Menu

2017 - 2018 Doctoral Consortium Committee

Charge

Plan and hold the annual AAA/Deloitte/J. Michael Cook Doctoral Consortium. The Consortium should provide a forum for stimulating participating doctoral students to pursue research in significant subject areas. Specifically:

  • The Committee will plan an informal orientation meeting, large-group presentations, small discussion groups, and informal lounge sessions conducive to relaxed discussions among students and faculty.

Membership

  • The committee consists of nine members, including the Chair, Chair-Elect and Past Chair, serving staggered three-year terms.
  • Three committee members constitute the leadership group -- a Chair, Past Chair, and Chair-Elect.
  • One new committee member each year is named Chair-Elect by the AAA President and this person serves one year each as Chair-Elect, Chair, and Past Chair of the committee (a three-year term in all).

Meetings

  • The committee meets annually during the AAA Annual Meeting.
  • The Doctoral Consortium is held in the summer, but at a different time than the Annual Meeting.
  • The Doctoral Consortium will be held in June 2018.

Responsibilities

  • To fulfill the committee charge as above.
  • After the event takes place, a report to the Board of Directors Liaison, AAA President, and Executive Director is prepared by the Chair or Co-Chairs and should include an overview of highlights of the event, a description of the program and list of participants, actual expenditures compared with the budget and the effectiveness of the program as evaluated by the Chair or Co-Chairs, Faculty, and the student participants. The report is to be emailed to Professional Staff Liaison, Beverly Collins, at Beverly@aaahq.org filed no later than July 15th.
  • If the Chair has any questions about the charge or responsibilities of this committee, s/he should contact the Executive Director, the President, or the committee’s Board of Directors Liaison.

Members

Name / Affiliation

Contact

Term Length

Term Expires

Chair
Jake Thornock 
Brigham Young University

 
thornock@byu.edu

 
3

 
08/2019

Chair-Elect
Alan Jagolinzer 
University of Cambridge

 
a.jagolinzer@jbs.cam.ac.uk

 
3

 
08/2020

Past Chair
Mohan Venkatachalam
Duke University

 
vmohan@duke.edu

 
3

 
08/2018

Mary Ellen Carter
Boston College

maryellen.carter@bc.edu

3

08/2018

Ted Christensen
University of Georgia

tedchris@uga.edu

3

08/2018

Ole-Kristian Hope
University of Toronto - Rotman School of Management

okhope@rotman.utoronto.ca

3

08/2019

Paul Madsen
University of Florida

paulmadsen@ufl.edu

3

08/2019

Diana Falsetta
University of Miami

falsetta@miami.edu

 3 08/2020

Dahlia Robinson
University of South Florida

dmrobinson@usf.edu

 3 08/2020

Board of Directors Liaison
Anne Christensen
Montana State University - Bozeman

 
annec@montana.edu

 
 

Professional Staff Liaison
Beverly Collins
Director, Special Projects

 
Beverly@aaahq.org

Copyright © 1998 - 2017 by American Accounting Association. All rights reserved.