Accounting Information Systems Officers


Objectives

The purpose of the Accounting Information Systems Section is to further the theory, education, and practice of information systems. To achieve this goal, the Section (1) sponsors a mid-year meeting and provides other forums for presentation and discussion of theoretical, educational, and practice developments; (2) publishes the Journal of Information Systems and a newsletter for Section members; and (3) organizes committees to work on special topics.

2017 - 2018 Officers

Officer Archives

President
Robin Pennington
North Carolina State University
Dept of Accounting/College of Management
Campus Box 8113
Raleigh, NC 27695
Phone: 919-515-4509
Email: robin_pennington@ncsu.edu

Vice-President (President-Elect)
David Wood  
Brigham Young University
540 TNRN
Provo, UT 84602
Phone: 801-422-8642
Email: davidwood@byu.edu


Immediate Past President
Robert Pinsker
Florida Atlantic University – Boca
777 Glades Road, KH 131
Boca Raton, FL 33431
Phone: 561-297-3422
Email: rpinsker@fau.edu

Secretary
Jennifer Riley
University of Nebraska-Omaha
Mammel Hall 228R
Omaha, NE 68182
Phone: (402) 554-3984
Email: jenriley@unomaha.edu

 

Treasurer
Ann Dzuranin
Northern Illinois University
Phone: (815) 753-6212
Email: adzuranin@niu.edu

Council Representative
Gregory Gerard
Florida State University
821 Academic Way
Rovetta Building B
Tallahassee, FL 32309
Phone: 850-644-9115
Email: ggerard@cob.fsu.edu

 

Historian
Ann O'Brien
University of Wisconsin- Madison
975 University Avenue
Madison, WI 53706
Phone: (608)262-1028
Email: aobrien@bus.wisc.edu

 


 

Editors

Journal Co-Editor
Journal of Information Systems

Alexander Kogan
Rutgers, The State University of New Jersey, Newark
Phone: 973-353-1064
Email: kogan@business.rutgers.edu

Journal Co-Editor
Journal of Information Systems

Patrick R. Wheeler
University of South Florida
Phone: 813-974-6516
Email: prwheele@usf.edu

 

Associate Editor for Web Services
(Journal of Information Systems)

Deniz Appelbaum
Rutgers University
Email: deniz.appelbaum@rutgers.edu

Newsletter 
Accounting Information Systems and Technology Reporter

Marcia Watson
University of North Carolina-Charlotte
Phone: (704) 687-7708
Email: mwatso40@uncc.edu

 

In-the-Literature
Lane Lambert
University of West Florida
Phone: (817) 222-9113
Email:LLambert@uwf.edu

Webmaster
Shifei Chung
Rowan University
Phone: (856) 256-4500 ext 3032
Email: chung@rowan.edu



AAA Commons Editorial Board Member
Nishani Vincent
The University of Tennessee at Chattanooga
Phone: (423) 425-5253
Email: surani-vincent@utc.edu

 

 

Committee Chairpersons

Nominating Committee
Rob Pinsker
Florida Atlantic University
Email: rpinsker@fau.edu

By-Laws Review Committee
Bachman Fulmer
University of Tampa
Email: bachmanfulmer@hotmail.com

 

Research and Publications Committee
Andrea Kelton
Middle Tennessee Sate University
Email: andrea.kelton@mtsu.edu

Education Issues Committee
Diane Janvrin
Iowa State University
Email: djanvrin@iastate.edu

 

Membership Service Committee
Neal Snow
Lehigh University
Email: neal.snow@gmail.com

Awards Committee 
Scott Summers
Brigham Young University
Email: summers@byu.edu

 

Meeting and Regional Coordinators

2018 Midyear Meeting  Co-Coordinator
Dan O'Leary
University of Southern California
Phone: (213) 740-4856
Email: oleary@usc.edu

2019 Midyear Meeting  Co-Coordinator
Juan Manuel Sanchez
University of Texas- San Antonio
Email: juan.manuel.sanchez@utsa.edu

 

2018 Midyear Meeting Research
Paper Coordinator
Andrea Kelton
Middle Tennessee State University
Email: andrea.kelton@mtsu.edu

2018 Midyear Meeting Education
Paper Coordinator

Diane Janvrin
Iowa State University
Phone: (515) 294-9450
Email: djanvrin@iastate.edu

 

2018 New Scholars Consortium Coordinator
Chris Wolfe
Texas A&M
Phone: (979) 845-0964
Email: cwolfe@mays.tamu.edu

2018 Annual Meeting Coordinator
Tawei (David) Wang
DePaul University
Email: TWANG49@depaul.edu

 

2018 Annual Meeting Assist. Coordinator
Jian Cao
Florida Atlantic University
Email: jcao@fau.edu

International
Carsten Felden
Technische Universitaet Bergakademie Freiberg
Email: carsten.felden@bwl.tu-freiberg.de

 

Midwest
Rebekah Heath
St Ambrose University
Phone: (563) 333-6474
Email: HeathRebekahA@sau.edu

Northeast
Neal Snow
Lehigh University
Email: neal.snow@gmail.com

  

Ohio
TBD

Southeast
Nishani Vincent
University of Tennessee- Chattanooga
Email: surani-vincent@utc.edu

  

Southwest
Randall Young
Texas State University
Email: rfy1@txstate.edu

Western
Arindam Tripathy
University of Washington- Tacoma
Email:tripathy@uw.edu

 

 

At-Large Member
Lizhong Hao
Cal State- Fresno
Phone: (559) 278-0301
Email: lhao@csufresno.edu

At-Large Member
Nishani Vincent
University of Tennessee- Chattanooga
Phone: (423) 425-5253
Email: surani-vincent@utc.edu

International
Carsten Felden
Technische Universitaet Bergakademie Freiberg
Phone: +00493731392611
Email: carsten.felden@bwl.tu-freiberg.de

International
Carsten Felden
Technische Universitaet Bergakademie Freiberg
Phone: +00493731392611
Email: carsten.felden@bwl.tu-freiberg.de

International
Carsten Felden
Technische Universitaet Bergakademie Freiberg
Phone: +00493731392611
Email: carsten.felden@bwl.tu-freiberg.de

International
Carsten Felden
Technische Universitaet Bergakademie Freiberg
Phone: +00493731392611
Email: carsten.felden@bwl.tu-freiberg.de

Letter from the President

Hello all,

I am looking forward to serving as your president this year. I want to start by thanking my predecessors, Rob Pinsker and Tina Loraas, for their excellent service and commitment to our section. I also want to thank all the new volunteers for the 2017-2018 academic year. I greatly appreciate your willingness to serve and move the AIS section forward.

In the upcoming year, I plan to continue Rob’s work regarding our commitment as a section to mentoring AIS Ph.D. students. I would like to start by taking this opportunity to highlight several important initiatives that I believe will be valuable resources to our new AIS scholars. First, our newly created websites for AIS Research Proposals and Dissertation Committee Support have been launched. AIS researchers looking to improve their research can submit one-page proposals to get early feedback from senior AIS researchers. AIS doctoral candidates who need dissertation committee support can request help from senior AIS researchers at other institutions via our new website. We hope making these important connections available will encourage more Ph.D. students to join our AIS community and continue to improve our body of research. 

 

...Continue Reading

Journal of Information Systems

Journal of Information Systems

The Journal of Information Systems (JIS) is the academic journal of the Accounting Information Systems (AIS) Section of the American Accounting Association. Its goal is to support, promote, and advance Accounting Information Systems knowledge. The primary criterion for publication in JIS is contribution to the accounting information systems (AIS), accounting and auditing domains by the application or understanding of information technology theory and practice.

Learn More