Menu

Teaching, Learning and Curriculum

Objectives

The Teaching, Learning and Curriculum Section is dedicated to the continual improvement of accounting education, especially through the development of relevant and innovative curricula, a renewed emphasis of effective and efficient instruction, and the exploration of knowledge-organization issues related to accounting programs. Specific objectives include, but are not limited to:

  1. Teaching:
    1. To foster research in methods of learning and their application to the field of accounting instruction;
    2. To stimulate discussion and experimentation in instructional means, methods, and materials in general;
    3. To raise questions and to disseminate knowledge about teaching and teaching-related materials;
    4. To initiate, encourage, and sponsor research in methods of learning and in the improvement of skills and aids used to impart knowledge of accounting and of related fields; and
    5. To provide guidance and opportunities for members to both test and improve their teaching skills and instructional materials.
  2. Curriculum matters:
    1. To encourage continued consideration of and experimentation in all facets of curriculum development for accounting programs; and
    2. To communicate interests, intentions, and information about curriculum developments in accounting programs.
  3. Education:
    1. To encourage a broad definition of scholarship that includes a high priority on teaching and curriculum development;
    2. To provide a forum for the exchange of ideas and findings about developments related to instruction and curriculum issues in accounting education;
    3. To work with other organizations pursuing similar goals; and
    4. To encourage qualified individuals to consider opportunities in accounting education by providing appropriate guidance and knowledge about such careers


Officers

President
Gail Hoover King
Purdue University Calumet
2200 169th Street
Hammond, IN 46323-2094
Phone: 219-989-2381
ghkingAAA@gmail.com
Past President
Susan Crosson
Emory University
1551 Mason Mill Road
Atlanta, GA 30329
Phone: 352-219-0770
susan.crosson@emory.edu
   

Vice President-Academic
Natalie Churyk
Northern Illinois University
Dept Of Accountancy
Barsema Hall 345T
Dekalb, IL 60115
Phone: 815-753-6210
nchuryk@niu.edu

Vice President-Practice
John DeMelis
Ernst & Young LLP
5 Times Square
New York City, NY
Phone: 914-525-3357
john.demelis@ey.com

   
Treasurer
Bambi Hora
University of Central Oklahoma
Phone: 405-974-2156
bhora@uco.edu
Secretary
Tim Naddy
Shorter University
Phone: 706-331-5455
tnaddy@shorter.edu
   
Council Representative
Susan Crosson
Emory University
Phone: 352-219-0770
susan.crosson@emory.edu
 

 

Editors

The Accounting Educator (Newsletter)
Carol Yacht, Author
McGraw-Hill Higher Education
PO BOX A
Jerome, AZ 86331
Phone: 928-634-0603
carol@carolyacht.com

 

 

Committee Chairpersons

Annual Meeting Program Committee
Co-Chair Karen Osterheld
Bentley University
Phone: 781-891-2724
kosterheld@bentley.edu

Annual Meeting Program Committee
Co-Chair Dan Jones
Assumption College
Phone: 508-767-7534
dajones@assumption.edu

   
Membership Committee Co-Chair
Cynthia Bolt-Lee
The Citadel
Phone: 843-953-6973
cynthia.bolt@citadel.edu
Membership Committee Co-Chair
TBA
   

WOW Event Committee
Natalie Churyk
Northern Illinois University
Phone: 815-753-6210
nchuryk@niu.edu

Innovations in Accounting Chair
Tracy Manly
University of Tulsa
Phone: 918-631-3992
tracy-manly@utulsa.edu

   

Online Meetings Committee
Cathy Scott
Navarro College
Phone: 903-875-7535
cathy.scott@navarrocollege.edu

Faculty Development Committee
Cathleen Burns
Thought Leader
Phone:  303-726-8091
cathleen.burns@calsco.com

   

TLC Regional Coordinating Committee
Carol Hartley
Providence College
Phone: 401-865-2154
chartley@providence.edu

TLC Strategic Taskforce
Susan Crosson
Emory University
Phone: 352-219-0770
susan.crosson@emory.edu

   

Midyear Meeting Program Chair
Cathy Scott
Navarro College
903-875-7535
cathy.scott@navarrocollege.edu

 

 

Regional Coordinators

Mid-Atlantic Co-Coordinator
Nina Dorata
St. Johns University
718-990-7329
doratan@stjohns.edu

Mid-Atlantic Co-Coordinator
TBA

   

Midwest Co-Coordinator
Markus Ahrens
Saint Louis Community College-Meramec
Phone: 314 984-7507
mahrens@stlcc.edu

Midwest Co-Coordinator
Susan Curtis
University of Illinois-Champaign
Phone: (217) 333-4529
smcurtis@illinois.edu
   

Northeast Co-Coordinator
Carol Hartley
Providence College
Phone: 401-865-2154
chartley@providence.edu

Northeast Co-Coordinator
Yvette Lazdowski
Plymouth State University
Phone: 603-535-2524
yjlazdowski@plymouth.edu

   
Ohio Co-Coordinator
Marsha Huber
Youngstown State University
Phone: 614-965-8787
mmhuber@ysu.edu

Southeast Co-Coordinator
Susan Swanger
Western Carolina University
Phone: 828-227-3525
swanger@wcu.edu

   

Ohio Co-Coordinators
TBD

Southeast Co-Coordinators
Charlene Spiceland
University of Memphis
Phone: 901-678-4788
cspice@memphis.edu

   
 

Southeast Co-coordinator
Timothy Cairney
Georgia Southern University
Phone: 912- 478-7157
tcairney@georgiasouthern.edu

   

Southwest Co-Coordinator
Veronda F. Willis
UT-Tyler
Phone: 903.565.5822
vwillis@uttyler.edu

Southwest Co-Coordinator
Tracy Manly
University of Tulsa
Phone: 918-631-3992
Tracy-Manly@utulsa.edu

   

Western Co-Coordinator
Beth Rolison
DeVry University – Westminster
Beth.rolison@earthlink.net

Western Co-Coordinators
Jane Weiss
University of Idaho
Phone: (208) 885-5750
jmweiss@uidaho.edu

Nominating Committee

Robert D. Allen, Chair
University of Utah
Eccles School of Business
1645 E Campus Center Dr
Rm #108
Salt Lake City, UT 84112
Phone: 801-581-7208
bob.allen@utah.edu

Susan Crosson
Emory University
1551 Mason Mill Road
Atlanta, GA 30329
Phone: 352-219-0770
susan.crosson@emory.edu
   

Markus Ahrens
St. Louis Community College
mahrens@stlcc.edu

Cassy Budd
Brigham Young University
cassybudd@byu.edu

   

Sherry Mills
New Mexico State University
smills@nmsu.edu

David Stout
Youngstown State University
davidstout@prodigy.net

Copyright © 1998 - 2017 by American Accounting Association. All rights reserved.