2018 Mid-Atlantic Region Meeting


David Burgstahler, AAA Board Past President, Julius A. Roller Professor of Accounting at the University of Washington
Plenary Speaker, Saturday, May 12, 8:20 am – 8:50 am
Pathways to a Sustainable Future

David Burgstahler is the current Past-President of the American Accounting Association, and is the Julius A. Roller Professor of Accounting at the University of Washington. David has taught at the University of Washington since 1981, where he previously served as Acting Dean in the School of Business and Associate Dean for Masters Programs and Executive Education. He earned his Ph.D. from The University of Iowa. David has published widely in peer-reviewed journals including The Accounting Review, Auditing: A Journal of Practice & Theory, Issues in Accounting Education, and Contemporary Accounting Research. He is currently an Editor of The Accounting Review, serves on the Editorial Board of Journal of Governmental and Nonprofit Accounting, and served as Associate Editor (1997-2000) and Editorial Board Member (2000-04) of Accounting Horizons, The Accounting Review (1983-86) and (1992-2003), Auditing: A Journal of Practice & Theory (multiple years) and on the Editorial Board of several other peer-reviewed journals.

David has over thirty years experience teaching, has served on over fifty Ph.D. Supervisory Committees, thirty Doctoral Dissertation Reading Committees, and has presented his research at over sixty-five conferences.  He has received numerous awards for teaching excellence and is the recipient of the University of Washington’s Schoeller Senior Fellow (2014-15), AAA’s Notable Contributions to Accounting Literature Award (2002), Beta Alpha Psi Professor of the Year (multiple years) and has been awarded numerous faculty fellowships and research grants.


Yvonne L. Hinson, Ph.D. CPA, CGMA
Lunch Speaker, Friday, May 11, 12:00 pm - 1:30 pm
AICPA Academic and Student Engagement: Research, Strategy and Resources Update

Yvonne Hinson is the Academic in Residence and Senior Director with the AICPA; a position created to foster closer relationships with universities and faculty.  She began her accounting career with Arthur Andersen in Charlotte, NC.  After returning to the University of Tennessee to pursue her Ph.D., Yvonne accepted a position with Wake Forest University.  During her over 18 year career at WFU she served as a faculty member, Director of Graduate Studies, Director of Accountancy and Dean of Charlotte Programs.   Yvonne has served on numerous academic and community committees and nonprofit Boards and is a past President of the Federation of Schools of Accountancy and past Chair of the AAA Membership Advisory Committee. Her research has been published in both academic and practitioner journals.  She earned her BS in accounting and MBA from UNC Charlotte.




Edmund Outslay
Plenary Speaker, Friday, May 11, 9:15 am - 10:15 am
Perspective on High-Quality Teaching from the Cook Prize Winners

Edmund Outslay is a Professor of Accounting and the Deloitte/Michael Licata Endowed Professor of Taxation in the Department of Accounting and Information Systems at Michigan State University, where he has taught since 1981. His primary teaching and research interests are in accounting for income taxes, international taxation, and mergers and acquisitions.  He currently teaches integrated classes in business combinations and consolidations, multinational taxation and accounting, and accounting for income taxes.  Professor Outslay is active in the doctoral program, mentoring students with an interest in tax accounting.  He is the co-author of three tax textbooks.  He has presented to the Treasury, IRS, Office of Tax Analysis and testified before the Senate Finance Committee.

Michigan State has honored Professor Outslay with the Presidential Award for Outstanding Community Service, Distinguished Faculty Award, John D. Withrow Teacher-Scholar Award, Senior Class Council Distinguished Faculty Award, and the MSU Teacher-Scholar Award.  He was one of the initial recipients of the MSU Curricular Service-Learning and Civic Engagement Award.  Outslay received the lifetime Ray M. Sommerfeld Outstanding Tax Educator Award and the Distinguished Service Award from the American Tax Association (ATA) and the Distinguished Achievement in Accounting Education Award from the Michigan Association of CPAs.  He also received the ATA Teaching Innovation Award for his innovative approach to integrating the teaching of tax and financial accounting.  Professor Outslay has served as president of the ATA and as editor of the Journal of the American Tax Association.

Copyright © 1998 - 2018 by American Accounting Association. All rights reserved.