Menu

2017 - 2018 Council Advocacy Review Committee

Charge

The Council Advocacy Review Committee (ARC) shall review positions forwarded by members of the Board of Directors, Segments, or Association-level committees, for suitability to represent an Association-level position. Position papers or letters approved by this committee will be put before the Council for approval as official positions of the AAA.


Membership

  • The ARC shall consist of eight members, including the Chair, and Chair-Elect, each of whom shall normally serve a two-year term, with one-half of the committee members appointed each year.
  • The Chair-elect serves for one year, then as Chair for one year.
  • New committee members are appointed by the Council Chair.

Meetings

  • The committee meets as needed.

Responsibilities

  • Fulfill the committee charter as above.
  • If the Chair has any questions about the charge or responsibilities of this committee, s/he should contact the Executive Director, the President, or the committee’s Board of Directors Liaison.
  • The Chair will prepare and send a progress report for the Council to review at the August Council meeting. This report should include accomplishments and suggested modifications and should be sent to the Council Chair and to Governance Manager, Barbara Gutierrez (barbara.gutierrez@aaahq.org).

Members

Name / Affiliation

Contact

Term Length

Term Expires

Chair
Carol Hartley
Providence College

 
chartley@providence.edu

 
2

 
08/2018

Chair-Elect
Cindy Durtschi
DePaul University

 
cdurtsch@depaul.edu

 
2

 
08/2019

Natalie Churyk 
Northern Illinois University

nchuryk@niu.edu

2

08/2018

Mary Fischer
University of Texas-Tyler

mfischer@uttyler.edu

2

08/2018

Lakshmanan (Shiva) Shivakumar
London Business School

lshivakumar@london.edu

2

08/2018

Brian Bushee
University of Pennsylvania

bushee@wharton.upenn.edu

2

08/2019

Paul Munter
KPMG

pmunter@kpmg.com

2

08/2019

Cathy Scott
Navarro College

Cathy.scott@navarrocollege.edu

2

08/2019

Copyright © 1998 - 2017 by American Accounting Association. All rights reserved.