web server statistics
American Accounting Association

2003–2004 AAA Section, Group, and Region Officers


American Taxation Association

Membership: 1,019

Dues: $35

ATA Home Page

Objectives Officers Trustees
Council Representative Editors Committee Chairpersons
Regional Coordinators   Future Meeting
 

Objectives

  1. To foster the dissemination and publication of information on taxation.
  2. To promote tax educational activities including (but not limited to) curriculum, education-related materials, graduate tax programs, and tax accreditation matters.
  3. To provide an interface among academic disciplines (e.g., law, economics, and accounting) relative to the cross-fertilization and development of tax-oriented educational programs.
  4. To promote research activities involving tax policy, tax proposals, and tax legislation.
  5. To encourage the interaction of academics with tax practitioners and tax professional organizations in professional service activities of mutual interest.

top of page

2003–2004 Officers

President
Dave N. Stewart
School of Accountancy and Information Systems
Marriott School of Management
Brigham Young University
528 TNRB
Provo, UT 84602-3068
Phone: (801) 422-2365
Fax: (801) 422-5933
Email: dstewart@byu.edu

President-Elect
Frances L. Ayres
School of Accounting
University of Oklahoma
307 W. Brooks #200
Norman, OK 73019-4004
Phone: (405) 325-5768
Fax: (405) 325-7348
Email: fayres@ou.edu

Vice President
Mark Higgins
Accounting Faculty
College of Business Administration
University of Rhode Island
7 Lippitt Road
Kingston, RI 02881-0802
Phone: (401) 874-4244
Fax: (401) 874-4312
Email: markhiggins@uri.edu

Vice President-Elect
Hughlene A. Burton
Department of Accounting
College of Business Administration
University of North Carolina at Charlotte
9201 University City Boulevard
Charlotte, NC 28223-0001
Phone: (704) 547-2117
Fax: (704) 510-6938
Email: haburton@email.uncc.edu

Secretary
Susan E. Anderson
Department of Accounting
Walker College of Business Administration
Appalachian State University
Boone, NC 28608-2013
Phone: (828) 262-2036
Fax: (828) 262-6640
Email: sanderson9@triad.rr.com

Treasurer
Gary A. McGill
College of Business Administration
University of Florida
Gainesville, FL32611-7166
Phone: (352) 392-8881
Fax: (352) 392-7962
Email: mcgill@ufl.edu

top of page

Trustees

Ben Ayers (2005)
Tull School of Accounting
Terry College of Business Administration
University of Georgia
Athens, GA 30602-6252
Phone: (706) 542-3772
Fax: (706) 542-3630
Email: bayers@terry.uga.edu

Anne L. Christensen (Past President-2004)
College of Business
Montana State University
P.O. Box 173060
Bozeman, MT 59717-3060
Phone: (406) 994-2043
Fax: (406) 994-6206
Email: annec@montana.edu

Merle M. Erickson (2004)
Graduate School of Business
University of Chicago
1101 E. 58th Street
Chicago, IL 60637-1561
Phone: (773) 834-0716
Fax: (773) 702-0458
Email: merle.erickson@gsb.uchicago.edu

Ellen J. Glazerman (2005)
Executive Director, Ernst & Young Foundation
Director, Office of Charitable Giving
5 Times Square
New York NY 10036
212/773-5686
212/773-6504 (fax)
Email: ellen.glazerman@ey.com

Robert M. Halperin (2004)
Department of Accountancy
College of Commerce and Business Administration
University of Illinois
1206 S. Sixth Street
Champaign, IL 61820
Phone: (217) 244-0327
Fax: (217) 244-0902
Email: r-halperi@uiuc.edu

Stewart S. Karlinksy (2004)
Accounting and Finance
College of Business
San Jose State University
One Washington Square
San Jose, CA 95192-0066
Phone: (408) 924-3482
Fax: (408) 924-3463
Email: Karlinsky_s@cob.sjsu.edu

Beth B. Kern (Past President-2005)
School of Business and Economics
P.O. Box 7111
Indiana University-South Bend
South Bend, IN 46634-7111
Phone: (574) 237-4352
Fax: (574) 237-4866
Email: bkern@iusb.edu

Shelley Rhoades-Catanach (2004)
Department of Accountancy
College of Commerce and Finance
Villanova University
800 Lancaster Avenue
Villanova, PA 19085-1678
Phone: (610) 519-4356
Fax: (610) 519-5204
Email: shelley.rhoades@villanova.edu

Timothy J. Rupert (2005)
Accounting Group
College of Business Administration
404 Hayden Hall
Northeastern University
Boston, MA 02115-5000
Phone: (617) 373-5165
Fax: (617) 373-8814
Email: T.Rupert@neu.edu

