2018 Western Region Meeting



Anne L. Christensen, AAA President, Montana State University-Bozeman
Plenary Speaker, Saturday, April 14, 8:20 am - 8:50 am
Pathways to a Sustainable Future

Anne Christensen is a Professor of Accounting in the Jake Jabs College of Business & Entrepreneurship at Montana State University, where she has served as Director of the Master of Professional Accountancy Program, Director of the Volunteer Income Tax Assistance (VITA) program, a member of the Graduate Council, and on the University Service Learning Advisory Board. She was previously a member of the faculty at Portland State University. Anne earned her Ph.D. from the University of Utah.

Anne has published in a number of peer-reviewed journals including Issues in Accounting Education, The Journal of the American Taxation AssociationATA Journal of Legal Tax ResearchAdvances in Accounting EducationJournal of Business Ethics, Financial Accountability and Management, and Advances in Taxation. She has served on Editorial Boards for Issues in Accounting Education, Accounting Horizons, Journal of the American Taxation Association, and Journal of Accounting Education.

Anne is currently serving as the President of the American Accounting Association (AAA).  In the past she served as the AAA Director-Focusing on Segments and on AAA’s Sharpening Our Vision Taskforce I and II. She is a member of AAA’s ABOATA, and TLC Sections. During her career she served on AAA Council and as President and Program Chair of the Western Region, as PresidentVice President, and Trustee of the ATA, as Chair of ATA’s Publication CommitteeATA/Deloitte Teaching Innovation Awards CommitteeAccreditation & Curriculum Issues CommitteeAwards Committee, and Nominations Committee. She has served on the AAA Strategic Region Leader Committee as Co-Chair, and as a member of the Council Committee on Awards Committee, Deloitte Wildman Award CommitteeAAA Journals Task Force, and AAA Nominations Committee.

Anne has twenty-eight years’ teaching experience and has received twelve awards for academic excellence including Montana State University’s President’s Excellence in Teaching Award and President’s Award for Excellence in Service Learning; the College’s Distinguished Faculty Award and Dean’s Award for Outstanding Performance in Service, and the ATA’s Ray M. Sommerfeld Outstanding Tax Educator Award and the ATA Outstanding Service Award.


Billie M. Cunningham, University of Missouri's School of Accountancy
Plenary Speaker, Friday, April 13, 9:15 am - 10:15 am
Well, THAT Didn't Work. How Purposeful, Systematic and Continuous Improvement Has Kept Me from Throwing the Baby Out with the Bathwater (and other ways it has affected my teaching): Perspectives on Effective Teaching

Billie M. Cunningham is the EY Teaching Scholar and a Teaching Professor at the University of Missouri’s School of Accountancy. She holds a B.B.A., M.B.A., and Ph.D. from the University of North Texas. Cunningham has taught more than 24,000 students in the undergraduate introductory accounting courses and the M.B.A. accounting course. She has received numerous awards in recognition of her teaching including most recently, the 2016 American Accounting Association/J. Michael and Mary Anne Cook / Deloitte Foundation Prize and, at the University of Missouri, the 2017 William T. Kemper Fellowship for Teaching Excellence. She is a co-author of Accounting Information for Business Decisions. Cunningham’s research studies effective ways to help students develop their critical thinking skills and how to use action research as a systematic, evidence-based means of measuring the effectiveness of one’s teaching strategies and classroom environment. Her research has been recognized with awards from the TYC and TLC Sections. Cunningham has served as President of both the TYC and TLC Sections, and as AAA Vice-President Academic She has served on the AICPA Pre-Certification Education Executive Committee and as President of the Missouri Association of Accounting Educators. She serves on editorial boards of IAE and AEI, and is the current CTLA Co-Chair.

Copyright © 1998 - 2018 by American Accounting Association. All rights reserved.