Menu

Public Interest

Objectives

  1. Promote interaction among members of the academic and professional communities interested in the interface of accounting with social, economic, ethical, and political consequences of corporate activity, and in exploring the social and ethical roles and responsibilities of the accounting profession.
  2. Encourage research in public interest accounting by identifying areas in need of research, providing a forum for the exchange of ideas and findings, and providing opportunities for exposure of research results.
  3. Present programs that create and expand an awareness of the profession's responsibility to society.
  4. Develop and promote educational materials that foster an awareness of social and ethical issues in accounting students-
  5. Encourage interdisciplinary exchanges between accountants and members of other learned groups.

 

Officers

Chair
Patrick Kelly
Providence College
Phone: 860-464-1333
Email: pkelly@providence.edu

Chair-Elect
Amy Hageman
Kansas State University
Phone: 785-532-4484
Email: HagemanA@ksu.edu


Secretary/Treasurer
Mitchell Stein
University of Western Ontario
Email: mstein@ivey.ca

Vice Chair of Research
Charles Cullinan
Bryant University
Phone: 401-232-6421
Email: cullinan@bryant.edu


Vice Chair of Education
Anne Schnader
Suffolk University
Phone: 617-573-1798
Email: aschnader@suffolk.edu

Vice Chair of International Membership
Michael Kraten
Providence College
Phone: 203-383-0900
Email: kraten@aya.yale.edu


Council Representative
Steven Mintz
Cal Poly State University - San Luis Obispo
Phone: 805-756-2003
Email: smintz@calpoly.edu

 

Editors

Journal Editor
Accounting and the Public Interest

Pamela Roush
University of Central Florida
Email: proush@ucf.edu

Journal Associate Editor 
Accounting and the Public Interest

Charles Cullinan
Bryant University
Phone: 401-232-6421
Email: cullinan@bryant.edu


Newsletter Editor/Webmaster
Lawrence Chui
University of St. Thomas
Phone: 651-962-5442
Email: lawrence.chui@stthomas.edu

Newsletter Assistant Editor/Webmaster
Byron Pike
Minnesota State University-Mankato
Phone: 507-389-6909
Email: byron.pike@mnsu.edu

 

Committee Chairpersons

National Meeting Program
Co-Chairperson

Eric Lee
University of Northern Iowa
Phone: 319-273-2402
Email: eric.lee@uni.edu

National Meeting Program
Co-Chairperson

Lois Mahoney
Eastern Michigan University
Phone: 734-487-0157
Email: lmahone1@emich.edu


2016 Midyear Meeting
Co-Coordinator

Lisa Baudot
University of Central Florida
Email: Lisa.Baudot@ucf.edu

2016 Midyear Meeting
Co-Coordinator

Charles Cullinan
Bryant University
Phone: 401-232-6421
Email: cullinan@bryant.edu


Membership Committee
Sue Ravenscroft
Iowa State University
Phone: 515-294-3574
Email: sueraven@iastate.edu

Nominations Committee
John Thornton
Azusa Pacific University
Phone: 626-812-3095
Email: jthornton@apu.edu


Accounting Exemplar Award
John Thornton
Azusa Pacific University
Phone: 626-812-3095
Email: jthornton@apu.edu

 


2016 PI Ethics Symposium
Co-Coordinator

Charles Stanley
Baylor University
Phone: 785-532-4484
Email: charles_stanley@baylor.edu

2017 PI Ethics Symposium
Co-Coordinator

Brian Shapiro
University of St. Thomas
Phone: 651-962-5086 
Email: bpshapiro@stthomas.edu

 

Regional Coordinators

Coordinator of Regional Activities
TBD

Mid-Atlantic
Tara Shawver
King's College
Phone: 570-208-5900
Email: TaraShawver@kings.edu


Midwest
Larita Killian
Indiana University-Purdue University Columbus
Email: ljkillia@iupuc.edu

Northeast
Cassandra Rohland
University of Massachusetts - Lowell
Email: Cassandra_Rohland@uml.edu


Ohio
TBD

Southeast
Andy Felo
Nova Southeastern University
Phone: 954-262-5279
Email: af878@nova.edu


Southwest
Marty Stuebs
Baylor University
Phone: 254-710-1329
Email: Marty_Stuebs@baylor.edu

Western
John Thornton
Azusa Pacific University
Phone: 626-812-3095
Email: jthornton@apu.edu


International
Mitchell Stein
University of Western Ontario
Email: mstein@ivey.ca

Copyright © 1998 - 2017 by American Accounting Association. All rights reserved.