Menu

2015 - 2016 Governance Committee

(Formerly Bylaws Committee)

Charge

  • To review proposed amendments to the Association's governing documents to assure clarity, consistency, and legal compliance, and advise the Board of Directors on changes in the governing documents.

Membership

  • The Committee shall consist of nine members, including the Chair, each of whom shall normally serve a three-year term, with one-third of the committee members appointed each year.
  • The President-Elect is an ex-officio member of the governance committee.

Meetings

  • The committee meets as needed.

Responsibilities

  • Fulfill the committee charter as above.
  • If the Chair has any questions about the charge or responsibilities of this committee, s/he should contact the Executive Director, the President, or the committee's Board of Directors Liaison.
  • The Chair will have the opportunity three times every term-year to prepare and send a progress report which will be available for the Board of Directors to review at their next meeting. This report should include accomplishments and suggested modifications and should be sent to the AAA President, the committee's Board of Directors Liaison, and Governance Manager, Barbara Gutierrez (barbara.gutierrez@aaahq.org).

Members

Name / Affiliation Contact Term Length Term Expires
Chair
Karen Pincus
University of Arkansas
 
kpincus@walton.uark.edu
 
2
 
08/2017
Ex-Officio Member
President-Elect
David Burgstahler
University of Washington-Seattle
 
dburg@u.washington.edu
 

1
 

08/2016
Suraj Srinivasan
Harvard Business School
ssrinivasan@hbs.edu 3 08/2016
Nancy Uddin
Monmouth University
nuddin@monmouth.edu 3 08/2016

Bambi Hora
University of Central Oklahoma

bhora@uco.edu 3 08/2017

David Stout
Youngstown State

destout@ysu.edu 2 08/2017

Wim van der Stede
London School of Economics & Political Science

w.van-der-stede@lse.ac.uk 3 08/2018

Tracie Miller-Nobles
Austin Community College

tracie.nobles@gmail.com 3 08/2018

Jim Young
Northern Illinois University

jyoung@niu.edu 3 08/2018
Board of Directors Liaison
David Burgstahler
University of Washington-Seattle
 
dburg@u.washington.edu
 
 
Copyright © 1998 - 2017 by American Accounting Association. All rights reserved.