. Education:

  1. To encourage a broad definition of scholarship with a high priority on teaching, learning, and curricular development.
  2. To provide a forum for the exchange of ideas and findings about developments related to instruction, learning, and curricular issues in forensic accounting education.
  3. To work with other organizations (especially fraud and litigation support practitioners) pursuing similar goals.
  4. To encourage qualified individuals to consider opportunities in forensic accounting education by providing appropriate guidance and information about such careers.
  5. To unite forensic professors and practitioners by co-creating and sharing educational materials and training.

C. Teaching:

  1. To initiate, encourage, and sponsor research in methods of teaching, learning, and their applications to the field of forensic accounting instruction.
  2. To stimulate discussion and experimentation in instructional means, methods, and materials in the field of forensic accounting in general.
  3. To raise questions and to share knowledge about forensic accounting and fraud-related materials.
  4. To provide guidance and opportunities for members to test and to improve their forensic teaching and research skills and instructional materials.
  5. To investigate and share various means of evaluating forensic accounting instruction, instructional methods and materials, and forensic accounting research.

D. Curricula:

  1. To encourage continued consideration of and experimentation in all facets of     curricular developments for forensic accounting programs.
  2. To communicate interests, intentions, and information about curricular developments in forensic accounting programs.


Officers

President
Cindy Durtschi
DePaul University
School of Accountancy & MIS
1 East Jackson Blvd.
Chicago, IL 60404
Phone: 312-362-8789
cdurtsch@depaul.edu
President Elect
Lester Heitger
Missouri State University
School of Accountancy
901 South National Ave
Springfield, MO 65897
Phone: 417-836-5164
LesHeitger@missouristate.edu
Immediate Past President
Timothy J. Louwers
College of Business
James Madison University
School of Accounting MSC 0203
Harrisonburg, VA 22807
Phone: 540-568-3084
louwertj@jmu.edu
Vice President — Practice
Toby Bishop
Independent Anti-Fraud Strategist
fraudmeister@aol.com
Treasurer
Carl Pacini
University of South Florida
College of Business, PNM 107
Saint Petersburg, FL 33701
Phone: 727-873-4268
cpacini@mail.usf.edu
Secretary
Ronald Daigle
Sam Houston State University
College of Business
1821 Avenue I
Huntsville, TX 77340
Phone: 936-294-1479
daigle@shsu.edu
Council Representative
Timothy J. Louwers
College of Business
James Madison University
School of Accounting MSC 0203
Harrisonburg, VA 22807
Phone: 540-568-3084
louwertj@jmu.edu
 

 

Editors

Newsletter
D. Larry Crumbley
Louisiana State University
Phone: 225-578-6231
dcrumbl@lsu.edu
AAACommons Editorial Board Member
TBD
Webmaster
Patricia Johnson
Canisius College
Phone: 716-888-5947
johnsonp@canisius.edu
 

 

Committee Chairpersons

Membership Acquisition and Retention
Lynn Clements
Florida Southern College
Phone: 863-680-4288
lclements@flsouthern.edu
Bylaw Review/Strategic Planning
Priscilla Burnaby
Bentley University
Phone: 781-891-2519
pburnaby@bentley.edu
Nominating Committee
D. Larry Crumbley
Louisiana State University
Phone: 225-578-6231
dcrumbl@lsu.edu
IFRS & Fraud
Norbert Tschakert
Salem State University
Phone: 619-200-9852
ntschakert@salemstate.edu
Electronic Evidence & Fraud
Salem Boumediene
Montana State University – Billings
Phone: 406-657-1605
salem.boumediene@msubillings.edu
Litigation Support
Bill Barrett
Barrett PC
Phone: 804-355-3555
bill.barrett@barrettPC.com
Tax Fraud/Underground Economy
Carl Pacini
University of South Florida
Phone: 727-873-4268
cpacini@mail.usf.edu
Fraud in Governmental/NFP Entities
Oscar Harvin
Florida Atlantic University
oharvin@my.fau.edu
Publications
Chih-Chen Lee
Northern Illinois University
Phone: 815-753-6205
cclee@niu.edu
Awards
Diane Matson
University of St. Thomas
Phone: 651-962-5149
dmmatson@stthomas.edu
Syllabus Exchange
Helen Pruitt
University of Maryland-University College
Phone: 301-956-4610 helen_pruitt@yahoo.com
Education
Debbie Sinclair
University of South Florida – St. Petersburg
Phone: 727-873-4815
dsinclair@mail.usf.edu
Professional Association Liaison
Helen Pruitt
University of Maryland-University College
Phone: 301-956-4610 helen_pruitt@yahoo.com
Midyear Research Conference
Program Chair

Chris Skousen
Utah State University
Phone: 435-797-2429
chris.skousen@usu.edu
2015 Annual Meeting Program Advisory Committee Liaison
Siew Chan
Nova Southeastern University
Phone: 954-262-5354
schan1@nova.edu
2015 Annual Meeting Program Advisory Committee Liaison (Assistant)
Curt Nichols
Bucknell University
Phone: 509-313-7031
cmn006@bucknell.edu

 

Regional Directors

Mid-Atlantic
James DiGabriele
Montclair State University
Phone: 973 243-2600
jim@dmcpa.com
Midwest
Meghann Cefaratti
Northern Illinois University
Phone: 815-753-6382
mcefaratti@niu.edu
Northeast
Kathy Nesper
University of Buffalo
Phone: 716-645-3284
ksnesper@buffalo.edu
Ohio
TBD
Southeast
Maria Leach
University of Southern Mississippi
Phone: 334-244-3274
Maria.Leach@usm.edu
Southwest
Matthew Pickard
University of New Mexico
Phone: 520-277-3631
mpickard@unm.edu
Western
Sara Melendy Kern
Gonzaga University
Phone: 509-313-7031 kern@jepson.gonzaga.edu
International
Dominic Peltier-Rivest
Concordia University
Phone: 514-848-2424, ext. 2778
drivest@jmsb.concordia.ca
Copyright © 1998 - 2018 by American Accounting Association. All rights reserved.