web server statistics
American Accounting Association

2011-2012 AAA Section, Group,
and Region Officers


Teaching, Learning and Curriculum

Membership: 1439

Dues: $10

TLC Home Page


Objectives

The Teaching, Learning and Curriculum Section is dedicated to the continual improvement of accounting education, especially through the development of relevant and innovative curricula, a renewed emphasis of effective and efficient instruction, and the exploration of knowledge-organization issues related to accounting programs. Specific objectives include, but are not limited to:

  1. Teaching:
    1. To foster research in methods of learning and their application to the field of accounting instruction;
    2. To stimulate discussion and experimentation in instructional means, methods, and materials in general;
    3. To raise questions and to disseminate knowledge about teaching and teaching-related materials;
    4. To initiate, encourage, and sponsor research in methods of learning and in the improvement of skills and aids used to impart knowledge of accounting and of related fields; and
    5. To provide guidance and opportunities for members to both test and improve their teaching skills and instructional materials.
  2. Curriculum matters:
    1. To encourage continued consideration of and experimentation in all facets of curriculum development for accounting programs; and
    2. To communicate interests, intentions, and information about curriculum developments in accounting programs.
  3. Education:
    1. To encourage a broad definition of scholarship that includes a high priority on teaching and curriculum development;
    2. To provide a forum for the exchange of ideas and findings about developments related to instruction and curriculum issues in accounting education;
    3. To work with other organizations pursuing similar goals; and
    4. To encourage qualified individuals to consider opportunities in accounting education by providing appropriate guidance and knowledge about such careers

top of page

Officers

Chair
Robert D. Allen
University of Utah
Eccles School of Business
1645 E Campus Center Dr - Rm #108
Salt Lake City, UT 84112
Phone: 801-581-7208
bob.allen@utah.edu
Past Chair
Dale L. Flesher
Patterson School of Accountancy
University of Mississippi
200 Conner Hall
University, MS 38677-1848
Phone: 662-915-7623
acdlf@olemiss.edu
Vice Chairperson-Practice
Bette Kozlowski
KPMG
1601 Market Street
Philadelphia, PA 19103
Phone: 267-256-1978
bkozlowski@kpmg.com
Vice Chairperson-Academic
Susan Crosson
Santa Fe Community College
3000 NW 83 ST.
Gainesville, FL 32606
Phone: 352-395-5137
susan.crosson@sfcollege.edu
Treasurer
Natalie Churyk
Northern Illinois University
Dept Of Accountancy
Barsema Hall 345T
Dekalb, IL 60115-2897
Phone: 815-753-6210
nchuryk@niu.edu
Secretary
Sherry Mills
New Mexico State University
434 Palomino Road
Vado, NM 88072
Phone: 5756465681
smills@nmsu.edu

top of page

Council Representative

Susan V. Crosson
Santa Fe College
Phone: 352-395-5137
susan.crosson@sfcollege.edu
 

top of page

Editors

Newsletter
(The Accounting Educator)

Carol Yacht, Author
McGraw-Hill/Irwin
PO BOX A
Jerome, AZ 86331
Email
Webmaster
Kevin Kimball
Brigham Young University Hawaii
Phone: 808-675-3584
kimballk@byuh.edu
AAACommons
Editorial Board Member

Richard Lillie
California State University San Bernardino
Phone: 909-537-5726
rlillie@csusb.edu
 

top of page

Committee Chairpersons

Annual Meeting Program Committee
Rebecca Shortridge
Northern Illinois University
Phone: 815-753-6097
shortridge@niu.edu
Assessment Committee
Susan Wolcott
Thought Leader
CA School of Business
Phone: 425-830-3962
swolcott@wolcottlynch.com
Bylaw Review Committee
Bambi Hora
Central Oklahoma University
Phone: 405-974-2156
bhora@uco.edu
Face-to-Face MYM Program Chair
Robert D. Allen
University of Utah
Phone: 801-581-7208
bob.allen@utah.edu
Historical Preservation Committee
Dale Flesher
University of Mississippi
Phone: 662-915-7623
acdlf@olemiss.edu
Awards (Innovations in Accounting Education/Hall of Honor)
Billie Cunningham
University of Missouri Columbia
Phone: 573-882-5665
cunningham@missouri.edu
Membership Committee
Cynthia Bolt-Lee
The Citadel
Phone: 843-953-6973
cynthia.bolt@citadel.edu
Mid-Year Meeting Program
David Cottrell
Brigham Young University
Phone: 801-422-3268
cottrell@byu.edu
Nominations Committee
D. Larry Crumbley
Louisiana State University
Phone: 225-578-6231
dcrumbl@lsu.edu
Shared Experiences Committee
Don Wygal
Rider University
Phone: 609-895-5543
wygal@rider.edu
Strategic Relationships
Bea Sanders
KPMG
Phone: 203-307-8693
bsanders@kpmg.com
WOW Event Committee
Cathleen Burns
University of Colorado
Phone: 303-492-4076
Cathleen.burns@colorado.edu

top of page

Regional Coordinators

Mid-Atlantic Co-Coordinator
William Stahlin
Loyola University
Stevens Institute of Technology
Phone: 201-349-0971
wstahlin@stevens.edu
Mid-Atlantic Co-Coordinator
TBD
Midwest Co-Coordinator
Markus Ahrens
St Louis Community College-Meremac
3149847507
mahrens@stlcc.edu
Midwest Co-Coordinator
TBD
Northeast Co-Coordinator
Carol Hartley
Providence College
Phone: 401-865-2154
chartley@providence.edu
Northeast Co-Coordinator
Cheryl Crespi
Central Connecticut State University
Phone: 860-832-3239
crespichs@ccsu.edu
Ohio Co-Coordinator
Marsha Huber
Youngstown State University
Phone: 614-965-8787
mmhuber@ysu.edu
Ohio Co-Coordinator
Karen Braun
Case Western Reserve University
Phone: 216-368-3532
karen.braun@case.edu
Southeast Co-Coordinator
Mari Suzanne Oliver
University of West Florida
Phone: 850-474-2993
soliver@uwf.edu
Southeast Co-Coordinator
Charlene Spiceland
University of Memphis
Phone: 901-678-4788
cspice@memphis.edu
Southwest Co-Coordinator
Cathy Scott
Navarro College
Phone: 903-875-7535
cathy.scott@navarrocollege.edu
Southwest Co-Coordinator
Elizabeth Mulig
University of Dallas
lmulig@udallas.edu
Western Co-Coordinator
David DeBoskey, Ph.D., CPA
San Diego State University
debocpafa2005@aol.com
Western Co-Coordinator
Martha Doran
San Diego State University
doran1@mail.sdsu.edu

top of page


Back to Section/Region Officers

AAA Home Page

Back

© 2013 American Accounting Association All rights reserved.