Menu

Western

The Western Region of the American Accounting Association consists of Alaska, Arizona, California, Colorado, Hawaii, Idaho, Montana, Nevada, Oregon, Utah, Washington, and Wyoming.

Objectives

The Western Region ascribes to the goals and objectives stated in Article II of the American Accounting Association By-Laws. Our primary goal is to create a community of peers who value scholarship, academic improvement, and creativity. It is our goal to encourage exchange of ideas among our members related to accounting research, education, and environmental forces facing the profession. More specifically, we strive to:

  1. Facilitate a broad-based member participation in the activities and programs of the American Accounting Association;
  2. Sponsor broad-based research and educational programs for the benefit of its members;
  3. Offer continuing education programs that shall be coordinated with the AAA's director of education;
  4. Tailor each meeting to the specific needs and desires of the regional members, and strive to draw on the talents of a broad spectrum of members in the Region; and
  5. Publish the proceedings of each meeting.

Officers

President
David G DeBoskey
San Diego State University
School of Accountancy
5500 Campanile Drive, Room SSE2401
San Diego, CA 92182-8221
Phone: 619-594-2376
deboskey@mail.sdsu.edu

Past President
Alan Styles
California State University - San Marcos
Col of Bus Admn, Markstein Hall
333 S. Twin Oaks Valley Road
San Marcos, CA 92096-0001
Phone: 760-750-4251
astyles@csusm.edu

   

President-Elect
Sara Kern
Gonzaga University
106 W. Moran View Ave
Spokane, WA 99224
Phone: 509-313-7031
kern@gonzaga.edu

Secretary/Treasurer
Robin Clement
University of Oregon
1208 University of Oregon
Lindquist COB 1208/ Dept of Accounting
Eugene, OR 97403
Phone: 541-346-3295
rclement@uoregon.edu

   

 

Council Representative
Alan Styles
California State University - San Marcos
Col of Bus Admn, Markstein Hall
333 S. Twin Oaks Valley Road
San Marcos, CA 92096-0001
Phone: 760-750-4251
astyles@csusm.edu

Strategic Region Leader Committee Representatives

David G DeBoskey
San Diego State University
School of Accountancy
5500 Campanile Drive, Room SSE2401
San Diego, CA 92182-8221
Phone: 619-594-2376
deboskey@mail.sdsu.edu

Alan Styles
California State University - San Marcos
Col of Bus Admn, Markstein Hall
333 S. Twin Oaks Valley Road
San Marcos, CA 92096-0001
Phone: 760-750-4251
astyles@csusm.edu

 

2016 Western Region Meeting Program Committee

2016 Program Chair
Sara Kern
Gonzaga University
Phone: 509-313-7031
kern@gonzaga.edu

2016 Paper Chair
Angela Woodland
Montana State University
Phone: 406-994-2653
awoodland@montana.edu

2016 Assistant Paper Chair
Robin Clements
University of Oregon
Phone: 541-346-3295
rclement@uoregon.edu

     

 

Doctoral Student/Faculty Interchange Coordinator
Yonca Ertimur
University of Colorado-Boulder
Phone: (303) 492-4292
yonca.ertimur@colorado.edu

 

Subcommittees

Membership Engagement
Subcommittee
Chair, Sara Kern, Gonzaga University, kern@gonzaga.edu
Matt Hoag, Gonzaga University, hoag@gonzaga.edu
Daniel O’Leary, University of Southern California, oleary@usc.edu
Nancy Mangold, California State University – East Bay, nancy.mangold@csueastbay.edu
Jiani Wang, Temple University, wangjianiwjn@gmail.com
Pat Seaton, University of Northern Colorado, Lloyd.seaton@unco.edu
Carolyn Galantine, Pepperdine University, Carolyn.galantine@pepperdine.edu

Awards Subcommittee
Co-Chair, Tina Zamora, Seattle University, zamorava@seattleu.edu
Co-Chair, Peter Demerjian, University of Washington, pdemerj@uw.edu
Casey McNellis, University of Montana, casey.mcnellis@umontana.edu
Lorenzo Patelli, University of Denver, Lorenzo.Patelli@du.edu
Barry Mishra, University of California – Riverside, Mishra@ucr.edu
Ji Li, California State University – Bakersfield,jli7@csub.edu
Bruce Neumann, University of Colorado – Denver, Bruce.Neumann@ucdenver.edu
Peng Chia, Chinese University of Hong Kong, chiupc@baf.cuhk.edu.hk
Lynn Johnson, California State University – Stanislaus, ljohnson3@csustan.edu
Angela Woodland, Montana State University, awoodland@montana.edu

   

CPE/Industry Tour Subcommittee
Chair, Matt Hoag, Gonzaga University, hoag@gonzaga.edu
Sara Kern, Gonzaga University, kern@gonzaga.edu
Christine Kloezeman, Glendale Community College, ckloezem@prodigy.net
Casey McNellis, University of Montana, casey.mcnellis@umontana.edu
Jim Reisdorf, Tacoma Community College, jreisdorf@tacomacc.edu
Xiaoli Ortega, Utah Valley University, Xiaoli.Ortega@uvu.edu

