Menu

Management Accounting

Objectives

The Management Accounting Section shall strive to stimulate and improve the teaching, researching and practice of accounting that assists in the effective and efficient management of entities. The goals of the Section include the following:

  1. Improve the effectiveness of instruction in management accounting by fostering development, testing and discussion of methods and materials, as well as course offerings;
  2. Encourage research in management accounting by facilitating the exchange of ideas and findings, and through opportunities for exposure of research results;
  3. Increase opportunities for the interchange of ideas among the members of the academic and professional community who are interested in management accounting; and
  4. Encourage capable and promising accounting students to pursue careers in management accounting by enhancing their knowledge of the activities, responsibilities and opportunities offered by such careers.

 

Officers

President
Monte Swain
Brigham Young University
Marriott Sch Of Mgmt/540 Tnrb 198 P O Box 23068
Provo, U 84602
Phone: 801-4223-174
Email: monte@byu.edu

President-Elect
Kristy Towry
Emory University
Goizueta Sch of Business
1300 Clifton Rd.
Atlanta, GA 30306
Phone: 404-727-4895
Email: ktowry@emory.edu


Past President
Naomi Soderstrom
University of Melbourne
198 Berkeley Street
419 UCB - Level 7
Melbourne, VIC
AUSTRALIA
Email: naomiss@unimelb.edu.au

Secretary/Treasurer
Anne Farrell
Miami University
Dept. of Accountancy
3094 Farmer School of Business
Oxford, OH 45056
Phone: 513-529-1869
Email: Anne.Farrell@MiamiOH.edu


Council Representative
Theresa Libby
University of Waterloo
School of Accounting and Finance
Waterloo, ON N2L 3G1
Email: talibby@uwaterloo.ca

 

 

Editors

Journal
Journal of Management Accounting Research
Karen Sedatole
Michigan State University
Phone: 517-432-2919
Email: sedatole@msu.edu

Communications Coordinator
Jason Porter
University of South Dakota
Phone: 605-677-5421
Email: jason.porter@usd.edu

 

Committee Chairpersons

Nomination
Naomi Soderstrom
University of Melbourne
Email: naomiss@unimelb.edu.au

Publications Chair
Eva Labro
UNC-Chapel Hill
Phone: 919-962-5747
Email: Eva_Labro@kenan-flagler.unc.edu


Instructional Resources Committee Co-Chair
Albie Brooks
University of Melbourne
Phone: 0383445305
Email: albieb@unimelb.edu.au

 


Lifetime Contribution to Management Accounting Award Chair
Theresa Libby
University of Waterloo
Email: talibby@uwaterloo.ca

Notable Contribution to Management Accounting Literature Award
Brian Mittendorf
Ohio State University
Phone: 614-292-1720
Email: mittendorf.3@osu.edu


Membership Outreach
Margaret Shackell
Cornell University
Phone: 607-255-6054
Email: mbs242@cornell.edu

Midyear Meeting Best Teaching Case Award 
Raef Lawson
Institute of Management Accountants 
Phone: 201-474-1532
Email: rlawson@imanet.org


Annual Meeting Best Management Accounting Paper Award 
Gary Hecht
University of Illinois-Urbana-Champaign
Phone: 608-852-5592
Email: ghecht@illinois.edu

Early-Career in Management Accounting Research Award
Geoff Sprinkle
Indiana University – Bloomington
Phone: 812-855-3514
Email: sprinkle@indiana.edu


Best Management Accounting Dissertation Award 
Jason Schloetzer
Georgetown University
Phone: 504-314-7033
Email: jds99@georgetown.edu

Most Impact on Management Accounting Practice Award 
Wim van der Stede
London School of Economics and Political Science
Phone: 0207956695
Email: w.van-der-stede@lse.ac.uk


IMA Jim Bulloch Innovations in Teaching Award
Joanna Ho
University of California-Irvine
Phone: 949-824-4041
Email: jlho@uci.edu

Midyear Meeting Best Paper Award
Khim Kelly
University of Waterloo
Phone: 519-888-4567
Email: kokelly@uwaterloo.ca

 

Meeting Coordinators

2015-2016 Midyear Meeting Co-Directors

Christian Hofman
Ludwig-Maximilians-Universitaet
Phone: 08921806892
Email: hofmann@bwl.lmu.de

Bill Tayler
Brigham Young University
Phone: 801-422-5972
Email: tayler@byu.edu


2015-2016 Midyear Meeting Doctoral Consortium Co-Directors

Jasmijn Bol
Tulane University
Phone: 504-314-7033
Email: jbol@tulane.edu

Andrew Newman
University of South Carolina
Email: andrew.newman@moore.sc.edu


2015-2016 National Meeting Representative

Brian Cadman
University of Utah
Phone: 801-585-9517
Email: brian.cadman@business.utah.edu

Susan Kulp
George Washington University
Phone: 202-994-3874
Email: skulp@gwu.edu


IMA Liaison
Raef Lawson
Institute of Management Accountants
Phone: 201-474-1532
Email: rlawson@imanet.org

AICPA Liaison
Ken Witt
AICPA
Phone: 919-402-4816
Email: kwitt@aicpa.org

CIMA Liaison
Chris Chapman
Copenhagen Business School
Phone: +4538152261
Email: cc.om@cbs.dk

 

 

Regional Directors

International Director
Kari Lukka
University of Turku
Phone: +35823339315
Email: kari.lukka@utu.fi

Mid-Atlantic
Bea Chiang
The College of New Jersey
Phone: 609-771-3056
Email: bchiang@tcnj.edu


Midwest
Nathan Stuart
University of Wisconsin – Osh Kosh
Phone: 920-424-3472
Email: stuartn@uwosh.edu

Northeast 
Yvette Lazdowski
Plymouth State University
Phone: 603-535-2524
Email: yjlazdowski@plymouth.edu


Ohio
Amal Said
University of Toledo
Phone: 419-530-2197
amal.said@utoledo.edu

Southeast 
Brian Vansant
Auburn University
Phone: 334-844-6218
Email: bav0005@auburn.edu


Southwest
Marty Stuebs
Baylor University
Phone: 254-710-1329
Email: Marty_Stuebs@baylor.edu

Western
Arindam Tripathy
University of Washington
Phone: 253-692-4523
Email: tripathy@uw.edu

Copyright © 1998 - 2017 by American Accounting Association. All rights reserved.