Menu

2015 - 2016 Notable and Distinguished Contributions to Accounting Literature Award Screening Committee

Charge

Coordinate all activities necessary to screen candidates for the Notable Contributions to Accounting Literature Award and the Distinguished Contributions to Accounting Literature Award. Specifically:

  • Identify works of exceptional merit from published accounting books and articles that meet the criteria for the "Notable Contributions" award.
  • Identify works of exceptional merit from published accounting books and articles that meet the criteria for the "Distinguished Contributions" award.
  • The Screening Committee for the Notable and Distinguished Contributions to Accounting Literature Award shall be encouraged to submit candidates for the AAA/Deloitte Wildman Award to the Wildman Committee.

Membership

  • New committee members are appointed annually by the Council Committee on Awards Committee.
  • The membership of the Screening Committee shall include a representative from each of the AAA Sections.

Meetings

  • The committee meets as needed.

Responsibilities

  • AAA Staff (Barbara Gutierrez) will ensure the Call for Nominations web page is updated in conjunction with the Committee Directory.
  • Beginning in September, Stephanie Glaser, AAA Awards Coordinator, will arrange for the Call for Nominations announcement to be included:
    • In the Fall edition of the Accounting Education News
    • On the AAA website and in multi-topic mass emails.
  • The AAA Awards Coordinator will contact the chair with the dates that the award's Call for Nominations will be included on the AAA website and in multi-topic mass emails.
  • Members of the committee are encouraged to submit nominations.
  • Nominations are due by 11:59 pm Eastern Time on January 31st.
  • Submissions for this award are collected electronically in Word or PDF format.
  • The nominator will receive an acknowledgement message from the AAA Awards Coordinator upon receipt of the nomination.
  • During the first week of February the AAA Awards Coordinator will send to the Chair of the Screening Committee a link to the nominations that have been submitted for the Notable Contributions to Accounting Literature Award and a link to the nominations that have been submitted for the Distinguished Contributions to Accounting Literature Award.
  • The Screening committee will select nominees for the Notable Contributions award and the Distinguished Contributions awards based on each award's specific criteria.
  • The Chair of the Screening committee will provide a set of nominees for the Selection Committee for the Notable Contributions award and for the Selection Committee for the Distinguished Contributions award to the AAA Awards Coordinator at awards@aaahq.org by March 2nd.
  • During the first week of March, the AAA Awards Coordinator will send a link to the nominations that have been accepted by the Screening Committee to the Chair of the Selection Committee for the Notable Contributions award and a link to the nominations that have been accepted by the Screening Committee to the Chair of the Selection Committee for the Distinguished Contributions award.
  • If the Chair has any questions about the charge or responsibilities of this committee, s/he should contact the Executive Director, the President, or the committee's Board of Directors Liaison.
  • The Chair will have the opportunity three times every term-year to prepare and send a progress report which will be available for the Board of Directors to review at their next meeting. This report should include accomplishments and suggested modifications and should be sent to the AAA President, the committee’s Board of Directors Liaison, and  Governance Manager (barbara.gutierrez@aaahq.org).

Members

Name / Affiliation

Contact

Section

Term Length

Term Expires

Chair
Victoria Dickinson
The University of Mississippi

 

vdickins@olemiss.edu

 

 

2

08/2016

Allen Blay
Florida State University

ablay@cob.fsu.edu

ABO

1

08/2016

David A. Wood
Brigham Young University

davidwood@byu.edu

AIS

1

08/2016

Martha Eining
The University of Utah

martha.eining@business.utah.edu

APLG

1

08/2016

Fran Ayres
The University of Oklahoma

fayres@ou.edu

ATA

1

08/2016

Tina Carpenter
The University of Georgia

tcarpenter@terry.uga.edu

AUD

1

08/2016

Jennifer Joe
University of Delaware

jjoe@udel.edu

DIV

1

08/2016

Richard Riley
West Virginia University

richard.riley@mail.wvu.edu

FA

1

08/2016

K. Ramesh
Rice University

rameshk@rice.edu

FARS

1

08/2016

Don Ariail
Kennesaw State University

dariail1@kennesaw.edu

GIWB

1

08/2016

Christine Petrovits
The College of William & Mary

christine.petrovits@mason.wm.edu

GNP

1

08/2016

Wayne Thomas
The University of Oklahoma

wthomas@ou.edu

INTL

1

08/2016

Ella Mae Matsumara
University of Wisconsin

ematsumura@bus.wisc.edu

MAS

1

08/2016

Sue Ravenscroft
Iowa State University

sueraven@iastate.edu

PI

1

08/2016

Roger Debreceny
University of Hawaii at Manoa

roger@debreceny.com

SET

1

08/2016

Natalie Churyk
Northern Illinois University

nchuryk@niu.edu

TLC

1

08/2016

Sidney Askew
Borough of Manhattan Community College

saskew@bmcc.cuny.edu

Two-Year

1

08/2016

Board of Directors Liaison
Terry Shevlin
University of California-Irvine
Vice President–Research & Publications

tshevlin@uci.edu

 

 

 

Copyright © 1998 - 2017 by American Accounting Association. All rights reserved.