Menu

2016 - 2017 Strategic Region Leader Committee

Charge

The Committee is responsible for monitoring and maintaining the AAA Pilot Region Strategic Plan, which includes:

  • Approving and monitoring strategic initiatives for pilot regional services which inform, and are informed by, the overall AAA Strategic Plan.
  • Assisting with cultivating strategic relationships with AAA communities, groups, and other organizations to maximum mutual long-term benefit.
  • Monitoring the governance and operations of pilot regions, and approving the creation of pilot region policies when necessary, with the purpose of making the pilot region volunteer’s experience, and the meeting attendee’s experience, valuable ones.
  • Encouraging the creation of proposals from pilot region program leaders for innovations at pilot region meetings, and evaluating for approval all such proposals.

Membership

  • The Committee shall consist of 17 members:
    • The President and Past President of each Pilot Region, each of whom shall serve a two-year term (beginning in the year he/she is President) beginning in May;
    • Three members appointed by the Management Team, each representing one or more key sub-communities in the pilot regions, each of whom shall serve two-year terms beginning in May;
    • The Director–Focusing on Segments, serving a three-year term beginning in September;
    • Three members of the AAA Professional Staff, appointed annually by the Executive Director;
  • The Director–Focusing on Segments and one of the appointed members of the AAA Professional Staff shall co-facilitate all Committee meetings.

Meetings

  • Meetings of the committee or its sub-committees or task forces may be scheduled in person or by teleconference.

Responsibilities

  • Fulfill the committee charter above.
  • If the Chair has any questions about the charge or responsibilities of this committee, s/he should contact the Executive Director, the President, or the committee’s Board of Directors Liaison.
  • The Facilitator will have the opportunity three times every term-year to prepare and send a progress report which will be available for the Board of Directors to review at their next meeting. This report should include accomplishments and suggested modifications and should be sent to the AAA President, the committee's Board of Directors Liaison, and Governance Manager, Barbara Gutierrez (barbara.gutierrez@aaahq.org).

Members

Name / Affiliation Contact Pilot Region Affiliation Term Length Term Expires

Facilitator
Director–Focusing on Segments
Pat Poli
Fairfield University

ppoli@fairfield.edu

NE

 

3

 

04/2018

Shaokun (Carol) Yu

Northern Illinois University

MW President

shaokunyu@niu.edu

MW

2

04/2018

Natalie Churyk
University of Northern Illinois
MW Past President

nchuryk@niu.edu

MW

2

04/2017

Timothy J. Rupert
Northeastern University
NE President

t.rupert@neu.edu

 NE

 2

 04/2018

Yvette Lazdowski
University of New Hampshire-Manchester
NE Past President

yjlazdowski@mail.plymouth.edu

NE

2

04/2017

Amal Said
University of Toledo
OH President

amal.said@utoledo.edu

OH

2

04/2018

David Stott
Ohio University
OH Past President

dstott@ohio.edu

OH  2 04/2017

Maria Leach
The University of Southern Mississippi
SE President

maria.leach@usm.edu

SE  2 04/2018 

Don Ariail
Kennesaw State
SE Past President

dariail1@kennesaw.edu

SE

2

04/2017

Sara Kern
Gonzaga University
WE President

kern@gonzaga.edu

WE

2

04/2018

David G DeBoskey
San Diego State University
WE Past President

deboskey@mail.sdsu.edu

WE

2

04/2017

Scott Fleming
West Virginia University

scott.fleming@mail.wvu.edu

Representative of key sub-
community in the pilot regions 

 2

04/2018 

Karen Osterheld 
Bentley University 

kosterheld@bentley.edu

Representative of key sub-
community in the pilot regions

2

04/2018

Cathy Scott
Navarro College

cathy.scott@navarrocollege.edu

Representative of key sub-
community in the pilot regions

2

04/2018

Julie Smith David
AAA Chief Innovation Officer

Julie@aaahq.org

 

 

 

Erlinda Jones
AAA Senior Director, Meetings and Programs

Erlinda@aaahq.org

 

 

 

Board of Directors Liaison
Director–Focusing on Segments
Pat Poli
Fairfield University

 

ppoli@fairfield.edu

 

NE

 

3

 

04/2018

Copyright © 1998 - 2017 by American Accounting Association. All rights reserved.