Menu

2016 - 2017 Notable and Distinguished Contributions to Accounting Literature Award Screening Committee

Charge

Coordinate all activities necessary to screen candidates for the Notable Contributions to Accounting Literature Award and the Distinguished Contributions to Accounting Literature Award. Specifically:

  • Identify works of exceptional merit from published accounting books and articles that meet the criteria for the "Notable Contributions" award.
  • Identify works of exceptional merit from published accounting books and articles that meet the criteria for the "Distinguished Contributions" award.
  • The Screening Committee for the Notable and Distinguished Contributions to Accounting Literature Award shall be encouraged to submit candidates for the Deloitte Foundation Wildman Award to the Deloitte Foundation Wildman Award Committee.

Membership

  • New committee members are appointed annually by the Council Committee on Awards Committee.
  • The membership of the Screening Committee shall include a representative from each of the AAA Sections.

Meetings

  • The committee meets as needed.

Responsibilities

  • AAA Staff (Barbara Gutierrez) will ensure the Call for Nominations web page is updated in conjunction with the Committee Directory.
  • Beginning in September, Stephanie Glaser, AAA Awards Coordinator, will arrange for the Call for Nominations announcement to be included:
    • In the Fall edition of the Accounting Education News
    • On the AAA website and in multi-topic mass emails.
  • The AAA Awards Coordinator will contact the chair with the dates that the award's Call for Nominations will be included on the AAA website and in multi-topic mass emails.
  • Members of the committee are encouraged to submit nominations. Current committee members who are nominated for the award will be asked to either recuse themselves from the committee or remove their nomination from consideration.
  • Nominations are due by 11:59 pm Eastern Time on January 31st.
  • Submissions for this award are collected electronically in Word or PDF format.
  • The nominator will receive an acknowledgement message from the AAA Awards Coordinator upon receipt of the nomination.
  • During the first week of February the AAA Awards Coordinator will send to the Chair of the Screening Committee a link to the nominations that have been submitted for the Notable Contributions to Accounting Literature Award and a link to the nominations that have been submitted for the Distinguished Contributions to Accounting Literature Award.
  • The Screening committee will select nominees for the Notable Contributions award and the Distinguished Contributions awards based on each award's specific criteria.
  • The Chair of the Screening committee will provide a set of nominees for the Selection Committee for the Notable Contributions award and for the Selection Committee for the Distinguished Contributions award to the AAA Awards Coordinator at awards@aaahq.org by March 2nd.
  • During the first week of March, the AAA Awards Coordinator will send a link to the nominations that have been accepted by the Screening Committee to the Chair of the Selection Committee for the Notable Contributions award and a link to the nominations that have been accepted by the Screening Committee to the Chair of the Selection Committee for the Distinguished Contributions award.
  • If the Chair has any questions about the charge or responsibilities of this committee, s/he should contact the Executive Director, the President, or the committee's Board of Directors Liaison.
  • The Chair will have the opportunity three times every term-year to prepare and send a progress report which will be available for the Board of Directors to review at their next meeting. This report should include accomplishments and suggested modifications and should be sent to the AAA President, the committee’s Board of Directors Liaison, and  Governance Manager (barbara.gutierrez@aaahq.org).

Members

Name / Affiliation

Contact

Section

Term Length

Term Expires

Chair
Jennifer Joe
University of Delaware

 

jjoe@udel.edu

 

ABO

 

2

 

08/2017

Uday Murthy
University of South Florida

umurthy@usf.edu

AIS

1

08/2017

Mary Stanford
Texas Christian University

m.stanford@tcu.edu

APLG

1

08/2017

Bryan Cloyd
Lehigh University

cbc215@lehigh.edu

ATA

1

08/2017

Bob Allen
The University of Utah

bob.allen@utah.edu

AUD

1

08/2017

Tom J. Lopez
University of Alabama-Tuscaloosa

tjlopez@cba.ua.edu

DIV

1

08/2017

Wayne Thomas
The University of Oklahoma

wthomas@ou.edu

FARS

1

08/2017

Chin-Chen Lee
Northern Illinois University

cclee@niu.edu

FA

1

08/2017

Holly Rudolph
Murray State University

Holly.Rudolph@MurrayState.Edu

GIWB

1

08/2017

Pam Strickland
Methodist University

pstrickland19@nc.rr.com

GNP

1

08/2017

Mike Welker
Queen's College, Kingston, Canada

mw18@queensu.ca

INTL

1

08/2017

W. Tim Mitchell
University of Waterloo, Canada

t4mitchell@uwaterloo.ca

MAS

1

08/2017

Daniel O'Leary
University of Southern California

oleary@usc.edu

SET

1

08/2017

Frank Buckless
North Carolina State University

frank_buckless@ncsu.edu

TLC

1

08/2017

Cathy Scott
Navarro College

cathy.scott@navarrocollege.edu

Two-Year

1

08/2017

Christine Earley
Providence College

cearley@providence.edu

PI

1

08/2017

Board of Directors Liaison
Terry Shevlin
University of California-Irvine
Vice President–Research & Publications

tshevlin@uci.edu

 

 

 

Copyright © 1998 - 2017 by American Accounting Association. All rights reserved.