Menu

2016-2017 Annual Meeting Committee

Charge

  • While a myriad of events and activities occur during the meeting, important communications of the message comes from the plenary and lunch speakers and from broadly focused At-Large Panel sessions.
  • Crafting an engaging, interesting, challenging, and fascinating story for the Annual Meeting is the opportunity of the Annual Meeting Committee.

Members

  • Board of Directors Team
  • Management Team
  • Executive Director (Tracey Sutherland)
  • Senior Director, Meetings and Programs (Erlinda Jones)
  • Education Chair/s
  • Section-Sponsored Concurrent Sessions Team
  • Conference on Teaching and Learning in Accounting (CTLA) Co-Chairs
  • Professionalism & Ethics Research in Accounting Symposium Co-Chairs
  • Faculty-Student Collaborations in Accounting (FASTCA) Chair
  • Global Emerging Scholars Research Workshop Faculty Chair

Member Roles

Management Team

  • President
    • Chooses President Scholar(s)
    • As Chair of Management Team, leads discussion of strategy for Annual Meeting Program
  • Works with the President to achieve the vision for that year’s meeting
  • Approves budget for all Program Events
  •  Identifies speakers for three morning plenaries
    • Speakers may include a range of session types including: individual keynotes, “Ted-talk” style presentations, interview sessions, etc.
  • Identifies a Tuesday lunch speaker – keeping in mind the special characteristics of lunch talks
  • Plans up to three follow-up Panel sessions to continue or amplify topics begun in the three morning plenaries, as appropriate
  • Plans additional At-Large panel topics to be discussed during Council at their Fall meeting (to result in approximately 10 panels)
  • Identifies Chair of all Program Events

 

Executive Director

  • Coordinates overall meeting
  • Orients/advises/informs committee members and planning process


AAA Senior Director, Meetings and Programs

  • Professional Staff member responsible for overall operational implementation of the Annual Meeting
  • Coordinator of all Professional Staff involvement
  • Develops and approves Call for Submission
  • Invites speakers for three morning plenaries


Section-Sponsored Concurrent Sessions Team
  • Review submissions for Section-sponsored panels and papers and identifies proposals for presentation
  • Work with the Member Event Services Team to communicate deadlines and reminders to volunteers and presenters
  • Professional Staff Liaison: Suzanne Mullinnix


Program Events

Education Chair(s)

  • Co-Chair: Cassy Budd, Brigham Young University, cassybudd@byu.edu 
  • Co-Chair: Karen Osterheld, Bentley University, kosterheld@bentley.edu
  • Review submissions for Pre-Conference Workshops and identify proposals acceptable for presentation
  • Identify and organize up to 7 At-Large Education Panels
  • Review submissions to Effective Learning Strategies, Emerging and Innovative Research sessions, and identify proposals for presentation


Conference on Teaching and Learning in Accounting (CTLA) Co-Chairs

  • Co-Chair: Cindy Bolt Lee, The Citadel, cynthia.bolt@citadel.edu
  • Co-Chair: Billie Cunningham, University of Missouri-Columbia, cunningham@missouri.edu 
  • Review the Call for Proposals, Presentation emails and related documents for the upcoming year and makes any changes necessary
  • Identify and recommend keynote and lunch speakers
  • Assign reviewers to submissions
  • Review reviewer comments to identify proposals for presentation
  • Create a balanced program from the list of accepted proposals
  • Identify teaching sessions held at the annual meeting for the CTLA Insider’s Guide
  • Professional Staff Liaison: Stephanie Glaser, stephanie@aaahq.org


Professionalism & Ethics Research in Accounting Symposium Co-Chairs

  • Co-Chair: Annie McGowan, Texas A&M University, AMcGowan@mays.tamu.edu
  • Co-Chair: Brian P. Shapiro, University of St Thomas – Minneapolis,  bpshapiro@stthomas.edu
  • Review the Call for Papers for the upcoming year and makes any changes necessary
  • Identify and confirm keynote speaker
  • Contact Journal Editors to request if they will allow the use of their reviewers and consider accepted papers as submissions to their journals
  • Assign reviewers to submissions
  • Review reviewer comments to identify papers for presentation
  • Create a balanced program from the list of accepted proposals
  • Professional Staff Liaison: Stephanie Glaser, stephanie@aaahq.org


Faculty-Student Collaborations in Accounting (FASTCA) Chair

  • Chair: Marsha Huber, Youngstown State University, hubercpa@hotmail.com
  • Reviews the Call for Papers for the upcoming year and makes any changes necessary
  • Determines and confirms Program Committee
  • Assigns reviewers to submissions
  • Reviews reviewer comments to identify papers for presentation
  • Creates a balanced program from the list of accepted proposals
  • Professional Staff Liaison: Jean Thompson, jean.thompson@AAAHQ.ORG