Gillian Spooner (2004)
Washington National Tax Office Partner
KPMG, LLP
2001 M Street NW
Washington, DC 20036
Phone: (202) 553-4144
Fax: (202) 533-8570
Email: gspooner@kpmg.com

Robert Yetman (2005)
Graduate School of Management
One Shields Avenue
University of California, Davis
Davis, CA 95616-8609
Phone: (530) 752-7399
Fax: (530) 752-2924
Email: rjyetman@ucdavis.edu

top of page

Council Representatives

Beth B. Kern (ATA Past President)
School of Business and Economics
P.O. Box 7111
Indiana University-South Bend
South Bend, IN 46634-7111
Phone: (574) 237-4352
Fax: (574) 237-4866
Email: bkern@iusb.edu

Dave N. Stewart (ATA President)
School of Accountancy and Information Systems
Marriott School of Management
Brigham Young University
528 TNRB
Provo, UT 84602-3068
Phone: (801) 422-2365
Fax: (801) 422-5933
Email: dstewart@byu.edu

top of page

Editors

The Journal of the American Taxation Association
Editor
John R. Robinson
Department of Accounting
College of Business Administration
The University of Texas at Austin
21st & Speedway
Austin, TX 78712-1172
Phone: (512) 471-5315
Fax: (512) 471-3904
Email: j.r.robinson@mail.utexas.edu

The ATA Journal of Legal Tax Research
Editor
Eugene Seago
Department of Accounting and Information Systems
Pamplin College of Business
Virginia Polytechnic and State University
Blacksburg, VA 24601
Phone: (540) 231-6591
Fax: (540) 231-2511
Email: seago@vt.edu

Newsletter Editor
Nancy B. Nichols
School of Professional StudiesAccounting
James Madison University
MSC 0203
Harrisonburg, VA 22807
Phone: (540) 568-8778
Fax: (540) 568-3017
Email: nicholnb@jmu.edu

top of page

Committee Chairpersons


ATA/Deloitte & Touche Teaching Innovation Award
Ron Worsham
Brigham Young University
Department of Accounting
Marriott School of Business
540 N. Eldon Tanner Building
Provo, UT 84602-3068
Phone: (801)-378-2329
Fax: (801)-378-5933
Email: ronald_worsham@byu.edu

ATA/PricewaterhouseCoopers Doctoral Dissertation Award
Sandra Callaghan
Texas Christian University
Department of Accounting
MJ Neeley School of Business
2900 Lubbock Street
Fort Worth, TX 76129
Phone: (817)-257-7191
Fax: (817)-257-7227
Email: s.callaghan@tcu.edu

ATA Tax Manuscript Award
Sanjay Gupta
Arizona State University
School of Accountancy and Info Systems
College of Business
College of Business Box 873606
Tempe, AZ 85287-3606
Phone: (480)-965-6618
Fax: (480)-965-8392
Email: sanjay.gupta@asu.edu

Accreditation and Curriculum Issues
Kathleen Sinning
Western Michigan University
Department of Accountancy
Haworth College of Business
Kalamazoo, MI 49008-3899
Phone: (269)-387-5259
Fax: (269)-387-5710
Email: kathleen.sinning@wmich.edu

Annual Meeting Program
Kaye Newberry
University of Arizona
Department of Accounting
College of Business and Public Administration
McClelland Hall 301
Tucson, AZ 85721-0108
Phone: (520)-621-1252
Fax: (520)-621-3742
Email: knewberry@bpa.arizona.edu

Awards
Carolyn Strobel
University of South Carolina
School of Accounting
Darla Moore School of Business
1705 College Street
Columbia, SC 29208
Phone: (803)-777-2713
Fax: (803)-777-0712
Email: strobel@darla.badm.sc.edu

Concerns of New Faculty
Cindy Blanthorne
University of North Carolina-Charlotte
Department of Accounting
College of Business Administration
9201 University City Boulevard
Charlotte, NC 28223-0001
Phone: (704)-687-3435
Fax: (704)-510-6938
Email: cblantho@email.uncc.edu

Education Research
Mike Roberts
University of Alabama
Culverhouse School of Accountancy
Culverhouse College of Comm & BA
314 Alston Hall
Tuscaloosa, AL 35487-0220
Phone: (205)-348-2901
Fax: (205)-348-8453
Email: mroberts@cba.ua.edu

Faculty Internships, Sabbaticals, and External Relations
Linda Nelsestuen
University of New Orleans
Department of Accounting
College of Business Administration
Lake Front
New Orleans, LA 70148-1530
Phone: (504)-280-6246
Fax: (504)-280-6426
Email: lnelsest@uno.edu

