2016 - 2017 Governance Committee

(Formerly Bylaws Committee)


  • To review proposed amendments to the Association's governing documents to assure clarity, consistency, and legal compliance, and advise the Board of Directors on changes in the governing documents.


  • The Committee shall consist of nine members, including the Chair, each of whom shall normally serve a three-year term, with one-third of the Committee members appointed each year.
  • The President-Elect is an ex-officio member of the governance committee.


  • The Committee meets as needed.


  • Fulfill the committee charter as above.
  • If the Chair has any questions about the charge or responsibilities of this committee, s/he should contact the Executive Director, the President, or the committee's Board of Directors Liaison.
  • The Chair will have the opportunity three times every term-year to prepare and send a progress report which will be available for the Board of Directors to review at their next meeting. This report should include accomplishments and suggested modifications and should be sent to the AAA President, the committee's Board of Directors Liaison, and Governance Manager, Barbara Gutierrez (


Name / Affiliation Contact Term Length Term Expires

Karen Pincus
University of Arkansas

Ex-Officio Member
Anne Christensen
Montana State University, Bozeman

Bambi Hora
University of Central Oklahoma 3 08/2017

Gaizka Ormazabal
IESE Business School
Spain 3 08/2017

David Stout
Villanova University 2 08/2017

Tracie Miller-Nobles
Austin Community College 2 08/2017

Wim A. Van der Stede
London School of Economics & Political Science 2 08/2017

Jim Young
Northern Illinois University 
3 08/2018

Bob Allen
The University of Utah
3 08/2019

Sandy Callaghan
Texas Christian University 3 08/2019

Board of Directors Liaison
Anne Christensen
Montana State University, Bozeman

Copyright © 1998 - 2019 by American Accounting Association. All rights reserved.