web server statistics
American Accounting Association

Call for Nominations

Financial Accounting and Reporting Section
2008 Best Dissertation Award

The Financial Accounting and Reporting Section seeks to advance financial accounting and reporting research by recognizing and rewarding outstanding work of junior colleagues. Accordingly, a Best Dissertation Award is given each year to recognize the author of an outstanding financial accounting/reporting dissertation completed during the previous year. Submitted dissertations shall be judged by an Awards Committee. In selecting the award recipient, the Awards Committee will consider the importance of the financial accounting/reporting issue, the quality of execution of the study, and the contribution of the research.

The Best Dissertation Award carries with it a $1,000 cash prize for the winner and an engraved plaque for both the winner and the dissertation chair. The winner will be announced and recognized at the Section's meeting during the 2008 AAA annual meeting in Orange County, California.

Contest Procedures and Rules
The dissertation must have been completed during calendar year 2007.

Authors wishing to be considered for the award should submit the following materials to the Awards Committee Chair NO LATER THAN March 1, 2008:

  1. A detailed dissertation abstract in WORD format, not to exceed 7 pages. The abstract should explain the research question addressed in the dissertation, the importance of the research, how the dissertation builds on prior work, samples, hypotheses, methodologies, and research results.
  2. A letter from the dissertation committee's chair, not to exceed 2 pages, attesting that the dissertation was completed during 2007. This letter may be in the form of a nomination and may include an assessment of the importance and quality of the work.
  3. The complete dissertation in pdf format.

Please submit the three items by e-mail attachment, preferably by the submitter's dissertation chair. Please include all three items (abstract, dissertation chair's letter, and dissertation) in one submission.

Submissions will be judged by an Awards Committee appointed by the President of the Section. Submit the required materials by March 1, 2008, to:

Professor Lawrence D. Brown
J. Mack Robinson College of Business
Georgia State University
35 Broad Street
Atlanta, GA 30302-4050


© 2013 American Accounting Association All rights reserved.