Graduate Tax Education
Jon S. Davis
Department of Accounting and Information Systems
School of Business Administration
University of Wisconsin-Madison
975 University Avenue
Madison, WI 53706
Phone: (608) 263-4264
Fax: (608) 263-0477
Email: jdavis@bus.wisc.edu

IRS Disclosure of Tax Information for Public Corporations Task Force
Jeff Gramlich
Department of Accounting
School of Business Administration
University of Michigan
701 Tappan Street
Ann Arbor, MI 48109-1234
Phone: (734) 763-1091
Fax: (734) 647-2871
Email: gramlich@umich.edu

JATA Conference
John R. Robinson
Department of Accounting
College of Business Administration
The University of Texas at Austin
21st & Speedway
Austin, TX 78712-1172
Phone: (512) 471-5315
Fax: (512) 471-3904
Email: j.r.robinson@mail.utexas.edu

Legal Research
Arthur Cassill
Elon University
Department of Accounting and Finance
College of Business
801 Glendevon Ct.
Whitsett, NC 27377
Phone: (336)-449-3277
Fax: (336)-538-2643
Email: acassill@elon.edu

Long-Range Planning Task Force
Silvia Madeo
University of Georgia
Tull School of Accounting
Terry College of Business Administration
225 Brooks Hall
Athen, GA 30602-6252
Phone: (706)-542-3602
Fax: (706)-542-3630
Email: smadeo@terry.uga.edu

Membership
Reg Rezac
Texas Woman's University
Accounting Faculty
Departmentt of Business and Economics
3825 Montecito Road
Denton, TX 76204-5738
Phone: (940)-898-2114
Fax: (910)-898-2120
Email: rezac@twu.edu

Midyear Meeting Logistical Issues Task Force
Shirley Dennis-Escoffier
Department of Accounting
317 Jenkins Building
School of Business Administration
University of Miami
5250 University Drive
Coral Gables, FL 33146-6531
Phone: (305) 284-5577
Fax: (305) 284-5737
Email: sdennis@miami.edu

Midyear Meeting Program
Mark Higgins
Accounting Faculty
College of Business Administration
University of Rhode Island
7 Lippitt Road
Kingston, RI 02881-0802
Phone: (401) 874-4244
Fax: (401) 874-4312
Email: markhiggins@uri.edu

Midyear Site Selection
Beth B. Kern
School of Business and Economics
P.O. Box 7111
Indiana University-South Bend
South Bend, IN 46634-7111
Phone: (574) 237-4352
Fax: (574) 237-4866
Email: bkern@iusb.edu

Nominations
Anne Christensen
Montana State University
Department of Accounting
College of Business
PO Box 173060
Bozeman, MT 59717-0304
Phone: (406)-994-2043
Fax: (406)-994-6206
Email: annec@montana.edu

Publications
Shelley Rhoades-Catanach
Department of Accountancy
College of Commerce and Finance
Villanova University
800 Lancaster Avenue
Villanova, PA 19085-1678
Phone: (610) 519-4356
Fax: (610) 519-5204
Email: shelley.rhoades@villanova.edu

Regional Programs
Sharon P. Cox
College of Business Administration
University of Hawaii at Manoa
2404 Maile Way A-417
Honolulu, HI 96822
Phone: (808) 956-8461
Fax: (808) 956-9888
Email: scox@cba.hawaii.edu

Research Resources and Methodologies
Lill Mills
University of Arizona
Department of Accounting
College of Business and Public Administration
McClelland Hall 301
Tucson, AZ 85721-0108
Phone: (520)-621-3786
Fax: (520)-621-3742
Email: lmills@u.arizona.edu

Tax Policy Research Oversight
Ken Orbach
Florida Atlantic University
School of Accounting
College of Business
777 Glades Road
Boca Raton, FL 33431-0991
Phone: (561)-297-2779
Fax: (561)-297-3978
Email: orbach@fau.edu

Tax Policy - Accounting Methods
Susan Anders
St. Bonaventure University
Department of Accounting
School of Business
Route 417
St. Bonaventure, NY 14778
Phone: (716)-375-2063
Fax: (716)-375-2191
Email: sanders@sbu.edu

Tax Policy - Complexity Reduction
Tom Pope
University of Kentucky
School of Accountancy
Gatton College of Business & Economics
Lexington, KY 40506-0034
Phone: (859)-257-4794
Fax: (606)-257-3654
Email: tpope@pop.uky.edu

