# Management Accounting Section Holds Organizational Business Meeting

The Management Accounting Section held its organizational business meeting in San Diego at the annual meeting of the association. A coordinating committee of 27 was elected to move forward on organizing the section during fiscal 1982-83. Bill Ferrara of Penn State was elected chairperson. Annual dues of \$10 were also approved.

At its initial meeting in San Diego the coordinating committee organized itself into six task forces with the following chairpersons and tasks.

#### By Laws

Thomas Klammer, North Texas State University.
To develop and propose a set of by-laws plus a statement of objectives to be approved at our August 1983 meeting.

#### Newsletter

Floyd Windal, University of Georgia. To develop a format, etc. for our newsletter.

## Membership

S. Herbert Rubin, Clarkson College.
To develop a program for promoting membership regionally, nationally, internationally and with non-academics as well as academics.

### Meetings

Donald Madden, University of Kentucky. To develop a proposed format for our share or addition to national and regional meetings.

### Instructional

James Fremgen, Naval Postgraduate School. To develop a format for a course syllabi and examination data bank plus a data bank on computer programs used in teaching management accounting.

#### Research

Germain Boer, Vanderbilt University.

To develop a format for a classified data bank of completed and in process research projects in management accounting.

Each task force is committed to exchanging information on their progress prior to a December meeting of the coordinating committee. At that time additional tasks may be assigned and/or current tasks may be expanded. Eithe way the coordinating committee is committed to having an elected set of secti officers take charge of a very well organized section as of August 1983.

If any interested person has any ideas on the above task forces or any other ideas relative to our new section do not hesitate to contact Bill Ferra the above mentioned task force chairpersons or any of the other coordinating committee members listed on the following page.

Henry Anderson, California State University - Fullerton Phil Blanchard, Fairleigh Dickinson University Terry Campbell, University of Central Florida James Bulloch, Institute of Management Accounting Robert Cappetini, Duke University John Caspari, Bradley University Donald Clancy, Texas Tech University Frank Dougherty, St. Mary's University (Halifax, N.S.) John Hardy, Brigham Young University Ronald Hartley, Bowling Green State University Mike Haselkorn, Bentley College Felix Kollaritsch, Ohio State University Shane Moriarty, University of Oklahoma Wayne Morse, University of Tennessee A. Tom Nelson, University of Utah Martin Putterill, University of Auckland (N.Z.) Emanuel Schwartz, San Francisco State University S. Sam Sedki, St. Mary's University of San Antonio Helen Traugh, University of Alabama - Birmingham Harold Wyman, University of Connecticut T.E. Zaher, Bucks County Community College (Pa.)