web server statistics
American Accounting Association


Membership Advisory Committee

Support the AAA staff and Board of Directors on membership initiatives and services related to the AAA Strategy. Key AAA membership strategic objectives and processes including the following:

  • Monitor the annual membership census
  • Manage the annual membership satisfaction survey
  • Promote attendance at Annual, Section, and Regional meetings
  • Host new and potential member receptions at AAA meetings
  • Market membership to potential members
  • Promote service opportunities for members across key membership classifications
  • Engage in key membership fulfillment initiatives
  • Ultimately, attract and retain members across key membership classifications


  • New committee members are appointed annually by the AAA President with staggered terms of three years for continuity purposes.
  • The Committee Chair serves a 2-year term, followed by a 1-year term as a committee member.


  • The committee meets as needed.


  • Fulfill the committee charter as above.
  • Barbara Gutierrez, (barbara.gutierrez@aaahq.org) Office Administrator, assists with providing logistical support for committee and task force meetings and conference calls.
  • The Chair will have the opportunity three times every term-year to prepare and send a progress report which will be available for the Board of Directors to review at their next meeting. This report should include accomplishments and suggested modifications and should be sent to the AAA President, the committee’s Board of Directors Liaison, and staff liaison, Barbara Gutierrez (barbara.gutierrez@aaahq.org).

Marc Rubin (Term ends in 2013)
Miami University of Ohio


* Ex-Officio Student Advisory Member

Name / Affiliation Contact Term Length Term Expires
Monte Swain
(Immediate Past Chair)
Brigham Young University
monte@byu.edu 3 08/2012
Joanna Ho
University of California-Irvine
jlho@uci.edu 3 08/2012
Marc Giullian
Montana State University
mgiullian@montana.edu 3 08/2012
* Kari Olsen
University of Southern California
kari.olsen.2015@marshall.usc.edu 1 08/2012
Sheldon Smith
Utah Valley State
smithsh@uvu.edu 3 08/2012
Linda Tarrago
Hillsborough Community College
ltarrago@hccfl.edu 3 08/2012
Wayne Bremser
Villanova University
wayne.bremser@villanova.edu 2 08/2012
Seleshi Sisaye
Duquesne University
sisaye@duq.edu 2 08/2012
Natalie Churyk
Northern Illinois University
nchuryk@niu.edu 3 08/2014
Cathleen Burns
University of Colorado
Cathleen.burns@colorado.edu 3 08/2014
Sue Convery
Michigan State University
convery@bus.msu.edu 3 08/2014

Board of Directors Liaison
Alan Reinstein
Wayne State University

top of page

Back to AAA Committees

AAA Home Page


© 2013 American Accounting Association All rights reserved.