Menu

Teaching, Learning and Curriculum

Objectives

The Teaching, Learning and Curriculum Section is dedicated to the continual improvement of accounting education, especially through the development of relevant and innovative curricula, a renewed emphasis of effective and efficient instruction, and the exploration of knowledge-organization issues related to accounting programs. Specific objectives include, but are not limited to:

  1. Teaching:
    1. To foster research in methods of learning and their application to the field of accounting instruction;
    2. To stimulate discussion and experimentation in instructional means, methods, and materials in general;
    3. To raise questions and to disseminate knowledge about teaching and teaching-related materials;
    4. To initiate, encourage, and sponsor research in methods of learning and in the improvement of skills and aids used to impart knowledge of accounting and of related fields; and
    5. To provide guidance and opportunities for members to both test and improve their teaching skills and instructional materials.
  2. Curriculum matters:
    1. To encourage continued consideration of and experimentation in all facets of curriculum development for accounting programs; and
    2. To communicate interests, intentions, and information about curriculum developments in accounting programs.
  3. Education:
    1. To encourage a broad definition of scholarship that includes a high priority on teaching and curriculum development;
    2. To provide a forum for the exchange of ideas and findings about developments related to instruction and curriculum issues in accounting education;
    3. To work with other organizations pursuing similar goals; and
    4. To encourage qualified individuals to consider opportunities in accounting education by providing appropriate guidance and knowledge about such careers

 

Officers

Officer Archives

President
Natalie Churyk
Northern Illinois University
Department of Accountancy 
College of Business
DeKalb, Illinois 60115
Phone: 815-753-6210
Email: nchuryk@niu.edu

Past President
Gail Hoover King 
Purdue University Calumet
2200 169th Street
Hammond, IN 46323-2094
Phone: 219-989-2381
Email: ghkingAAA@gmail.com


Vice President-Academic
Cassy Budd
Brigham Young University
523 TNRB
Provo, UT 84602
Phone:(801) 422-5012
Email: cassybudd@byu.edu

Vice President-Practice
Kathy Shoztic
Executive Director, Deloitte Foundation
Deloitte Services LP
Phone: +1-203-761-3248
Email: kshoztic@deloitte.com


Treasurer
Tracie Miller Nobles
Austin Community College
Phone: 512-223-4989
Email: Tracie.nobles@gmail.com

Secretary
Cindy Bolt Lee
The Citadel
Phone: 843-693-5901
Email: cynthia.bolt@citadel.edu


Council Representative
Bambi Hora
University of Central Oklahoma
Phone: 405-974-2156
Email: bhora@uco.edu

 

 

2016-2017 Editors

The Accounting Educator (Newsletter)
Carol Yacht, Author
McGraw-Hill Higher Education
PO BOX A
Jerome, AZ 86331
Phone: 928-634-0603
Email: carol@carolyacht.com 

 

 

2016-2017 Committee Chairpersons

Annual Meeting Program Committee Co-Chair
Markus Ahrens
St. Louis Community College-Meramec
Phone: 314-984-7507
Email: mahrens@stlcc.edu

Annual Meeting Program Committee Co-Chair
Bambi Hora
University of Central Oklahoma
Phone: 405-974-2156
Email: bhora@uco.edu

 
 

Mid-Year Meeting Program Co-Chair
Cassy Budd
Brigham Young University
Phone:(801) 422-5012
Email: cassybudd@byu.edu

Mid-Year Meeting Program Co-Chair
Gail Hoover King 
Purdue University Calumet
Phone:219-989- 2381
Email: ghkingAAA@gmail.com

 
Mid-Year Meeting Program Co-Chair
Natalie Churyk
Northern Illinois University
Phone: 815-753-6210
Email: nchuryk@niu.edu
Webmaster
Rick Lillie
Cal State University - San Bernardino
Phone: 909-537-5726
Email: RLillie@csusb.edu
 

Membership Committee Co-Chair
Kim Church
University of Missouri-Kansas City
Phone: (816) 235-2890
Email: churchk@umkc.edu

Membership Committee Co-Chair
Shaokun (Carol) Yu
Northern Illinois University
Phone: (815) 753-1538
Email: shaokunyu@niu.edu


 

Faculty Development: Research Chair- Group 1
Cathleen Burns
University of Colorado
Phone:  303-726-8091
Email: cathleen.burns@calsco.com

Faculty Development: Research Chair- Group 2
Susan Curtis
University of Illinois-Urbana-Champaign
Phone: 217-333-4529
Email: smcurtis@illinois.edu


 Faculty Development: Teaching Chair- Group 1
Noel Addy
Mississippi State University
Phone: 662- 325-1644
Email: noel.addy@msstate.edu
 Faculty Development: Teaching Chair- Group 2
Parveen Gupta
Lehigh University
Phone: 610- 758-3443
Email: ppg0@lehigh.edu
 

