Menu

2018 - 2019 Governance Committee

(Formerly Bylaws Committee)

Charge

  • To review proposed amendments to the Association's governing documents to assure clarity, consistency, and legal compliance, and advise the Board of Directors on changes in the governing documents.

Membership

  • The Committee shall consist of nine members, including the Chair, each of whom shall normally serve a three-year term, with one-third of the Committee members appointed each year.
  • The President-Elect is an ex-officio member of the governance committee.

Meetings

  • The Committee meets as needed.

Responsibilities

  • Fulfill the committee charter as above.
  • If the Chair has any questions about the charge or responsibilities of this committee, s/he should contact the Executive Director, the President, or the committee's Board of Directors Liaison.
  • The Chair will have the opportunity three times every term-year to prepare and send a progress report which will be available for the Board of Directors to review at their next meeting. This report should include accomplishments and suggested modifications and should be sent to the AAA President, the committee's Board of Directors Liaison, and Governance Manager, Barbara Gutierrez (barbara.gutierrez@aaahq.org).

Members

Name / Affiliation Contact Term Length Term Expires

Chair
Sandy Callaghan
Texas Christian University

s.callaghan@tcu.edu

 

2


08/2020

Ex-Officio Member
President-Elect
Terry Shevlin
University of California-Irvine



tshevlin@uci.edu

 

1

 

08/2019

Bob Allen
The University of Utah

bob.allen@utah.edu

3

08/2019

Beth Kern
Indiana University South Bend

bkern@iusb.edu

 2

 08/2019

Patricia M.Poli
Fairfield University

ppoli@fairfield.edu

 1

 08/2019

Urton Anderson
The University of Kentucky

urton.anderson@uky.edu

 2

08/2020 

Roger D. Martin
University of Virginia

rdm3h@virginia.edu 

3

08/2020

Mark Higgins
Saint Louis University

Markhiggins@slu.edu

 3

 08/2021

Linda Parsons
University of Alabama-Tuscaloosa

lparsons@cba.ua.edu 

 3

 08/2021

Doug Prawitt
Brigham Young University

prawitt@byu.edu

 3

08/2021

Board of Directors Liaison
Terry Shevlin
University of California-Irvine

 

tshevlin@uci.edu

 



Copyright © 1998 - 2018 by American Accounting Association. All rights reserved.