Global Emerging Scholars Research Workshop Faculty Chair

  • Co-Chair: Wayne Landsman, University of North Carolina-Chapel Hill, wayne_landsman@unc.edu
  • Co-Chair: Recep Pekdemir, Istanbul University, pekdemir@istanbul.edu.tr
  • Reviews the Call for Papers for the upcoming year and makes any changes he sees necessary
  • Review submissions for Global Emerging Scholars Research Workshop and identifies up to 16 proposals acceptable for presentation
  • Divides the 16 submissions into 2 tracks and identifies which 2 faculty members will be for each track
  • Reaches out to faculty to fill any of the 4 open faculty spots for the workshop
  • Works with AAA Professional staff and answers any questions throughout the process
  • Professional Staff Liaison: Kelli Gouwens, kelli.gouwens@aaahq.org

 

AAA Management Team

Name / Affiliation

Contact

Term Length

Term Expires

President
Dave Burgstahler
University of Washington-Seattle


dburg@u.washington.edu

3

08/2018

Past President
Bruce Behn
University of Tennessee-Knoxville


bbehn@utk.edu
 
3

08/2017

President-Elect
Anne L. Christensen
Montana State University-Bozeman

 
annec@montana.edu
 
3
 
08/2019
Vice President–Finance
Leslie Hodder 

Indiana University-Bloomington

 
lhodder@indiana.edu
 
3
 
08/2018

 

AAA Executive Director

Name / Affiliation

Contact

Tracey Sutherland

tracey@aaahq.org

 

Education Co-Chairs

Name / Affiliation

Contact

Term Length

Term Expires

Cassy Budd
Brigham Young University

cassybudd@byu.edu

1

08/2017

Karen Osterheld
Bentley University
kosterheld@bentley.edu 1 08/2017

 

Section-Sponsored Concurrent Sessions Team-Identified by Each Section

Name / Affiliation

Contact

Section/Program Affiliation

Term Length

Term Expires

Barbara Merino
University of North Texas

barbara.merino@unt.edu


AAH

 5

 08/2017

Laurie Burney
Baylor University

Bernhard Reichert
Drexel University

laurie_burney@baylor.edu

ber33@drexel.edu

ABO

1


1

08/2017


08/2017

Tawei (David) Wang
DePaul University

Juergen Sidgman
University of Wisconsin – Oshkosh

david.wang@depaul.edu

sidgmanj@uwosh.edu

AIS

1


2

08/2017


08/2017

Sandra Richtermeyer
University of Massachusetts-Lowell

Sandra_Richtermeyer@uml.edu

APLG

1

08/2017

Amy Hageman
Kansas State University

HagemanA@ksu.edu

ATA

2

08/2017

Brian Bratten
University of Kentucky

Nate Stephens
Utah State University

David Wood
Brigham Young University

brian.bratten@uky.edu

nate.stephens@usu.edu


davidwood@byu.edu

AUD

2


2


2

08/2017

08/2017


08/2017

Royce Burnett
Southern Illinois University

broyce@cba.siu.edu

DIV

1

08/2017

Nerissa Brown
University of Delaware

Peter Demerjian
University of Washington-Seattle

Lian Fen Lee
Boston College

George Serafeim
Harvard University Business School

ncbrown@udel.edu

pdemerj@uw.edu

lianfen.lee@bc.edu

gserafeim@hbs.edu

FARS

2


2


1


1

08/2017


08/2017


08/2017


08/2017

Qian Song
Rochester Institute of Technology

qsong@saunders.rit.edu

FIA

1

08/2017

Murphy Smith
Murray State University

msmith93@murraystate.edu

GIWB

6

08/2017

Daniel Neely
University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee

neely@uwm.edu

GNP

1

08/2017

Wendy Wilson
Southern Methodist University

Siva Nathan
Georgia State University

wwilson@smu.edu


snathan@gsu.edu

International

1

1

08/2017

08/2017

Susan Kulp 
George Washington University

Ivo Tafkov
Georgia State University

skulp@gwu.edu


accitt@langate.gsu.edu

MAS

2

1

 

08/2017


08/2017

Amy Hageman
Kansas State University

Lois Mahoney
Eastern Michigan University

HagemanA@ksu.edu


lmahone1@emich.edu

PI

2


2

08/2017

Daniel O'Leary
University of Southern California

oleary@usc.edu

SET

4

08/2017

Markus Ahrens
Saint Louis Community College-Meramec

Bambi Hora
University of Central Oklahoma

mahrens@stlcc.edu

bhora@uco.edu

TLC

1


1

08/2017


08/2017

Sydney Askew
CUNY-Borough of Manhattan Community College

saskew@bmcc.cuny.edu

 

TYC

3

08/2017

 

AAA Senior Director, Meetings and Programs

Name / Affiliation

Contact

Erlinda Jones

erlinda@aaahq.org

 

Board of Directors Liaison

Name / Affiliation

Contact

Term Length

Term Expires

Dave Burgstahler
University of Washington-Seattle

dburg@u.washington.edu

1

08/2017

Copyright © 1998 - 2017 by American Accounting Association. All rights reserved.