Menu

2018 - 2019 Notable and Distinguished Contributions to Accounting Literature Award Screening Committee

Nominations Deadline: January 31 at 11:59 pm Eastern Time

Charge

Coordinate all activities necessary to screen candidates for the Notable Contributions to Accounting Literature Award and the Distinguished Contributions to Accounting Literature Award. Specifically:

  • Identify works of exceptional merit from published accounting books and articles that meet the criteria for the "Notable Contributions" award.
  • Identify works of exceptional merit from published accounting books and articles that meet the criteria for the "Distinguished Contributions" award.
  • The Screening Committee for the Notable and Distinguished Contributions to Accounting Literature Award shall be encouraged to submit candidates for the Deloitte Foundation Wildman Award to the Deloitte Foundation Wildman Award Committee.
  • Actively seek and submit nominations
  • Review and evaluate nominations
  • Current Committee members who are nominated for the "Notable Contributions" award or the "Distinguished Contributions" award will be asked to either recuse themselves from the Committee or remove their nomination from consideration.
  • All nominees nominated for a given year’s award – who are not selected for that year’s award – will be automatically considered for the award for the following 2 years – as long as the nominated work(s) meets the publishing requirements (see award criteria for details). Nominees who were not selected for the 2018 Notable Contributions to Accounting Literature Award or for the 2018 Distinguished Contributions to Accounting Literature Award will be considered during the selection process for the 2019 Award and, if not chosen for the 2019 Award, will also be considered for the 2020 Award.  At the end of the selection process for the 2020 Award, if a qualified nominee has not been chosen as the award recipient or has not been re-nominated, he/she will no longer be considered for the award. 
  • If the Chair has any questions about the charge or responsibilities of this committee, s/he should contact the Executive Director, the President, or the Committee's Board of Directors Liaison.

Members

Name / Affiliation Contact  Section Term Length Term Expires
Chair

Steve Moehrle
University of Missouri-St. Louis

moehrle@umsl.edu

 



08/2019

Members

Gary Spraakman
York University
Canada

garys@yorku.ca

AAH

1

08/2019

Lisa Gaynor
University of South Florida

lgaynor@coba.usf.edu

ABO

1

08/2019

Eileen Z. Taylor
North Carolina State

eztaylor@ncsu.edu

AIS

1

08/2019

Teresa Conover
University of South Florida

tconover@mail.usf.edu

APLG

1

08/2019

Lil Mills
The University of Texas at Austin

lillian.mills@mccombs.utexas.edu

ATA

08/2019

Robert Knechel
University of Florida

w.knechel@warrington.ufl.edu

AUD

 1

 08/2019

Nerissa Brown
University of Illinois Urbana, Champaign

nerissab@illinois.edu

DIV

 1

 08/2019

Brian Bratten
University of Kentucky

brian.bratten@uky.edu

FARS

 1

08/2019

Dana Hermanson
Kennesaw State University

dhermans@kennesaw.edu

FAS

 1

 08/2019

Bambi Hora
University of Central Oklahoma

bhora@uco.edu

GIWB

 2

 08/2019

Saleha Khumawala
University of Houston

saleha@uh.edu

GNP

 1

 08/2019

Ole-Kristian Hope
University of Toronto

okhope@rotman.utoronto.ca

IAS

 1

 08/2019

Lynn Hannan
Tulane University

rhannan@tulane.edu

MAS

 1

 08/2019

Vaughan Radcliffe
Western University
Canada

vradcliffe@ivey.uwo.ca

PI

 1

 08/2019

Faye Borthick
Georgia State University

borthick@gsu.edu

SET

1

08/2019

Martha Eining
The University of Utah

martha.eining@business.utah.edu

TLC

 1

 08/2019

Sidney Askew
CUNY-Borough of Manhattan Community College

saskew@bmcc.cuny.edu

TWO-YEAR

2

08/2019

Board of Directors Liaison

Marc DeFond
University of Southern California
Vice President–Research & Publications

defond@marshall.usc.edu

 

 

 

Expected Time Commitment

  • September 1 – January 31 – actively seek and submit nominations
  • February – March 2 – review nominations, participate on conference calls and email discussions at the discretion of the Chair
  • Select a set of nominees for the Distinguished Contribution to Accounting Literature Award based on the award criteria
  • Select a set of nominees for the Notable Contributions to Accounting Literature Award based on the award criteria
  • By March 2nd, notify the Professional Staff Liaison at awards@aaahq.org of the set of nominees to be forwarded to the Selection Committee for the Distinguished Contribution Award
  • By March 2nd, notify the Professional Staff Liaison at awards@aaahq.org of the set of nominees to be forwarded to the Selection Committee for the Notable Contributions Award

 

Roles & Responsibilities Timeline

Chair and Committee Members Responsibilities

September - January February – March 2 June
  • Actively seek and submit nominations
  • Review nominations, participate on conference calls and email discussions, at the discretion of the Chair
  • Chair is allowed to vote in the award committee's deliberations.
  • Select a set of nominees for the Distinguished Contribution to Accounting Literature Award based on the award criteria
  • Select a set of nominees for the Notable Contributions to Accounting Literature Award based on the award criteria
  • By March 2nd, notify the Professional Staff Liaison at barbara.gutierrez@aaahq.org of the set of nominees to be forwarded to the Selection Committee for the Distinguished Contribution Award
  • By March 2nd, notify the Professional Staff Liaison at barbara.gutierrez@aaahq.org of the set of nominees to be forwarded to the Selection Committee for the Notable Contributions Award
  • The Chair will have the opportunity to prepare and send a progress report in June which will be available for the Board of Directors to review at their August meeting. This report should include accomplishments and suggested modifications and should be sent to the AAA President, the Committee's Board of Directors Liaison, and Professional Staff Liaison, Barbara Gutierrez. (barbara.gutierrez@aaahq.org)

AAA Professional Staff Responsibilities

Committee Composition/Required Knowledge and Expertise

  • Care should be taken that the Committee include members with a range of expertise who are knowledgeable about unique and substantive scholarship in accounting.
  • Care should be taken that the Committee include members with a range of expertise who are knowledgeable about exceptional, current, accounting research.
  • The Committee must include a representative from each of the AAA Sections.
Copyright © 1998 - 2018 by American Accounting Association. All rights reserved.