We will be having a planned system upgrade event on Thursday, December 14, 2017 starting at 6:00 am EST. Normal access to the Digital Library, FASB/GASB and COSO login pages, Meeting Registration and Submissions, Manuscript Submissions, the Member Dashboard, and AAA Commons will resume on Friday, December 15th at 6:00 am EST.

Menu

2015-2016 Annual Meeting Program Advisory Committee

Charge

  • While a myriad of events and activities occur during the meeting, important communications of the message comes from the plenary and lunch speakers and from broadly focused At-Large Panel sessions.
  • Crafting an engaging, interesting, challenging, and fascinating story for the Annual Meeting is the opportunity of the Program Advisory Committee.

Members

  • AAA President
  • Management Team
  • Executive Director (Tracey Sutherland)
  • Education Chair/s
  • Section Liaisons
  • Senior Director, Meetings and Programs (Erlinda Jones)

Member Roles

AAA President

  • Liaison with the Management Team
  • Chooses a Presidential Scholar

Management Team

  • Works with the President to achieve the vision for that year’s meeting
  •  Identifies speakers for three morning plenaries
    • Speakers may include a range of session types including: individual keynotes, “Ted-talk” style presentations, interview sessions, etc.
  • Identifies a Tuesday lunch speaker – keeping in mind the special characteristics of lunch talks
  • Plans up to three follow-up At-Large Panel sessions to continue or amplify topics begun in the three morning plenaries, as appropriate
  • Suggests additional At-Large panel topics to be presented to Council at their Fall meeting

Executive Director

  • Coordinates overall meeting
  • Orients/advises/informs committee members and planning process

Education Chair(s)

  • Review submissions for Pre-Conference Workshops and identify proposals acceptable for presentation
  • Identify and organize At-Large Education Panels
  • Review submissions to the Poster Sessions: Effective Learning Strategies, Emerging and Innovative Research sessions and identify proposals for presentation

Section Liaisons

  • Review submissions for Section-sponsored panels and papers and identifies proposals for presentation
  • Work with the Member Event Services Team to communicate deadlines and reminders to volunteers and presenters

AAA Senior Director, Meetings and Programs

  • Professional Staff member responsible for overall operational implementation of the Annual Meeting
  • Coordinator of all Professional Staff involvement
  • Develops and approves Call for Submission
  • Invites speakers for three morning plenaries

 

AAA President

Name / Affiliation

Contact

Term Length

Term Expires

Bruce Behn
University of Tennessee-Knoxville

bbehn@utk.edu

1

08/2016

 

AAA Executive Director

Name / Affiliation

Contact

Tracey Sutherland

tracey@aaahq.org

 

Education Co-Chairs

Name / Affiliation

Contact

Term Length

Term Expires

Markus Ahrens
Saint Louis Community College-Meramec

mahrens@stlcc.edu

1

08/2016

 

Section-Sponsored Concurrent Sessions Team

Name / Affiliation

Contact

Section/Program Affiliation

Term Length

Term Expires

Andrew Reffett
Miami University

reffeta@miamioh.edu

ABO

2

08/2016

Jian Cao Florida
Atlantic University

Juergen Sidgman
University of Wisconsin – Oshkosh

jcao@fau.edu


sidgmanj@uwosh.edu

AIS

1

08/2016

Elizabeth Oliver
Washington and Lee University

olivere@wlu.edu

APLG

1

08/2016

Mark A. Jackson
University of Nevada, Reno

Amy Hageman
Kansas State University

markjackson@unr.edu


HagemanA@ksu.edu

ATA

2

1

08/2016

8/2016

Brian Bratten
University of Kentucky

Lisa Gaynor
University of South Florida

Barbara Grein
Drexel University

Nate Stephens
Utah State University

David Wood
Brigham Young University

Jian Zhou
University of Hawaii-Manoa

 

brian.bratten@uky.edu

lgaynor@coba.usf.edu

 

bmg33@drexel.edu

nate.stephens@usu.edu


davidwood@byu.edu


jianzhou@hawaii.edu

 

AUD

1

08/2016

Helen Brown-Liburd
Rutgers Business School

hbliburd@business.rutgers.edu

DIV

1

08/2016

Holly Yang
Singapore Management University

Elizabeth Chuk
University of Southern California

Peter Demerjian
University of Washington-Seattle

Nerissa Brown
University of Delaware

hollyyang@smu.edu.sg


elizabeth.chuk@marshall.usc.edu

pdemerj@uw.edu

ncbrown@udel.edu

FARS

1

08/2016

Curt Nicholls
Bucknell University

curtis.nicholls@bucknell.edu

FIA

2

08/2016

Dr. L. Murphy Smith, CPA
Murray State University

msmith93@murraystate.edu

 

GIWB

1

08/2016

Kenneth Smith
Central Washington University-Des Moines

Tammy Waymire
Northern Illinois University

smithka1@cwu.edu

twaymire@niu.edu

GNP

1

08/2016

Ling-Tai (Lynette) Chou
National Chengchi University

Thomas A. Lechner, CPA
Eastern Michigan University

lynettechou1@gmail.com

ProfLechner@Yahoo.com

International

2

2

08/2016

08/2016

Brian Cadman
The University of Utah

Susan Kulp
George Washington University

brian.cadman@business.utah.edu


skulp@gwu.edu

MAS

2

1

08/2016

Lois Mahoney
Eastern Michigan University

lmahone1@emich.edu

PI

1

08/2016

Daniel O'Leary
University of Southern California

oleary@usc.edu

SET

1

08/2016

Dan Jones
Assumption College

dajones@assumption.edu

TLC

1

08/2016

Sidney Askew
Borough of Manhattan College

Markus Ahrens
Saint Louis Community College-Meramec

saskew@bmcc.cuny.edu

mahrens@stlcc.edu

TYC

2

08/2016

Barbara Merino
University of North Texas

barbara.merino@unt.edu

Accounting Historians

4

08/2016

 

AAA Senior Director, Meetings and Programs

Name / Affiliation

Contact

Erlinda Jones

erlinda@aaahq.org

 

Board of Directors Liaison

Name / Affiliation

Contact

Term Length

Term Expires

Bruce Behn
University of Tennessee-Knoxville

bbehn@utk.edu

1

08/2016

Copyright © 1998 - 2017 by American Accounting Association. All rights reserved.