Faculty Development: Teaching Co-Chair- Group 3
Mehmet Kocakulah
University of Southern Indiana- Evansville
Phone: 812- 464-1730
Email: mkocakul@usi.edu

Faculty Development: Teaching Co-Chair- Group 3
Marsha Huber
Youngstown State University
Phone: 330-941-3749
Email: hubercpa@hotmail.com


Faculty Development: Teaching Chair- Group 4
Patricia Johnson
Canisius College
Phone: 716- 888-5947
Email: johnsonp@canisius.edu

Faculty Development: Teaching IFRS
Amy Santos
State College of Florida
Phone: 941- 752-5511
Email: santosa@scf.edu

   

International Outreach Co-Chair
Greg Stoner
University of Glasgow
Phone: +441413305574
Email: shannon.mcallister@glasgow.ac.uk

International Outreach Co-Chair
Norbert Tschakert
Salem State Univeristy
Phone: 619-200-9852
Email: ntschakert@salemstate.edu

   

Membership Committee Co-Chair
Kim Church
University of Missouri- Kansas City
Phone: 816-235-2890
Email: churchk@umkc.edu

Membership Committee Co-Chair
Shaokun (Carol) Yu
Northern Illinois University
Phone: 815- 753-1538
Email: shaokunyu@niu.edu

   

Online Meetings Committee 
Karen Osterheld
Bentley University
Phone: 781-891-2724
Email: kosterheld@bentley.edu

Nominating Committee Chair
Bob Allen
University of Utah
Phone: 801-581-7208
Email:bob.allen@utah.edu



 

2016-2017 Regional Coordinators

TLC Regional Coordinating Committee Chair
Carol Hartley
Providence College
Phone: 401-865-2154
Email: chartley@providence.edu


 
 

Mid-Atlantic Co-Coordinator
Nina Dorata
St. Johns University
Phone: 718-990-7329
Email:doratan@stjohns.edu

Mid-Atlantic Co-Coordinator
Joseph Trainor
St. Johns University
Phone: 718-990-7304
Email:trainorj@stjohns.edu


Midwest Co-Coordinator
Markus Ahrens
St. Louis Community College-Meramec
Phone: 314-984-7507
Email: mahrens@stlcc.edu

Midwest Co-Coordinator
Susan Curtis
University of Illinois-Champaign
Phone: 217-333-4529
Email: smcurtis@illinois.edu


Northeast Co-Coordinator
Carol Hartley
Providence College
Phone: 401-865-2154
Email: chartley@providence.edu

Northeast Co-Coordinator
Yvette Lazdowski
Plymouth State University
Phone: 603-535-2524
Email: yjlazdowski@plymouth.edu


Ohio Co-Coordinator
Mark Holtzblatt
Cleveland State University
Phone:  216-875-9711
Email: m.holtzblatt@csuohio.edu

Ohio Co-Coordinator
Renee Castrigano
Gannon University
Phone: 814-871-5783
Email: castriga001@gannon.edu

   

Southeast Co-Coordinator
Susan Swanger
Western Carolina University
Phone: 828-227-3525
Email: swanger@wcu.edu

Southeast Co-Coordinator
Maureen K. Flores
Troy University Global Campus
Phone: 520- 240-2662
Email: mkflores@troy.edu


Southwest Co-Coordinator
Veronda F. Willis
University of Texas -Tyler
Phone: 903-565-5822
Email: vwillis@uttyler.edu

Southwest Co-Coordinator
Cathy Scott
Navarro College
Phone: 903-875-7535
Email: cathy.scott@navarrocollege.edu


Western Co-Coordinator
Claire Kamm Latham
Washington State University
Phone: 503-697-4512
Email: clatham@vancouver.wsu.edu

Western Co-Coordinator
Aaron M. Williamson, Jr. 
Chaminade University
Phone: 808-739-8592
Email: aaron.williamson@chaminade.edu

 

2017 Awards Committee

Awards Committee Chair
Tracy Manly
University of Tulsa
Phone: 918-631-3992
Email: tracy-manly@utulsa.edu

Susan Curtis
University of Illinois-Urbana- Champaign
Phone: 217- 333-4529
Email:smcurtis@illinois.edu

David E. Stout
Youngstown State University
Phone: (330) 941-3509
Email: destout@ysu.edu

Markus Ahrens
St. Louis Community college
Phone: 314-369-4300
Email: mahrens@stlcc.edu

Bambi Hora
University of Central Oklahoma
Phone: 405-974-2156
Email:bhora@uco.edu

Mark Holtzblatt
Cleveland State University
Phone: 216-875-9711
Email: m.holtzblatt@csuohio.edu

Sara Kern
Gonzaga University
Phone: 509-313-7031
Email: kern@.gonzaga.edu

Carol Yacht, Author
McGraw-Hill Higher Education
Phone: 928-634-0603
Email: carol@carolyacht.com 

Copyright © 1998 - 2017 by American Accounting Association. All rights reserved.