Menu

Strategic and Emerging Technologies

Objectives

The Strategic and Emerging Technologies Section shall strive to stimulate and improve the research in, teaching of, and application of artificial intelligence methods and techniques in accounting. Specific objectives include:

  1. To encourage research in artificial intelligence and emerging technologies by identifying areas of accounting in need of exploration with the methods of these two disciplines.
  2. To facilitate the exchange of ideas and findings in SET technologies among accounting scholars.
  3. To provide a forum for presentation and discussion of reports on SET research, practice and standards.
  4. To publish a journal (Journal of Emerging Technologies in Accounting, JETA) that contributes to theory, research, practice, and education in the areas of SET.
  5. To provide a forum for presentation and discussion of ideas and developments related to SET curricula and education.
  6. To encourage educational innovation and to improve accounting instruction with the application of AI-based methods and tools, and other emerging technologies to accounting education.
  7. To provide opportunities for interchange of ideas in artificial intelligence and emerging technologies among accounting academics and business practitioners in public, corporate, and not-for-profit accounting


Officers

President
Nancy Uddin
Monmouth University
2001 Jumping Brook Road
Tinton Falls, NJ 07753
Phone: 732-263-5537
nuddin@monmouth.edu
President-Elect
Cheryl Dunn
Grand Valley State University
1005 W Geneva Dr
DeWitt, MI 48820
Phone: 616-331-7379
justcheryl.dunn@gmail.com
   
Vice President — Academic
Barbara Lamberton
University of Hartford
1028 Boulevard #226
West Hartford, CT 06119
Phone: 860-559-8756
lambertonb@aol.com
Vice President — Practice
Brian Sommer
Tech Venture
857 Ravinia Ct
Batavia, IL 60510
Phone: 630-879-0671
brian@techventive.com
   
Immediate Past President
Brigitte Muehlmann
Babson College
231 Forest Street
Babson Park, MA 02457
Phone: 781-239-5953
bmuehlmann@babson.edu
Secretary/Treasurer
Rob Nehmer
Oakland University
School Of Business Admin
2200 N. Squirrel Rd
Rochester, MI 48309
Phone: 248-370-4980
nehmer@oakland.edu
   
Council Representative
Graham Gal
University of Massachusetts Amherst
School of Management
Dept of Accounting & Info Systems
121 Presidents Drive
Amherst, MA 01003
Phone: 413-545-5649
gfgal@isenberg.umass.edu
 

 

Editors

Journal of Emerging Technologies in Accounting (JETA)
Editor
Alexander Kogan
Rutgers University
Phone: 973-353-1064
kogan@rutgers.edu
Journal of Emerging Technologies in Accounting (JETA)
Incoming Editor

Miklos Vasarhelyi
Rutgers University
Phone: 973-353-5002
miklosv@andromeda.rutgers.edu
   
Newsletter
(SET Update)

Yu Cong
Morgan State University
Phone: 443-353-9626
yucong@gmail.com
Webmaster
Rob Nehmer
Oakland University
Phone: 248-370-4980
nehmer@oakland.edu

 

Committee Chairpersons

Nominations
Brigitte Muehlmann
Suffolk University
Phone: 617-573-8754
bmuehlmann@suffolk.edu
Membership
Hussein Issa
Rutgers University
Phone: 732 600-5895
issah@rutgers.edu
   

Publications 
Stuart Leech
University of Melbourne
saleech@unimelb.edu.au

Education - Educational Materials/CPE
Guido Geerts
University of Delaware
Phone: 302 831-6413
geerts@udel.edu
   
Outstanding Researcher & Educator
Bonnie Morris
Duquesne University
Phone: 412 396-4313
morrisb1@duq.edu
Outstanding Dissertation
Guido Geerts
University of Delaware
Phone: 302 831-6413
geerts@udel.edu
   
Research/AAA Annual Meeting 2015 Coordinator
Daniel O'Leary
University of Southern California
Phone: 213-740-4856
oleary@usc.edu

Midyear Meeting 
Allan Graham
Zayed University
Allan.Graham@zu.ac.ae

   
SET Workshop Coordinator
Ingrid Fisher
University of Albany, SUNY 
Phone: 518-442-4948
ifisher@albany.edu
SET Transformative Technologies Workshop
Robyn Raschke
University of Nevada, Las Vegas
Phone: 702-895-5756
robyn.raschke@unlv.edu
   
Regional Programs
Jane Fedorowicz
Bentley University
Phone: 781-891-3153
jfedorowicz@bentley.edu
 

 

Strategic Directions Committee

Amelia Baldwin
University of Arkansas Fort Smith
Phone: 479-788-7745
Amelia.baldwin@uafs.edu
Ingrid Fisher
University of Albany, SUNY
Phone: 518-442-4948
ifisher@albany.edu
   
Graham Gal
University of Massachusetts Amherst
Phone: 413-545-5649
gfgal@isenberg.umass.edu
Alex Kogan
Rutgers University
Phone: 973-353-1064
kogan@rutgers.edu
   
Andrew Lymer
University of Birmingham
Phone: 44-121-414-6677
a.lymer@bham.ac.uk
 

 

Regional Coordinators

Mid-Atlantic
Clinton E. (Skip) White
University of Delaware
Phone: 302-831-6902
skipw@udel.edu
Midwest
Jay Shinde
Eastern Illinois University
Phone: 217-382-8308
jsshinde@eiu.edu
   
Northeast
Sunita Goel
Siena College
Phone: 518-782-6821
sgoels@hotmail.com
Ohio
Akhilesh Chandra
The University of Akron
Phone: 330-972-6230
ac10@uakron.edu
   
Southeast
L. Murphy Smith
Murray State University
Phone: 270-809-4297
msmith93@murraystate.edu
Southwest
Stephanie Farewell
University of Arkansas at Little Rock
Phone: 501-569-8882
smfarewell@ualr.edu
   
Western
Arindam Tripathy
University of Washington Tacoma
Phone: 253-692-4523
tripathy@uw.edu
 

International Coordinators

Asia
Akhilesh Chandra
The University of Akron
Phone: 330-972-6230
ac10@uakron.edu
Asia
Cindy Shirata
University of Tsukuba
cindy@shirata.net
   

Europe
Andy Lymer
University of Birmingham
Phone: 44.1214146677
a.m.lymer@bham.ac.uk

Australia
Carlin Dowling
University of Melbourne
carlin@unimelb.edu.au

   

Spain, Portugal and Latin America
Edson Luiz Riccio
University of Sao Paulo
elriccio@usp.br

Mid-East
Allan Graham
Zayed University
Phone: 40-18744333
Allan.Graham@zu.ac.ae

Copyright © 1998 - 2018 by American Accounting Association. All rights reserved.