We will be having a planned system upgrade event on Thursday, December 14, 2017 starting at 6:00 am EST. Normal access to the Digital Library, FASB/GASB and COSO login pages, Meeting Registration and Submissions, Manuscript Submissions, the Member Dashboard, and AAA Commons will resume on Friday, December 15th at 6:00 am EST.


2015 - 2016 Strategic Region Leader Committee


The Committee is responsible for monitoring and maintaining the AAA Pilot Region Strategic Plan, which includes:

  • Approving and monitoring strategic initiatives for pilot regional services which inform, and are informed by, the overall AAA Strategic Plan.
  • Assisting with cultivating strategic relationships with AAA communities, groups, and other organizations to maximum mutual long-term benefit.
  • Monitoring the governance and operations of pilot regions, and approving the creation of pilot region policies when necessary, with the purpose of making the pilot region volunteer’s experience, and the meeting attendee’s experience, valuable ones.
  • Encouraging the creation of proposals from pilot region program leaders for innovations at pilot region meetings, and evaluating for approval all such proposals.


  • The Committee shall consist of 17 members:
    • The President and Past President of each Pilot Region, each of whom shall serve a two-year term (beginning in the year he/she is President) beginning in May;
    • Three members appointed by the Management Team, each representing one or more key sub-communities in the pilot regions, each of whom shall serve two-year terms beginning in May;
    • The Director–Focusing on Segments, serving a three-year term beginning in September;
    • Three members of the AAA Professional Staff, appointed annually by the Executive Director;
  • The Director–Focusing on Segments and one of the appointed members of the AAA Professional Staff shall co-facilitate all Committee meetings.


  • The Committee meets annually to review the condition of the Pilot Region Strategic Plan, discuss important related issues, and approve any necessary changes to the Strategic Plan and/or to Pilot Region operations.
  • Other meetings of the committee or its sub-committees or task forces may be scheduled in person or by teleconference.


  • Fulfill the committee charter above.
  • David Boynton, (david@aaahq.org), Assistant Director, Academic Programs, assists with providing logistical support for committee and task force meetings and conference calls.
  • If the Chair has any questions about the charge or responsibilities of this committee, s/he should contact the Executive Director, the President, or the committee’s Board of Directors Liaison.
  • The Co-Facilitators will have the opportunity three times every term-year to prepare and send a progress report which will be available for the Board of Directors to review at their next meeting. This report should include accomplishments and suggested modifications and should be sent to the AAA President, the committee's Board of Directors Liaison, and Governance Manager, Barbara Gutierrez (barbara.gutierrez@aaahq.org).


Name / Affiliation Contact Pilot Region Affiliation Term Length Term Expires

Director–Focusing on Segments
Pat Poli
Fairfield University






David Boynton
Assistant Director, Academic Programs


Natalie Churyk
University of Northern Illinois
2015 MW Co-President

nchuryk@niu.edu MW 2 04/2017

Larry Davis
University of St. Thomas
2015 MW Past President

LRDavis@StThomas.edu MW 2 04/2016

Yvette Lazdowski
Plymouth State University
2015 NE President

yjlazdowski@plymouth.edu NE 2 04/2017

Eric Lewis
Siena College
2015 NE Past President

elewis@siena.edu NE 2 04/2016

David Stott
Ohio University
2015 OH President


OH 2 04/2017

Larry Parker
Case Western Reserve University
2015 OH Past President


OH 2 04/2016

Don Ariail
Kennesaw State
2015 SE President


SE 2 04/2017

Lynn Clements
Florida Southern College
2015 SE Past President

lclements@flsouthern.edu SE 2 04/2016

David G DeBoskey
San Diego State University
2015 WE President

debocpafa2005@aol.com WE 2 04/2017
Alan Styles
California State University – San Marcos
2015 WE Past President
astyles@csusm.edu WE 2 04/2016
Andy Williams
Edmonds Community College
andy.williams@edcc.edu Representative of key sub-
community in the pilot regions
2 04/2016
Tracie Miller-Nobles
Austin Community College
tracie.nobles@gmail.com Representative of key sub-
community in the pilot regions
2 04/2016
Representative of key sub-
community in the pilot regions
2 04/2017
Julie Smith David
AAA Chief Innovation Officer
Erlinda Jones
AAA Senior Director, Meetings and Programs
Board of Directors Liaison
Director–Focusing on Segments
Pat Poli
Fairfield University




Copyright © 1998 - 2017 by American Accounting Association. All rights reserved.