web server statistics
American Accounting Association

2013–2014 Slate of Officers for the Board of Directors

In implementing the Bylaws changes approved by member vote in Spring 2011, the AAA now holds contested elections. Accordingly, at least two competing candidates for each position will be presented to the membership for a vote.

Also passed by the Bylaws revision is the Governance Review Task Force recommendation that the Council’s role be strengthened through establishing three-year terms, and that each year the standing Council Ballot Committee (CBC) will choose candidates for one position on the Board of Directors (BOD) ballot (so that once that cycle is complete, three members of the BOD will come from Council nominations).

The 2012-2013 Nominations Committee, tasked with putting forth the slate of candidates for President – Elect, Vice President – Finance-Elect, and Director – Focusing on Intellectual Property, announces the following candidates:


  • A. Rashad Abdel-khalik, University of Illinois at Urbana–Champaign
  • Christine Botosan, The University of Utah

Vice-President - Finance-Elect

  • Stephen Moehrle, University of Missouri-St. Louis
  • James Young, Northern Illinois University

Director – Focusing on Intellectual Property

  • Martha Eining, The University of Utah
  • Robert Lipe, The University of Oklahoma

The 2012-2013 Council Ballot Committee, tasked with putting forth the slate of candidates for Director – Focusing on Academic/Practitioner Interaction, announces the following candidates:

Director – Focusing on Academic/Practitioner Interaction

  • Shaun Budnik, Deloitte LLP
  • Scott Showalter, North Carolina State University

New officers will serve on the Board of Directors for three years beginning at the Annual Meeting in August 2013 in Anaheim, California.

Voting Process

  • According to the AAA Bylaws, the election shall take place by mail, facsimile, or electronic vote of the members.

  • Regular and Life members of the Association are eligible to vote in elections conducted by the Association; however, Student members are not eligible to participate in the Association election process.

  • Online voting shall take place between Monday, March 4, 2013 and Tuesday, April 2, 2013 at 11:59 pm Eastern Daylight Time (EDT). (Detailed voting instructions will be provided later via the AAA website and multi-topic emails.)

  • Paper ballots will be mailed to all members 1) without a valid email address and 2) who are on the AAA "do not email" list (who have opted out of receiving emails).

  • Consistent with the AAA Bylaws, additional nominations may be made by a petition signed by not less than one hundred (100) members of the Association submitted to the Executive Director at the AAA headquarters office at 5717 Bessie Drive, Sarasota, FL 34233-2399, and received no later than 11:59 pm Eastern Standard Time (EST) on Wednesday, January 16, 2013. Persons so nominated must have previously agreed to serve if elected. The membership of the Association shall be notified prior to the election of the nominations made by petition.

  • The AAA website, the Winter issue of the Accounting Education News, and the Officer Ballot will include biographies and photos of the nominees, including any nominated by petition.

Nominations Committee (per AAA Bylaws)
The AAA Nominations Committee shall consist of the two most recent Past Presidents willing and able to serve and five members elected by the Council. The five elected members cannot be current members of either the Council or the Board of Directors. The Nominations Committee shall be chaired by the most senior, in service, of the Past Presidents serving. Members of the Nominations Committee are not eligible for nomination. Members of the 2012-2013 Nominations Committee are: Kevin Stocks, Chair, AAA Past President, Brigham Young University; Greg Waymire, AAA Past President, Emory University; Mary Fisher, University of Texas-Tyler; Kathryn Kadous, Emory University; Larry Parker, Case Western Reserve University; Jenice Prather-Kinsey, University of Alabama-Birmingham; and Paula Thomas, Middle Tennessee State University.

Council Ballot Committee (per AAA Bylaws)
In 2011, Council decided that the Council Ballot Committee (CBC) should function as a "committee of the whole." Each year the CBC will choose at least two names to appear on the ballot for one position on the Board of Directors ballot. When a three-year cycle is completed, three members on the BOD will come from Council nominations. The standing Council Ballot Committee, established with the Bylaws revision, is comprised of all Council members with the exception of the Board of Directors. Hughlene Burton, University of North Carolina-Charlotte, chaired the 2012-2013 CBC.

Many thanks to the Nominations Committee, chaired by Kevin Stocks, and the Council Ballot Committee, chaired by Hughlene Burton, for completing the important task of creating the contested slate for the AAA Board of Directors.

If you have any questions, please contact Barbara Gutierrez, Committee Coordinator, at barbara.gutierrez@aaahq.org or (941) 556-4117.


© 2013 American Accounting Association All rights reserved.