Menu

2017 - 2018 Notable and Distinguished Contributions to Accounting Literature Award Screening Committee

Nominations Deadline: January 31 at 11:59 pm Eastern Time

Charge

Coordinate all activities necessary to screen candidates for the Notable Contributions to Accounting Literature Award and the Distinguished Contributions to Accounting Literature Award. Specifically:

  • Identify works of exceptional merit from published accounting books and articles that meet the criteria for the "Notable Contributions" award.
  • Identify works of exceptional merit from published accounting books and articles that meet the criteria for the "Distinguished Contributions" award.
  • The Screening Committee for the Notable and Distinguished Contributions to Accounting Literature Award shall be encouraged to submit candidates for the Deloitte Foundation Wildman Award to the Deloitte Foundation Wildman Award Committee.
  • Actively seek and submit nominations
  • Review and evaluate nominations
  • Current Committee members who are nominated for the "Notable Contributions" award or the "Distinguished Contributions" award will be asked to either recuse themselves from the Committee or remove their nomination from consideration.
  • If the Chair has any questions about the charge or responsibilities of this committee, s/he should contact the Executive Director, the President, or the Committee's Board of Directors Liaison.

Members

Name / Affiliation Contact  Section Term Length Term Expires
Chair

Daniel O’Leary
University of Southern California

oleary@usc.edu

 
N/A

 
2


08/2018

Members

Steve Moehrle
University of Missouri-St Louis

moehrle@umsl.edu

AAH

1

08/2018

Ken Trotman
UNSW Australia

k.trotman@unsw.edu.au

ABO

1

08/2018

Vernon Richardson
University of Arkansas-Fayetteville

vrichardson@walton.uark.edu 

AIS

1

08/2018

Kaye Newberry
University of Houston-Houston

kjnewberry@uh.edu 

APLG

1

08/2018

Lisa De Simone
Stanford University

LNDS@stanford.edu

ATA

08/2018 

Mark Peecher
University of Illinois-Urbana-Champaign

peecher@illinois.edu

AUDITING

 1

 08/2018

Henock Louis
Penn State University

hul4@psu.edu

DIV

 1

 08/2018

Darren Roulstone
The Ohio State University

roulstone.1@osu.edu 

FARS

 1

08/2018 

Carol Dee

University of Colorado-Denver

carol.dee@ucdenver.edu

FORENSIC

 1

 08/2018

Bambi Hora
University of Central Oklahoma

bhora@uco.edu

GIWB

 1

 08/2018

Dana Forgione
University of Texas-San Antonio

dana.forgione@utsa.edu

GNP

 1

 08/2018

Wolfgang Schultze
Universität Augsburg, Germany

wolfgang.schultze@wiwi.uni-augsburg.de

INT'L

 1

 08/2018

Kari Lukka
University of Turku, Finland

kari.lukka@utu.fi

MAS

 1

 08/2018

Charles H. Cho
York University, Ontario, Canada

ccho@schulich.yorku.ca

PI

 1

 08/2018

David Wood
Brigham Young University

davidwood@byu.edu

SET

1

08/2018

Monte Swain
Brigham Young University

monte@byu.edu

TLC

 1

 08/2018

Sidney Askew
CUNY-Borough of Manhattan Community College

saskew@bmcc.cuny.edu

TWO-YEAR

1

08/2018

Board of Directors Liaison

Terry Shevlin
Vice President–Research & Publications
University of California-Irvine

tshevlin@uci.edu

 

 

 

Expected Time Commitment

  • September 1 – January 31 – actively seek and submit nominations
  • February – March 2 – review nominations, participate on conference calls and email discussions at the discretion of the Chair
  • Select a set of nominees for the Distinguished Contribution to Accounting Literature Award based on the award criteria
  • Select a set of nominees for the Notable Contributions to Accounting Literature Award based on the award criteria
  • By March 2nd, notify the Professional Staff Liaison at awards@aaahq.org of the set of nominees to be forwarded to the Selection Committee for the Distinguished Contribution Award
  • By March 2nd, notify the Professional Staff Liaison at awards@aaahq.org of the set of nominees to be forwarded to the Selection Committee for the Notable Contributions Award

 

Roles & Responsibilities Timeline

Chair and Committee Members Responsibilities

September - January February – March 2 June
  • Actively seek and submit nominations
  • Review nominations, participate on conference calls and email discussions, at the discretion of the Chair
  • Select a set of nominees for the Distinguished Contribution to Accounting Literature Award based on the award criteria
  • Select a set of nominees for the Notable Contributions to Accounting Literature Award based on the award criteria
  • By March 2nd, notify the Professional Staff Liaison at awards@aaahq.org of the set of nominees to be forwarded to the Selection Committee for the Distinguished Contribution Award
  • By March 2nd, notify the Professional Staff Liaison at awards@aaahq.org of the set of nominees to be forwarded to the Selection Committee for the Notable Contributions Award
  • The Chair will have the opportunity to prepare and send a progress report in June which will be available for the Board of Directors to review at their August meeting. This report should include accomplishments and suggested modifications and should be sent to the AAA President, the Committee's Board of Directors Liaison, and Professional Staff Liaison, Barbara Gutierrez. (barbara.gutierrez@aaahq.org)

AAA Professional Staff Responsibilities

Committee Composition/Required Knowledge and Expertise

  • Care should be taken that the Committee include members with a range of expertise who are knowledgeable about unique and substantive scholarship in accounting.
  • Care should be taken that the Committee include members with a range of expertise who are knowledgeable about exceptional, current, accounting research.
  • The Committee must include a representative from each of the AAA Sections.
Copyright © 1998 - 2017 by American Accounting Association. All rights reserved.