Menu

2017-2018 Annual Meeting Committee

Charge

  • While a myriad of events and activities occur during the meeting, important communications of the message comes from the plenary and lunch speakers and from broadly focused At-Large Panel sessions.
  • Crafting an engaging, interesting, challenging, and fascinating story for the Annual Meeting is the opportunity of the Annual Meeting Committee.

Members

  • Board of Directors Team
  • Management Team
  • Executive Director (Tracey Sutherland)
  • Senior Director, Meetings and Programs (Erlinda Jones)
  • Education Chair/s
  • Section-Sponsored Concurrent Sessions Team
  • Conference on Teaching and Learning in Accounting (CTLA) Co-Chairs
  • Ethics Research Symposium Co-Chairs & Ethics Workshop/Bootcamp Chair
  • Faculty-Student Collaborations in Accounting (FASTCA) Chair
  • Global Emerging Scholars Research Workshop Faculty Chair

Member Roles

Management Team

  • President
    • Chooses President Scholar(s)
    • As Chair of Management Team, leads discussion of strategy for Annual Meeting Program
  • Works with the President to achieve the vision for that year’s meeting
  • Approves budget for all Program Events
  •  Identifies speakers for three morning plenaries
    • Speakers may include a range of session types including: individual keynotes, “Ted-talk” style presentations, interview sessions, etc.
  • Identifies a Tuesday lunch speaker – keeping in mind the special characteristics of lunch talks
  • Plans up to three follow-up Panel sessions to continue or amplify topics begun in the three morning plenaries, as appropriate
  • Plans additional At-Large panel topics to be discussed during Council at their Fall meeting (to result in approximately 10 panels)
  • Identifies Chair of all Program Events

 

Executive Director

  • Coordinates overall meeting
  • Orients/advises/informs committee members and planning process


AAA Senior Director, Meetings and Programs

  • Professional Staff member responsible for overall operational implementation of the Annual Meeting
  • Coordinator of all Professional Staff involvement
  • Develops and approves Call for Submission
  • Invites speakers for three morning plenaries


Section-Sponsored Concurrent Sessions Team
  • Review submissions for Section-sponsored panels and papers and identify proposals for presentation
  • Work with the Member Event Services Team to communicate deadlines and reminders to volunteers and presenters
  • Professional Staff Liaison: Suzanne Mullinnix; Suzanne@aaahq.org


Program Events

Education Chair(s)

  • Co-Chair: Cassy Budd, Brigham Young University, cassybudd@byu.edu 
  • Co-Chair: Jeff Lark, University of Georgia, jlark@uga.edu 
  • Co-Chair: Cathy Scott, Navarro College, cathy.scott@navarrocollege.edu
  • Review submissions for Pre-Conference Workshops and identify proposals acceptable for presentation
  • Identify and organize up to 7 At-Large Education Panels
  • Review submissions to Effective Learning Strategies, Emerging and Innovative Research sessions, and identify proposals for presentation


Conference on Teaching and Learning in Accounting (CTLA) Co-Chairs

  • Co-Chair: Billie Cunningham, University of Missouri-Columbia, cunningham@missouri.edu
  • Co-Chair: Gail Hoover King, Purdue University Northwest, ghkingaaa@gmail.com 
  • Review the Call for Proposals, presentation emails and related documents for the upcoming year and make any changes necessary
  • Identify and recommend keynote and lunch speakers
  • Assign reviewers to submissions
  • Review reviewer comments to identify proposals for presentation
  • Create a balanced program from the list of accepted proposals
  • Identify teaching sessions held at the annual meeting for the CTLA Insider’s Guide
  • Professional Staff Liaison: Stephanie Glaser, stephanie@aaahq.org


Ethics Research Symposium Co-Chairs and Ethics Workshop/Bootcamp Chair

  • Ethics Research Symposium Co-Chair: Tara Shawver, King’s College, tarashawver@kings.edu 
  • Ethics Research Symposium Co-Chair:  William F. Miller, University of Wisconsin-Eau Claire, millerwf@uwec.edu
  • Ethics Workshop/Bootcamp Chair: Joan Lee, Fairfield University, jlee@fairfield.edu
  • Review the Call for Papers for the upcoming year and make any changes necessary
  • Identify and confirm keynote speaker
  • Contact Journal Editors to request if they will allow the use of their reviewers and consider accepted papers as submissions to their journals
  • Assign reviewers to submissions
  • Review reviewer comments to identify papers for presentation
  • Create a balanced program from the list of accepted proposals
  • Professional Staff Liaison: Stephanie Glaser, stephanie@aaahq.org


Faculty-Student Collaborations in Accounting (FASTCA) Chair

  • Chair: Marsha Huber, Youngstown State University, hubercpa@hotmail.com
  • Reviews the Call for Papers for the upcoming year and makes any changes necessary
  • Determines and confirms Program Committee
  • Assigns reviewers to submissions
  • Reviews reviewer comments to identify papers for presentation
  • Creates a balanced program from the list of accepted proposals
  • Professional Staff Liaison: Jean Thompson, jean.thompson@AAAHQ.ORG

