Management Accounting Section

This award recognizes an outstanding contribution to the management accounting literature. The award provides a cash prize of $1,000 and plaque to the winner

Eligibility and Application Procedures:
Any work published within the past five years (2012-2016) is eligible for this award. We will consider books, monographs, and journal articles on management accounting topics. We will employ the following criteria in determining the recipient.

  1. Relevance to theory, practice, or instruction of management accounting.
  2. Broad appeal to those interested in management accounting.
  3. Originality, innovativeness, and potential contribution to knowledge.
  4. Impact or potential impact on other research.

No preference will be given to single-authored work. Any member of the American Accounting Association can nominate a work. To nominate a work for the 2017 award, please send a PDF file of the article, or a copy of the monograph or the book, and a short paragraph stating the reasons for nomination to the Chair of the Awards Committee (see below). Nominations for books or monographs will not be considered unless they are provided free of charge to all committee members. Self-nominations are permitted. Works in languages other than English must be translated prior to submission. Submitted works will not be returned.

Membership of the Award Committee:
The Literature Award is made by the Notable Contributions to the Literature Award Committee of the Management Accounting Section. The Committee consists of the following members:

S. Mark Young (University of Southern California - Chair)
Tony Chen (Peking University)
Steve Hansen (Naval Postgraduate School)
Eva Labro (University of North Carolina)
Lynn Hannan (Tulane University)

The chair of the Literature Award Committee is . Mark Young. All completed nominations should be forwarded by April 1, 2017 to his attention at:

Selection Process:
The Committee will review the submissions and determine the Award winner. The award winners will be notified in July.

Presentation of Award:
The Award will be presented at the AAA Annual Meeting during the Management Accounting Section business luncheon.

Prior Award Winners

Copyright © 1998 - 2017 by American Accounting Association. All rights reserved.