web server statistics
American Accounting Association

2011-2012 AAA COMMITTEES


Notable and Distinguished Contributions
to Accounting Literature Award
Screening Committee

Charge
Coordinate all activities necessary to screen candidates for the Notable Contributions to Accounting Literature Award and the Distinguished Contributions to Accounting Literature Award. Specifically:

  • Identify works of exceptional merit from published accounting books and articles that meet the guidelines for the "Notable Contributions" award.
  • Identify works of exceptional merit from published accounting books and articles that meet the guidelines for the "Distinguished Contributions" award.
  • The Screening Committee for the Notable and Distinguished Contributions to Accounting Literature Award shall be encouraged to submit candidates for the AAA/Deloitte Wildman Award to the Wildman Committee.

Membership

  • New committee members are appointed annually by the AAA President.
  • The membership of the Screening Committee shall include a representative from each of the AAA Sections.

Meetings

  • The committee meets as needed.

Responsibilities

  • AAA Staff (Barbara Gutierrez) will ensure the Call for Nominations web page is updated in conjunction with the Committee Directory.
  • Beginning in September, the AAA Awards Coordinator (Stephanie Glaser) will arrange for the Call for Nominations announcement to be included:
    • In the Fall edition of the Accounting Education News
    • On the AAA website and in multi-topic mass emails.
  • The AAA Awards Coordinator will contact the chair with the dates that the awards Call for Nominations will be included on the AAA website and in multi-topic mass emails.
  • Members of the committee are encouraged to submit nominations.
  • Nominations are due by January 31st.
  • The committee will select award recipients based on the Notable Contributions award criteria and the Distinguished Contributions award criteria.
  • The Chair will provide a set of nominees for the Selection Committee for the Notable Contributions award and for the Selection Committee for the Distinguished Contributions award by March 1st.
  • The Chair will have the opportunity three times every term-year to prepare and send a progress report which will be available for the Board of Directors to review at their next meeting. This report should include accomplishments and suggested modifications and should be sent to the AAA President, the committee’s Board of Directors Liaison, and staff liaison, Barbara Gutierrez (barbara.gutierrez@aaahq.org).

Chair
Jan Barton
Emory University
jan_barton@bus.emory.edu

Members

Name / Affiliation Contact Section Term Length Term Expires
Brian Hogan
Northeastern University
b.hogan@neu.edu ATA 1 08/2012
Khondkar Karim
University of Massachusetts-Lowell
khondkar_karim@uml.edu ABO 1 08/2012
Robert Lewis Osborne
Ohio Dominican University
osborner@ohiodominican.edu APLG 1 08/2012
Zhongxia (Shelly) Ye
Kennesaw State University
shelly.ye@gmail.com Auditing 1 08/2012
Louis J. Stewart
Howard University
louisjstewart@gmail.com Diversity 1 08/2012
Lisa Kutcher
Colorado State University
lisa.kutcher@business.colostate.edu FARS 1 08/2012
Debra T. Sinclair
Georgia Southern University
dsinclair@georgiasouthern.edu FIA 1 08/2012
Charles William Stanley
Baylor University
charles_stanley@baylor.edu GNP 1 08/2012
Jagdish Pathak
University of Windsor
jagdish@uwindsor.ca IS & SET 1 08/2012
Hubert Darnell Glover
Drexel University
hdg26@drexel.edu International 1 08/2012
Linda Marquis
Northern Kentucky University
marquis@nku.edu MAS 1 08/2012
Philip H. Siegel
Augusta State University
phsiegel2@yahoo.com Public
Interest
1 08/2012
Rebecca Shortridge
Northern Illinois University
shortridge@niu.edu TLC 1 08/2012
Reed Peoples
Austin Community College
rpeoples@austincc.edu Two-Year 1 08/2012

Board of Directors Liaison
To be announced.

top of page


Back to AAA Committees

AAA Home Page

Back

© 2013 American Accounting Association All rights reserved.