Menu

Strategic and Emerging Technologies

Objectives

The Strategic and Emerging Technologies Section shall strive to stimulate and improve the research in, teaching of, and application of artificial intelligence methods and techniques in accounting. Specific objectives include:

  1. To encourage research in artificial intelligence and emerging technologies by identifying areas of accounting in need of exploration with the methods of these two disciplines.
  2. To facilitate the exchange of ideas and findings in SET technologies among accounting scholars.
  3. To provide a forum for presentation and discussion of reports on SET research, practice and standards.
  4. To publish a journal (Journal of Emerging Technologies in Accounting, JETA) that contributes to theory, research, practice, and education in the areas of SET.
  5. To provide a forum for presentation and discussion of ideas and developments related to SET curricula and education.
  6. To encourage educational innovation and to improve accounting instruction with the application of AI-based methods and tools, and other emerging technologies to accounting education.
  7. To provide opportunities for interchange of ideas in artificial intelligence and emerging technologies among accounting academics and business practitioners in public, corporate, and not-for-profit accounting

 

Officers

President
Cheryl Dunn
Grand Valley State University
6111 Clise Rd.
Bath, MI 48808
Phone: 616-331-7379
Email: justcheryl.dunn@gmail.com

President-Elect
Barbara Lamberton
University of Hartford
1028 Boulevard #226
West Hartford, CT 06119
Phone: 860-559-8756
Email: lambertonb@aol.com


Vice President — Academic
Rob Nehmer
Oakland University
School Of Business Admin
2200 N. Squirrel Rd
Rochester, MI 48309
Phone: 248-370-4980
Email: nehmer@oakland.edu

Vice President — Practice
Lynda Schwartz
Upland Advisory LLC
200 Upland Road
Newtonville, MA 02460
Phone: 617-901-7257
Email: lynda.schwartz@uplandadvisory.com


Immediate Past President
Nancy Uddin
Monmouth University
2001 Jumping Brook Road
Tinton Falls, NJ 07753
Phone: 732-263-5537
Email: nuddin@monmouth.edu

Secretary/Treasurer
Alan Graham
American University of Sharjah
School Of Business Admin
P.O. Box 26666
Sharjah, United Arab Emirates
Phone: +0097165152310
Email: grahamaw@uri.edu


Council Representative
Graham Gal
University of Massachusetts Amherst
School of Management
Dept of Accounting & Info Systems
121 Presidents Drive
Amherst, MA 01003
Phone: 413-545-5649
Email: gfgal@isenberg.umass.edu

 

 

Editors

Journal of Emerging Technologies in Accounting (JETA)
Alex Kogan
Rutgers University
Phone: 973-353-1064
Email: kogan@rutgers.edu

Journal of Emerging Technologies in Accounting (JETA)
Incoming Editor
Miklos Vasarhelyi
Rutgers University
Phone: 973-353-5002
Email: miklosv@andromeda.rutgers.edu


Newsletter
(SET Update)

L. Murphy Smith
Murray State University
Phone: 270-809-4297
Email: dr.murphy.smith@gmail.com

AAACommons
Editorial Board Member

Robyn Raschke
University of Nevada, Las Vegas
Phone: 702-895-5756
Email: robyn.raschke@unlv.edu


Web Manager/Web Publications Chair
Tawei (David) Wang
University of Hawaii at Manoa
Email: twwang@hawaii.edu

 

 

Strategic Directions Committee

Amelia Baldwin
University of Arkansas Fort Smith
Phone: 479-788-7745
Email: Amelia.baldwin@uafs.edu

Ingrid Fisher - Chair
University of Albany, SUNY
Phone: 518-442-4948
Email: ifisher@albany.edu


Graham Gal
University of Massachusetts Amherst
Phone: 413-545-5649
Email: gfgal@isenberg.umass.edu

Alex Kogan
Rutgers University
Phone: 973-353-1064
Email: kogan@rutgers.edu


Andrew Lymer
University of Birmingham
Phone: 44-121-414-6677
Email: a.lymer@bham.ac.uk

 

Committee Chairpersons

Nominations
Nancy Uddin
Monmouth University
Phone: 732-263-5537
Email: nuddin@monmouth.edu

Membership
Michael Kraten
Providence College
Phone: 203-383-0900
Email: kraten@aya.yale.edu


Publications 
Ingrid Fisher
University of Albany, SUNY 
Phone: 518-442-4948
Email: ifisher@albany.edu

Education — Educational Materials/CPE
Brigitte Muehlmann
Babson College
Phone: 781-235-1200
Email: bmuehlmann@gmail.com


Outstanding Researcher & Educator
Gregory Gerard
Florida State University
Phone: 850-644-9115
Email: ggerard@business.fsu.edu

Outstanding Dissertation
Stuart Leech
University of Melbourne
Email: saleech@unimelb.edu.au


Research/AAA Annual Meeting 2016 Coordinator
Daniel O'Leary
University of Southern California
Phone: 213-740-4856
Email: oleary@usc.edu

Midyear Meeting 
J. P. Krahel
Loyola University – Maryland
Phone: 908-625-6639
Email: jkrahel@loyola.edu


SET Workshop Coordinator
Ingrid Fisher
University of Albany, SUNY 
Phone: 518-442-4948
Email: ifisher@albany.edu

 

SET Transformative Technologies Workshop  Co-Coordinator
Robyn Raschke
University of Nevada, Las Vegas
Phone: 702-895-5756
Email: robyn.raschke@unlv.edu


SET Transformative Technologies Workshop  Co-Coordinator
Guido Geerts
University of Delaware
Phone: 302-831-6413
Email: geerts@udel.edu

Strategic Directions Committee
Ingrid Fisher
University of Albany, SUNY 
Phone: 518-442-4948
Email: ifisher@albany.edu


Regional Programs 
Veronica Paz
Indiana University of Pennsylvania
Phone: 724-357-5996
Email: vpaz01@veronicapazcpa.com

 

 

Regional Coordinators

Mid-Atlantic
Veronica Paz
Indiana University of Pennsylvania
Phone: 724-357-5996
Email: vpaz01@veronicapazcpa.com

Midwest
Robert Bromley
Central Michigan University
Phone: 989-644-5854
Email: robert.bromley@cmich.edu


Northeast
Sunita Goel
Siena University
Email: sgoel@siena.edu

Ohio
Akhilesh Chandra
The University of Akron
Phone: 330-972-6230
Email: ac10@uakron.edu


Southeast
L. Murphy Smith
Murray State University
Phone: 270-809-4297
Email: msmith93@murraystate.edu

Southwest
Hui Du
University of Houston – Clear Lake
Phone: 281-283-3144
Email: duhui1@uhcl.edu


Western
Daniel O'Leary
University of Southern California
Phone: 213-740-4856
Email: oleary@usc.edu

 

 

International Coordinators

Asia
Cindy Shirata
University of Tsukuba
Email: cindy@shirata.net

Spain, Portugal and Latin America
Josh Imoniana
University of Sao Paulo
Email: josh.imoniana@usp.br


Europe
Andrew Lymer
University of Birmingham
Phone: 44-121-414-6677
Email: a.lymer@bham.ac.uk

Australia
Stuart Leech
University of Melbourne
Email: saleech@unimelb.edu.au


Mid-East
Alan Graham
American University of Sharjah
Phone: +0097165152310
Email: grahamaw@uri.edu

 

Copyright © 1998 - 2017 by American Accounting Association. All rights reserved.