Menu

2016 - 2017 Council Advocacy Review Committee

Charge

The Council Advocacy Review Committee (ARC) shall review positions forwarded by members of the Board of Directors, Segments, or Association-level committees, for suitability to represent an Association-level position. Position papers or letters approved by this committee will be put before the Council for approval as official positions of the AAA.


Membership

  • The ARC shall consist of eight members, including the Chair, and Chair-Elect, each of whom shall normally serve a two-year term, with one-half of the committee members appointed each year.
  • The Chair-elect serves for one year, then as Chair for one year.
  • New committee members are appointed by the Council Chair.

Meetings

  • The committee meets as needed.

Responsibilities

  • Fulfill the committee charter as above.
  • If the Chair has any questions about the charge or responsibilities of this committee, s/he should contact the Executive Director, the President, or the committee’s Board of Directors Liaison.
  • The Chair will prepare and send a progress report for the Council to review at the August Council meeting. This report should include accomplishments and suggested modifications and should be sent to the Council Chair and to Governance Manager, Barbara Gutierrez (barbara.gutierrez@aaahq.org).

Members

Name / Affiliation

Contact

Term Length

Term Expires

Chair
Urton Anderson
The University of Kentucky

 
urton.anderson@uky.edu

 
2

 
08/2017

Chair-Elect
Carol Hartley
Providence College

 
chartley@providence.edu

 
2

 
08/2018

Don Ariail
Kennesaw State University

dariail1@kennesaw.edu

2

08/2017

Greg Burton
Brigham Young University

fgb@byu.edu

2

08/2017

Thomas Vermeer
University of Delaware

vermeer@udel.edu

2

08/2017

Natalie Churyk 
Northern Illinois University

nchuryk@niu.edu

2

08/2018

Mary Fischer
University of Texas-Tyler

mfischer@uttyler.edu

2

08/2018

Lakshmanan (Shiva) Shivakumar
London Business School

lshivakumar@london.edu

2

08/2018

Copyright © 1998 - 2017 by American Accounting Association. All rights reserved.