Home AAA Home Print Links Contact Us
Management Accounting Section of the American Accounting Association

Management Accounting Section
Notable Contributions to Management Accounting Literature Award


This award recognizes an outstanding contribution to the management accounting literature. The award provides a cash prize of $1,000 and plaque to the winner.

Eligibility and Application Procedures:

Any work published within the past five years (2008-2012) is eligible for this award. We will consider books, monographs, and journal articles on management accounting topics. We will employ the following criteria in determining the recipient.

  1. Relevance to theory, practice, or instruction of management accounting.
  2. Broad appeal to those interested in management accounting.
  3. Originality, innovativeness, and potential contribution to knowledge.
  4. Impact or potential impact on other research.

No preference will be given to single-authored work. Any member of the American Accounting Association can nominate a work. To nominate a work for the 2013 award, please send a Word or a PDF file of the article, or a copy of the monograph or the book and a short paragraph stating the reasons for nominations to the Chair of the Awards Committee. Nominations for books or monographs will not be considered unless they are provided free of charge to all committee members. Self nominations are encouraged and are welcome. Works in languages other than English must be translated prior to submission. Submitted works will not be returned.

Membership of the Award Committee:

The Literature Award is made by the Notable Contributions to the Literature Award Committee of the Management Accounting Section. Typically, the Committee consists of five (5) members, including the Chair, serving one (1) year terms.

Selection of Committee Members:

The President-Elect of the Section appoints the Chair of the Literature Award Committee to serve for the following academic year. The appointment begins at the Annual Meeting of the AAA. The Chair of the Committee appoints the other committee members.

Award Committee and Mailing Address:

The chair of the Literature Award Selection Committee is Sally Widener. All completed applications should be forwarded by March 1, 2013 (via hard copy or as file attachment to an e-mail) to:

Sally Widener
Rice University
Phone: 713 348 3596
Email: widener@rice.edu

Selection Process:

The Committee will review the submissions and determine the Award winner. The award winners will be notified in July.

Presentation of Award:

The Award will be presented at the AAA Annual Meeting during the Management Accounting Section business luncheon.

Prior Award Winners