Tax Policy - Corporate
Don Samelson
Colorado State University
Department of Accounting & Taxation
College of Business
Fort Collins, CO 80523-1271
Phone: (970)-491-6420
Fax: (970)-491-2676
Email: samelson@lamar.colostate.edu

Tax Policy - Family
Anthony P. Curatola
Department of Accounting
College of Business and Administration
Drexel University
215 Tower Road
Villanova, PA 19085-1213
Phone: (215)895-1453
Fax: (215) 895-6975
Email: curatola@drexel.edu

Tax Policy - Flow-Through Entities
Jim Hamill
University of New Mexico
Area of Accounting
Anderson School of Management
1924 Las Lomas Blvd.
Albuquerque, NM 87131-1221
Phone: (505)-277-8890
Fax: (505)-277-7108
Email: hamill@mgt.unm.edu

Tax Policy - International
Edmund Outslay
Department of Accounting and Information Systems
Eli Broad Graduate School of Management
N270 North Business Complex
Michigan State University
East Lansing, MI 48824-1122
Phone: (517) 432-2912
Fax: (517) 432-1101
Email: outslay@pilot.msu.edu

Tax Policy - Multi-State Tax
John McGowan
Saint Louis University
Department of Accounting
School of Business & Administration
3674 Lindell Blvd.
St. Louis, MO 63108
Phone: (314)-977-3811
Fax: (314)-977-3897
Email: mcgowanjr@slu.edu

Teaching Resources
Suzanne M. Luttman
Department of Accounting
Leavey School of Business and Administration
Santa Clara University
500 El Camino Real
Santa Clara, CA 95053-0380
Phone: (408) 554-4897
Fax: (408) 554-5193
Email: sluttman@scu.edu

Caroline Craig
Illinois State University
Department of Accounting
College of Business
5520 Department of Accounting
Normal, IL 61790-5520
Phone: (309)-438-7147
Fax: (309)-438-8431
Email: ckcraig@ilstu.edu

Technology
Tom C. Omer
Department of Accounting
College of Business Administration
University of Illinois-Chicago
601 S. Morgan
Chicago, IL 60607-7123
Phone: (312) 996-4438
Fax: (312) 996-4520
Email: tcomer@uic.edu

Website
Steven C. Thompson, Webmaster
Department of Accounting, Tax, and Business Law
College of Business
Florida Gulf Coast University
10501 FGCU Boulevard. South
Fort Myers, FL 33965-6565
Phone: (941) 590-7346
Fax: (941) 590-7330
Email: sthompso@fgcu.edu

top of page

Regional Coordinators

Mid-Atlantic
Ronald Lipka
Department of Accounting
School of Business & Management
Temple University
13th & Montgomery Streets
Philadelphia, PA 19122
Phone: (215) 204-8125
Fax: (215) 204-5587
Email: rlipka@sbm.temple.edu

Midwest
John R. McGowan
Department of Accounting
John Cook School of Business  DS400
Saint Louis University
3674 Lindell Blvd.
St. Louis, MO 63108
Phone: (314) 977-3812
Fax: (314) 977-3897
Email: mcgowanjr@slu.edu

Northeast
Tracy Noga
Department of Accounting
Frank Sawyer School of Management
Suffolk University
8 Ashburton Place
Boston, MA 02108-2770
Phone: (617) 625-7443
Fax: (617) 573-8345
Email: tnoga@suffolk.edu

Ohio
Tim Fogarty
Department of Accountancy
Weatherhead School of Management
Case Western Reserve University
10900 Euclid Avenue
Cleveland, OH 44106-7235
Phone: (216) 368-3938
Fax: (216) 368-3776
Email: tjf@po.cwru.edu

Southeast
Steve Gara
Department of Accounting
College if Business & Public Administration
Old Dominion University
5215 Hampton Boulevard
Norfolk, VA 23529-0229
Phone: (757) 683-6552
Fax: (757) 683-5639
Email: sgara@odu.edu

Southwest
Pamela C. Smith
Accounting & Information Systems
College of Business
The University of Texas at San Antonio
6900 North Loop 1604 West
San Antonio, TX 78249-0632
Phone: (210) 458-5235
Fax: (210) 458-4322
Email: psmith@utsa.edu

Western
Kevin McBeth
School of Accountancy
College of Business and Economics
Weber State University
3750 Harrison Boulevard
Ogden, UT 84408-3803
Phone: (801) 626-6989
Fax: (801) 626-7423
Email: kmcbeth@weber.edu

top of page

Future Meeting

2004 ATA Midyear Meeting & JATA Conference
Westin Tabor Center
Denver, Colorado
February 27-28, 2004

top of page


Back

© 2013 American Accounting Association All rights reserved.