Global Emerging Scholars Research Workshop Faculty Co-Chairs

  • Co-Chair: Wayne Landsman, University of North Carolina-Chapel Hill, wayne_landsman@unc.edu
  • Co-Chair: Recep Pekdemir, Istanbul University, pekdemir@istanbul.edu.tr
  • Review the Call for Papers for the upcoming year and make any changes necessary
  • Review submissions and identify up to 16 proposals acceptable for presentation
  • Divide the 16 submissions into 2 tracks and identify which 2 faculty members will be for each track
  • Reach out to faculty to fill any of the 4 open faculty spots for the workshop
  • Work with AAA Professional Staff and answer any questions throughout the process
  • Professional Staff Liaison: Kelli Gouwens, kelli.gouwens@aaahq.org

 

AAA Management Team

Name / Affiliation

Contact

Term Length

Term Expires

President
Anne L. Christensen
Montana State University-Bozeman


annec@montana.edu

3

08/2019

Past President
Dave Burgstahler
University of Washington-Seattle


dburg@u.washington.edu
 
3

08/2018

President-Elect
Marc Rubin
Miami University of Ohio

 
rubinma@miamioh.edu
 
3
 
08/2020
Vice President–Finance
Leslie Hodder 

Indiana University-Bloomington

 
lhodder@indiana.edu
 
3
 
08/2018

 

AAA Executive Director

Name / Affiliation

Contact

Tracey Sutherland

tracey@aaahq.org

 

Education Co-Chairs

Name / Affiliation

Contact

Term Length

Term Expires

Cassy Budd
Brigham Young University

cassybudd@byu.edu

2

08/2018

Jeff Lark
University of Georgia

jlark@uga.edu 108/2018

Cathy Scott
Navarro College 

cathy.scott@navarrocollege.edu   1 08/2018

 

Section-Sponsored Concurrent Sessions Team-Identified by Each Section

Name / Affiliation

Contact

Section/Program Affiliation

Term Length

Term Expires

Martin Persson
University of Western Ontario

persson@alumni@lse.ac.uk

AAH108/2018

Bernhard Reichert
Drexel University

Marietta Peytcheva
Lehigh University

bereichert@vcu.edu

map608@lehigh.edu

ABO

2


1

08/2018


08/2018

Tawei (David) Wang
DePaul University

Jian Cao
Florida Atlantic University - Boca

david.wang@depaul.edu


jcao@fau.edu

AIS

2


1

08/2018


08/2018

Sharon Lightner
National University

slightner@nu.edu

APLG

1

08/2018

Susan Jurney
Oklahoma City University

Kirsten Cook
Texas Tech University

njurney@okcu.edu


kirsten.cook@ttu.edu


ATA

1


1

08/2018


08/2018

Monika Causholli
University of Kentucky

Adi Masli
University of Kansas

Chad Stefaniak
University of South Carolina

monika.causholli@uky.edu


amasli@ku.edu


chad.stefaniak@moore.sc.edu


AUD

1


1


1

08/2018

08/2018


08/2018

Royce Burnett
Southern Illinois University

Aisha G. Meeks
Dalton State College

Norma R. Montague
Wake Forest University

broyce@cba.siu.edu


ameeks@daltonstate.edu


montagnr@wfu.edu

DIV

2



1


1

08/2018


08/2018


08/2018

Lian Fen Lee
Boston College

Georege Serafeim
Harvard University Business School
lianfen.lee@bc.edu


gserafeim@hbs.edu

FARS

2


2

08/2018


08/2018

Michele McGowan
Kings College

Veronica Paz 
Indiana University of Pennsylvania

MicheleMcGowan@kings.edu


vpaz01@veronicapazcpa.com

FIA

1


1

08/2018

08/2018

Murphy Smith
Murray State University

msmith93@murraystate.edu

GIWB

7

08/2018

Robert Eger
Naval Postgraduate School

rjeger@nps.edu

GNP

1

08/2018

Siva Nathan
Georgia State University

snathan@gsu.edu

International

2

08/2018

Xiaoling (Clara) Chen
University of Illinois-Urbana-Champaign

cxchen@illinois.edu

MAS

1

08/2018

Charles Stanley
Baylor University

Maureen Mascha
Purdue University Northwest

charles_stanley@baylor.edu


drmascha@sbcglobal.net

PI

1


1

08/2018


08/2018

Daniel O'Leary
University of Southern California

oleary@usc.edu

SET

5

08/2018

Bambi Hora
University of Central Oklahoma

Shaokun (Carol) Yu
Northern Illinois University

bhora@uco.edu


shaokunyu@niu.edu

TLC

2


1

08/2018


08/2018

Sydney Askew
CUNY-Borough of Manhattan Community College

saskew@bmcc.cuny.edu

TYC

4

08/2018

 

AAA Senior Director, Meetings and Programs

Name / Affiliation

Contact

Erlinda Jones

erlinda@aaahq.org

 

Board of Directors Liaison

Name / Affiliation

Contact

Term Length

Term Expires

Anne L. Christensen
Montana State University-Bozeman
 

annec@montana.edu

3

08/2019

Copyright © 1998 - 2017 by American Accounting Association. All rights reserved.