web server statistics
American Accounting Association

2011-2012 AAA COMMITTEES


Financial Accounting Standards Committee

Charge
Coordinate all Association activities with respect to financial accounting standard setting. Specifically:

  • Assess the financial accounting standard setting activities of the Financial Accounting Standards Board (FASB) and the International Accounting Standards Board (IASB), and other such organizations, especially with respect to their impact on accounting profession and research, and provide feedback to them in writing and by appearing at selected public hearings.
  • Evaluate selected discussion memoranda and exposure drafts related to financial accounting and reporting in the private sector as they are released by the FASB, the IASB, and other accounting standard-setting groups, and respond to those groups in writing and by appearing at selected public hearings.
  • Stay cognizant of emerging issues related to financial accounting and reporting in the private sector through materials issued by the Emerging Issues Task Force and other relevant sources, and evaluate, where appropriate, the significance and potential implications of such issues.
  • Meet with the FASB, normally on an annual basis.
  • Recognize emerging international issues related to financial accounting, reporting and auditing; alert others inside the Association about their importance to determine the likely significance and potential implications of such issues.
  • Explore the publication of selected responses by the committee in Accounting Horizons or other appropriate outlets.
  • Consider and promote ways to increase the quantity and quality of academic input to the standard-setting process.

Membership

  • Committee members are appointed annually by the AAA President for rotating three-year terms.
  • The Chair will be appointed from among experienced committee members and is to be named from the three persons beginning their second year. The Chair serves a two-year term.
  • During the years when a committee member becomes Chair, the President will appoint 4 new committee members. In other years, the President will appoint 3 committee members.

Meetings

  • The committee meets as needed.

Responsibilities

  • Fulfill the committee charter above.
  • The Chair will have the opportunity three times every term-year to prepare and send a progress report which will be available for the Board of Directors to review at their next meeting. This report should include accomplishments and suggested modifications and should be sent to the AAA President, the committee’s Board of Directors Liaison, and staff liaison, Barbara Gutierrez (barbara.gutierrez@aaahq.org).

Chair
Yuri Biondi (Term Expires 08/2013)
Cnrs - Ecole Polytechnique (Paris Tech)
yuri.biondi@free.fr

Members

Name / Affiliation Contact Term Length Term Expires
Jonathan Glover
Carnegie Mellon University
jglover@cmu.edu 3 08/2012
Eiko Tsujiyama
Waseda University (Japan)
tsujiyama@waseda.jp 3 08/2012
Richard Macve
London School of Economics and Political Science
R.Macve@lse.ac.uk 3 08/2014
Paul Munter
KPMG
pmunter@kpmg.com 3 08/2012
Jeff Wilks
Brigham Young University
wilks@byu.edu 3 08/2013
Bjorn Jorgensen
University of Colorado at Boulder
Bjorn.Jorgensen@colorado.edu 3 08/2013
John Lacey
Cal State – Long Beach
John.lacey@csulb.edu 3 08/2014
Nicole Thorne Jenkins
Vanderbilt University
nicole.jenkins@owen.vanderbilt.edu 3 08/2014
Roman Weil
University of Chicago
roman.weil@chicagobooth.edu 3 08/2014

Board of Directors Liaison
Christine Botosan
University of Utah
christine.botosan@business.utah.edu

top of page


Back to AAA Committees

AAA Home Page

Back

© 2013 American Accounting Association All rights reserved.