CTLA Subcommittee
Chair, Robin Clement, University of Oregon, rclement@uoregon.edu
Christine Kuglin, Denver – Metro State University, ckuglin@msudenver.edu
Melissa Larson, Brigham Young University, Melissa_larson@byu.edu
Xiaoli Ortega, Utah Valley University, Xiaoli.Ortega@uvu.edu
Bob Jinkens, University of Hawaii – Manoa, jinkens@hawaii.edu
Cecilia Lin, University of Portland, lin@up.edu
Rajib Doogar, University of Washington – Bothell, doogar@uw.edu

   

 

Sharpen Your Teaching Skills Subcommittee
Chair, Robin Clement, University of Oregon, rclement@uoregon.edu
Cassy Budd, Brigham Young University, cassybudd@byu.edu
Christine Kuglin, Denver – Metro State University, ckuglin@msudenver.edu
Nancy Mangold, California State University – East Bay, nancy.mangold@csueastbay.edu
Arjan Sadhwani, South University, asadhwani@southuniversity.edu
Usha Ramanujam, Portland Community College, usha.ramanujam@pcc.edu

Past Presidents and Region Meeting Locations

Year President Affiliation Meeting Location
1966 Warren C. Bray University of California, Berkeley Berkeley, CA
       
1967 William Niven San Francisco State University San Francisco, CA
       
1968 A. N. Mosich University of Southern California Los Angeles, CA
       
1969 John W. Buckley University of California, Los Angeles Los Angeles, CA
       
1970 Thomas W. Porter University of Washington Seattle, WA
       
1971 Richard Strahlem University of Nevada, Las Vegas Las Vegas, NV
       
1972 Allan P. Johnson California State University, Hayward Hayward, CA
       
1973 Robert W. Vanasse California State University, Fullerton Fullerton, CA
       
1974 Baqar A. Zaidi California State University, Sacramento Sacramento, CA
       
1975 James M. Fremgen Naval Postgraduate School Monterey, CA
       
1976 Joe R. Fritzemeyer Arizona State University Phoenix, AZ
       
1977 Joseph E. Mori San Jose State University San Jose, CA
       
1978 Earl K. Cobb California State University, Los Angeles Los Angeles, CA
       
1979 Benjamin L. Smith University of Nevada, Reno Reno, NV
       
1980 Kevin M. Lightner San Diego State University San Diego, CA
       
1981 Elwyn L. Christensen California State University, Fresno Fresno, CA
       
1982 D. Dale Bandy California State University, Fullerton Fullerton, CA
       
1983 Steven M. Mintz San Francisco State University San Francisco, CA
       
1984 Russell M. Barefield University of Arizona Tucson, AZ
       
1985 Wayne A. Label University of San Diego San Diego, CA
       
1986 Marcus F. Massoud Claremont McKenna College Newport Beach, CA
       
1987 Amin A. Elmallah California State University, Sacramento Sacramento, CA
       
1988 Kenneth J. Euske Naval Postgraduate School Monterey, CA
       
1989 Ronald A. Milne University of Nevada, Las Vegas Las Vegas, NV
       
1990 Jeffrey L. Harkins University of Idaho Coeur d'Alene, ID
       
1991 J. Hal Reneau Arizona State University Phoenix, AZ
       
1992 James F. Sepe Santa Clara University San Jose, CA
       
1993 Robert J. Capettini San Diego State University San Diego, CA
       
1994 Mary Alice Seville Oregon State University Portland, OR
       
1995 Shahid L. Ansari California State University, Northridge Palm Desert, CA
       
1996 Betty M. Chavis University of Wyoming Jackson Hole, WY
       
1997 Ahmad Hosseini Sonoma State University Rohnert Park, CA
       
1998 Judith A. Ramaglia Pacific Lutheran University Seattle, WA
       
1999 John E. Karayan California State University, Pomona Newport Beach, CA
       
2000 Kevin H. McBeth Weber State University Salt Lake City, Utah
       
2001 Robert E. Holtfreter Central Washington University San Jose, California
       
2002 Lela D. (Kitty) Pumphrey Idaho State University San Diego, CA
       
2003 Cherie J. O'Neil Colorado State University Breckenridge, CO
       
2004 Sheldon R. Smith Utah Valley State College Newport Beach, CA
       
2005 John C. Corless California State University, Sacramento Sacramento, CA
       
2006 Benjamin Y. Tai California State University, Fresno Portland,OR
       
2007 Peter Frischmann Idaho State University Costa Mesa, CA
       
2008 Jeanne H. Yamamura University of Nevada, Reno San Francisco, CA
       
2009 Kate Lancaster California Polytechnic State University San Diego, CA
       
2010 Martha Doran San Diego State University Portland, OR
       
2011 Anne L. Christensen Montana State University-Bozeman Newport Beach, CA
Copyright © 1998 - 2017 by American Accounting Association. All rights reserved.