We will be having a planned system upgrade event on Thursday, December 14, 2017 starting at 6:00 am EST. Normal access to the Digital Library, FASB/GASB and COSO login pages, Meeting Registration and Submissions, Manuscript Submissions, the Member Dashboard, and AAA Commons will resume on Friday, December 15th at 6:00 am EST.

Menu

Management Accounting

Objectives

The Management Accounting Section shall strive to stimulate and improve the teaching, researching and practice of accounting that assists in the effective and efficient management of entities. The goals of the Section include the following:

  1. Improve the effectiveness of instruction in management accounting by fostering development, testing and discussion of methods and materials, as well as course offerings;
  2. Encourage research in management accounting by facilitating the exchange of ideas and findings, and through opportunities for exposure of research results;
  3. Increase opportunities for the interchange of ideas among the members of the academic and professional community who are interested in management accounting; and
  4. Encourage capable and promising accounting students to pursue careers in management accounting by enhancing their knowledge of the activities, responsibilities and opportunities offered by such careers.

 

2017-18 Officers

Officer Archives

President
Shane Dikolli
Duke University
The Fuqua School of Business
100 Fuqua Dr, Box 90120
Durham, NC 27708
Phone: (919)660-1949
Email: dikolli@duke.edu

President-Elect
Anne Farrell
Miami University
Dept. of Accountancy
3094 Farmer School of Business
Oxford, OH 45056
Phone: 513-529-1869
Email: Anne.Farrell@MiamiOH.edu


Past President
Kristy Towry
Emory University
Goizueta Sch of Business
1300 Clifton Rd.
Atlanta, GA 30306
Phone: 404-727-4895
Email: ktowry@emory.edu

Secretary/Treasurer
Mina Pizzini
Texas State University
601 University Drive
San Marcos, TX 78666
Phone: (512) 245-2566
Email: wjp23@txstate.edu



Council Representative
Theresa Libby
University of Waterloo
School of Accounting and Finance
Waterloo, ON N2L 3G1
Email: talibby@uwaterloo.ca

 

 

Editors

Journal
Journal of Management Accounting Research
Karen Sedatole
Emory University
Email: JMAReditor@emory.edu

Communications Coordinator
Jason Porter
University of South Dakota
Phone: 605-677-5421
Email: jason.porter@usd.edu

 

Committee Chairpersons

Nominations Chair
Monte Swain
Brigham Young University
Phone: 801-4223-174
Email: monte@byu.edu

Publications Chair
Victor Maas
University of Amsterdam
Email: vmaas@uva.nl


Instructional Resources Committee Co-Chair
Albie Brooks
University of Melbourne
Phone: 0383445305
Email: albieb@unimelb.edu.au

Strategy Advisory Board- Chair
Shane Dikolli
Duke University
Phone: 919-660-1949
Email: dikolli@duke.edu


Lifetime Contribution to Management Accounting Award Chair
Naomi Soderstrom
University of Melbourne
Phone: +61 3 903 57702
Email: naomiss@unimelb.edu.au

Notable Contribution to Management Accounting Literature Award
Alex Bruggen
Maastricht University
Phone: +31(0)43 3884924
Email: a.bruggen@maastrichtuniversity.nl


Membership Outreach
Margaret Shackell
Cornell University
Phone: 607-255-6054
Email: mbs242@cornell.edu

Midyear Meeting Best Teaching Case Award 
Raef Lawson
Institute of Management Accountants 
Phone: 201-474-1532
Email: rlawson@imanet.org


Annual Meeting Best Management Accounting Paper Award 
Susan Kulp
George Washington University
Phone: 202-994-3874
Email: skulp@gwu.edu

Early-Career in Management Accounting Research Award
Dhananjay Nanda
University of Miami
Phone: 305-284-3122
Email: dnanda@bus.miami.edu


Best Management Accounting Dissertation Award 
Raj Mashruwala (Chair)
University of Calgary
Phone: (403) 220-4332
Email: raj.mashruwala@haskayne.ucalgary.ca

Most Impact on Management Accounting Practice Award 
Wim van der Stede
London School of Economics and Political Science
Phone: 0207956695
Email: w.van-der-stede@lse.ac.uk


IMA Jim Bulloch Innovations in Teaching Award
Usha Rackliffe
Emory University
Phone: (404) 727-6270
Email: usha.rackliffe@emory.edu

Midyear Meeting Best Paper Award
Bill Tayler
Brigham Young University
Phone: 801-422-5972
Email: tayler@byu.edu

   
   

 

Meeting Coordinators

2017-2018 Midyear Meeting Co-Director
Michal Matejka
Arizona State University
Email: Michal.Matejka@asu.edu

2017-2018 Midyear Meeting Co-Director
Clara Chen
University of Illinois
Email: cxchen@illinois.edu


2018 IMA Doctoral Colloquium Co-Director
Bart Dierynck
Tilburg University
Phone: +31 13 466 2682
Email: b.dierynck@tilburguniversity.edu

2018 IMA Doctoral Colloquium Co-Director
Andrew Newman
University of South Carolina
Email: andrew.newman@moore.sc.edu


2018 National Meeting Representative
Ivo Tafkov
Georgia State University
Phone: (404) 413-7226
Email: itafkov@gsu.edu

2018 National Meeting Representative
Isabella Grabner
Maastricht University
Phone: +31 43 38 84629
Email: i.grabner@maastrichtuniversity.nl


IMA Liaison
Raef Lawson
Institute of Management Accountants
Phone: 201-474-1532
Email: rlawson@imanet.org

AICPA Liaison
Ken Witt
AICPA
Phone: 919-402-4816
Email: kwitt@aicpa.org

CIMA Liaison
Cristiano Busco
University of Roehampton
Phone: +44 (0)20 8392 3454
Email: Cristiano.Busco@roehampton.ac.uk

CPA Canada Liaison
Ron Guay
Northcentral University
Phone: 954-929-0209
Email: rguay1@att.net


 

 

Regional Directors

International Director
Kari Lukka
University of Turku
Phone: +3582339315
Email: kari.lukka@utu.fi

Mid-Atlantic
Bea Chiang
The College of New Jersey
Phone: 609-771-3056
Email: bchiang@tcnj.edu


Midwest
Jason Brown
Indiana University
Phone: (812) 855-2381
Email: browjaso@indiana.edu

Northeast 
Yvette Lazdowski
Plymouth State University
Phone: 603-535-2524
Email: yjlazdowski@plymouth.edu


Ohio
Amal Said
University of Toledo
Phone: (419) 530-2197
Email:  Amal.Said@utoledo.edu

Southeast 
Maria Leach
University of Southern Mississippi
Phone:  (228) 214-3343
Email: maria.leach@usm.edu


Southwest
Laurie Burney
Baylor University
Phone: (254) 710-6109
Email: Laurie_Burney@baylor.edu

Western
Arindam Tripathy
University of Washington
Phone: 253-692-4523
Email: tripathy@uw.edu


2015-2016 Midyear Meeting Doctoral Consortium Co-Directors

2015-2016 Midyear Meeting Doctoral Consortium Co-Directors

Copyright © 1998 - 2017 by American Accounting Association. All rights reserved.