web server statistics
American Accounting Association

2011-2012 AAA Section, Group,
and Region Officers


Strategic and Emerging Technologies

Membership: 334

Dues: $20

SET Home Page



Objectives

The Strategic and Emerging Technologies Section shall strive to stimulate and improve the research in, teaching of, and application of artificial intelligence methods and techniques in accounting. Specific objectives include:

  1. To encourage research in artificial intelligence and emerging technologies by identifying areas of accounting in need of exploration with the methods of these two disciplines.
  2. To facilitate the exchange of ideas and findings in SET technologies among accounting scholars.
  3. To provide a forum for presentation and discussion of reports on SET research, practice and standards.
  4. To publish a journal (Journal of Emerging Technologies in Accounting, JETA) that contributes to theory, research, practice, and education in the areas of SET.
  5. To provide a forum for presentation and discussion of ideas and developments related to SET curricula and education.
  6. To encourage educational innovation and to improve accounting instruction with the application of AI-based methods and tools, and other emerging technologies to accounting education.
  7. To provide opportunities for interchange of ideas in artificial intelligence and emerging technologies among accounting academics and business practitioners in public, corporate, and not-for-profit accounting

top of page

Officers

President
Graham Gal
University of Massachusetts Amherst
School of Management
Dept of Accounting & Info Systems
121 Presidents Drive
Amherst, MA 01003
Phone: 413-545-5649
gfgal@isenberg.umass.edu
President-Elect
Ingrid Fisher
SUNY at Albany
Department of Accounting and Law
School of Business
1400 Washington Ave
Albany, NY 12222
Phone: 518-442-4948
i.fisher@albany.edu
Vice President — Academic
Brigitte Muehlmann
Suffolk University
100 Raffaele Dr
Waltham, MA 02452
Phone: 617-573-8754
bmuehlmann@suffolk.edu
Vice President — Practice
Bob Cuthbertson
CaseWare Idea Inc.
200-469 King Street West
Toronto, ON M5V 1K4
Phone: 416-867-9504
bob.cuthbertson@caseware.com
Immediate Past President
Gregory Gerard
Florida State University
Accounting Dept.
821 Academic Way
Tallahassee, FL 32306-1110
Phone: 850-644-9115
ggerard@cob.fsu.edu
Secretary/Treasurer
Nancy Uddin
Monmouth College
400 Cedar Avenue
West Long Branch, NJ 07764
Phone: 732-263-5537
nuddin@monmouth.edu

top of page

Council Representative

Graham Gal
University of Massachusetts Amherst
Phone: 413-545-5649
gfgal@isenberg.umass.edu
 

top of page

Editors

Journal of Emerging Technologies in Accounting (JETA)
Editor

Alexander Kogan
Rutgers University - New Brunswick
Phone: 973-353-1064
kogan@rutgers.edu
Journal of Emerging Technologies in Accounting (JETA)
Incoming Editor

TBD
Newsletter
(SET Update)

L. Murphy Smith
Murray State University
dr.murphy.smith@gmail.com
Webmaster and AAACommons
Editorial Board Member

Rob Nehmer
Oakland University
Phone: 248-370-4980
nehmer@oakland.edu

top of page

Committee Chairpersons

Research/AAA Annual Meeting 2012 Coordinator
Robert Pinsker
Florida Atlantic University
Phone: 561-297-3422
rpinsker@fau.edu
Education — Educational Materials/CPE
Janie Chang
San Diego State University
Phone: 619-594-8383
jchang@mail.sdsu.edu
SET Transformative Technologies Workshop
Julie Smith David
Arizona State University
Phone: 480-965-8603
julie.smith.david@gmail.com
 
Outstanding Researcher & Educator
Andreas Nicolau
Bowling Green University
Phone: 419-372-2932
anicol@bgsu.edu
Outstanding Dissertation
Janie Chang
San Diego State University
Phone: 619-594-8383
jchang@mail.sdsu.edu
SET Workshop Coordinators
Carol E. Brown
Oregon State University
Phone: 503-737-3309
brownc@bus.orst.edu
Amelia Baldwin
University of Alabama-Huntsville
Phone: 256-824-6811
Amelia.Baldwin@uah.edu
Ingrid Fisher
SUNY at Albany
Phone: 518-442-4948
i.fisher@albany.edu
 
Membership
James Worrell
University of Alabama at Birmingham
Phone: 205-9348-873
worrellj@uab.edu
Nominations
Gregory Gerard
Florida State University
Phone: 850-644-9115
ggerard@cob.fsu.edu
Midyear Meeting
James Worrell
University of Alabama at Birmingham
Phone: 205-934-8873
worrellj@uab.edu
Regional Programs
Jane Fedorowicz
Bentley University
Phone: 781-891-3153
jfedorowicz@bentley.edu
Publications
Miklos Vasarhelyi
Rutgers University
Phone: 973-353-5002
miklosv@andromeda.rutgers.edu
 

top of page

Regional Coordinators

Mid-Atlantic
Clinton E. (Skip) White
University of Delaware
skipw@udel.edu
Midwest
Jay Shinde
Eastern Illinois University
jsshinde@eiu.edu
Northeast
Sunita Goel
Siena College
sgoels@hotmail.com
Ohio
Akhilesh Chandra
The University of Akron
ac10@uakron.edu
Southeast
Paul Bowen
Florida State University
pbowen@cob.fsu.edu
Southwest
L. Murphy Smith
Murray State University
dr.murphy.smith@gmail.com
Western
Arindam Tripathy
University of Washington Tacoma
tripathy@uw.edu
 

top of page

International Coordinators

Asia
Akhilesh Chandra
The University of Akron
ac10@uakron.edu

Spain, Portugal and Latin America
Enrique Bonson
Facultad de Ciencias Empresariales y Juridicas
bonson@uhu.es

Europe
Andy Lymer
University of Birmingham
a.lymer@bham.ac.uk
Australia
Carlin Dowling
University of Melbourne
carlin@unimelb.edu.au

top of page


Back to Section/Region Officers

AAA Home Page

Back

© 2013 American Accounting Association All rights reserved.