We will be having a planned system upgrade event on Thursday, December 14, 2017 starting at 6:00 am EST. Normal access to the Digital Library, FASB/GASB and COSO login pages, Meeting Registration and Submissions, the Member Dashboard, and AAA Commons will resume on Friday, December 15th at 6:00 am EST.

Menu

Management Accounting

Objectives

The Management Accounting Section shall strive to stimulate and improve the teaching, researching and practice of accounting that assists in the effective and efficient management of entities. The goals of the Section include the following:

  1. Improve the effectiveness of instruction in management accounting by fostering development, testing and discussion of methods and materials, as well as course offerings;
  2. Encourage research in management accounting by facilitating the exchange of ideas and findings, and through opportunities for exposure of research results;
  3. Increase opportunities for the interchange of ideas among the members of the academic and professional community who are interested in management accounting; and
  4. Encourage capable and promising accounting students to pursue careers in management accounting by enhancing their knowledge of the activities, responsibilities and opportunities offered by such careers.


Officers

President
Naomi Soderstrom
University of Melbourne
198 Berkeley Street
419 UCB - Level 7
Melbourne, VIC
AUSTRALIA
naomiss@unimelb.edu.au
President-Elect
Monte Swain
Brigham Young University
Marriott School of Management
540 TNRB
Provo, UT  84602
Phone: 801-422-3174 
monte@byu.edu
Past President
Murray Lindsay
University of Lethbridge
Faculty of Management
4401 University Dr
Lethbridge, AB T1K 3M4
CANADA
Phone: 403-329-2633
m.lindsay@uleth.ca
Secretary/Treasurer
Margaret Shackell-Dowell
Cornell University
Johnson Graduate School of Management
437 Sage Hall
Ithica, NY 14850-6201
Phone: 607-255-6054
mbs242@cornell.edu
Council Representative
Leslie Eldenburg
University of Arizona-Tucson
Eller College of Management
McClelland Hall 301
P.O Box 210108
Tucson, AZ 85721 0108
Phone:520 621-4585
eldenbur@email.arizona.edu
 

 

Editors

Journal
Journal of Management Accounting Research

Ranjani Krishnan
Michigan State University
Phone: 517 353 4687
krishnan@bus.msu.edu
Website Coordinator
and AAACommons Editorial Board Member

Andrea Drake
Louisiana Tech University
Phone: 318-556-4378
adrake@latech.edu

 

Committee Chairpersons

Nominations
Murray Lindsay
University of Lethbridge
Phone: 403-329-2633
m.lindsay@uleth.ca
Publications
Ramji Balakrishnan
University of Iowa
Phone: 319-335-0958
ramji-balakrishnan@uiowa.edu
Instructional Resources Committee
Chair

Albie Brooks
University of Melbourne
Phone: 0383445305
albieb@unimelb.edu.au
 
Lifetime Contribution to Management Accounting Award Chair
Joe Fisher
Indiana University - Bloomington
Phone: 812-855-3705
jofisher@indiana.edu

Notable Contribution to Management Accounting Literature Award
Karen Sedatole
Michigan State University
Phone: 517-432-2919
sedatole@msu.edu

Membership Outreach
Wayne Bremser
Villanova University
Phone: 610-519-4314
wayne.bremser@villanova.edu
Midyear Meeting Best Teaching Case Award
Raef Lawson
Institute of Management Accountants
Phone: 201-474-1532
rlawson@imanet.org
Annual Meeting Best Management Accounting Paper Award
Gavin Cassar
INSEAD
gavin.cassar@insead.edu
Early-Career in Management Accounting Research Award
Eva Labro
University of North Carolina-Chapel Hill
Phone: 919-962-5747
Eva_Labro@unc.edu
Best Management Accounting Dissertation Award
Jasmijn Bol
Tulane University
Phone: 504-314-7033
jbol@tulane.edu
Most Impact on Management Accounting Practice Award
Wim van der Stede
London School of Economics and Political Science
Phone: 0207956695
w.van-der-stede@lse.ac.uk
IMA Jim Bulloch Innovations in Teaching Award
David Stout
Youngstown State University
Phone: 330-941-3509
destout@ysu.edu
Midyear Meeting Best Paper Award
Eddy Cardinaels
Tilburg University
e.cardinaels@uvt.nl
Strategy Advisory Board
TBA
 

 

Meeting Coordinators

2014-2015 Midyear Meeting Co-Directors

Khim Kelly
University of Waterloo
Phone: 519-888-4567
kokelly@uwaterloo.ca

Christian Hofman
Ludwig-Maximilians-Universitaet
Phone: 08921806892
hofmann@bwl.lmu.de

2014-2015 Midyear Meeting Doctoral Consortium Co-Directors

Victor Maas
University of Amsterdam
vmaas@uva.nl

Clara Chen
University of Illinois-Urbana-Champaign
Phone: 217-244-3953
cxchen@illinois.edu
2014-2015 National Meeting Representative
Gavin Cassar
INSEAD
gavin.cassar@insead.edu

 
IMA Liaison
Raef Lawson
Institute of Management Accountants
Phone: 201-474-1532
rlawson@imanet.org
AICPA Liaison
Anne Farrell
Miami University
Phone: 513-529-1869
Anne.Farrell@MiamiOH.edu
CIMA Liaison
Margaret Woods
Aston Business School
Phone: +44 12-1204-5282
m.woods@aston.ac.uk
 

 

Regional Directors

International Director
Marc Wouters
Karlsruhe Institute of Technology
Phone: +49 721 608 41852
marc.wouters@kit.edu
Mid-Atlantic
Bea Chiang
The College of New Jersey
Phone: 609-771-3056
bchiang@tcnj.edu
Midwest
Deborah Seifert
Illinois State University
Phone: 309-438-5771
dseifer@ilstu.edu
Northeast
Yvette Lazdowski
Plymouth State University
Phone: 603-535-2524
yjlazdowski@plymouth.edu
Ohio
Ann Gabriel
Ohio University
Phone: 740-593-2019
gabriele@ohio.edu
Southeast
Brian Vansant
Auburn University 
Phone: 334-844-6218
bav0005@auburn.edu
Southwest
Marty Stuebs
Baylor University
Phone: 254-710-1329
Marty_Stuebs@baylor.edu
Western
Arindam Tripathy
University of Washington
Phone:253-692-4523
tripathy@uw.edu
Copyright © 1998 - 2017 by American Accounting Association. All rights reserved.