American Taxation Association

Call - 2007 Ray M. Sommerfeld Outstanding Tax Educator Award


The American Taxation Association, in cooperation with the Ernst & Young Foundation, presents the Outstanding Tax Educator Award. The Award's purpose is to recognize, honor and reward outstanding contributions by a faculty member teaching taxation at a recognized academic institution. The award is named after Professor Ray M. Sommerfeld, the first recipient of the award, who earned a reputation as a pioneer of tax education and provided a lifetime of service to students, colleagues, and the profession of taxation.

Criteria for Selecting Recipients: The selection criteria are intentionally broad to allow the Awards Committee to consider the relevant contributions by the nominees in determining a worthy recipient. The types of contributions considered as worthy of the award include, but are not limited to:

  • Curriculum or program development (including related research and/or superior teaching)

  • Participation in student activities

  • Service to an academic institution

  • Participation in professional activities, and

  • Activities furthering taxation as an academic field of study and research.

Eligible individuals should be currently active in their profession. However, in rare instances an individual who has retired from active service as an academician may be considered for the award. In the absence of qualified nominees for the award, the Awards Committee may choose not to present the award during a particular year.

Nomination procedure

There is no standard nomination package. Nominators should state why their candidate should receive the award and submit appropriate documentation supporting their nomination, such as complete resumes and letters of recommendations from students, colleagues, and/or practitioners.

Nominations will be accepted through January 31, 2007. Nominations should be sent or emailed to:

Ed Outslay
Accounting Department
Eli Broad College of Business
Michigan State University
E. Lansing, MI. 48824-1121
(517) 432-2912


Late nominations will be carried over to the next year. Questions about the content of the package should be addressed to the Committee Chair.

•  2006-2007 Ray Sommerfeld Outstanding Tax Educator Committee

| Contact the Webmaster | ©2013 ATA