web server statistics
American Accounting Association

Call for Nominations

2012 Outstanding International Accounting Dissertation Award

The International Accounting Section of the American Accounting Association invites submissions for its Outstanding International Accounting Dissertation Award, to be presented at the Annual Meeting of the American Accounting Association in Washington, DC, during August 2012.

All doctoral dissertations successfully defended during the 2011 calendar year in all areas of international accounting — including topics in financial, managerial, auditing, taxation, and information systems — are eligible for this award. Eligible individuals should submit via e-mail the following materials no later than (and preferably earlier than) February 28, 2012:

  1. Summary of their dissertation not exceeding 20 pages including tables, or a working paper based on their dissertation, and
  2. A letter of support from his/her dissertation committee chairperson.

Upon reviewing these initial submission materials, the Outstanding Dissertation Award Committee will select finalists for the award. Finalists will be requested to submit copies of the complete dissertation to the committee.

Please note that the committee will be grateful to receive suggestions from section members for suitable candidates for this award. Thus we would be very happy if you could ensure that all faculty and PhD students at your school are aware of the award.

Please send submissions via email to:

Sudipta Basu
Fox School of Business
Temple University

The DEADLINE for nominations is February 28, 2012.

Winners of the Outstanding International Accounting Dissertation Award to date are:

1984 Trevor J. Harris, University of Washington
1985 (none awarded)
1986 Betty C. Brown, University of Louisville
1987 Shahrokh M. Saudagaran, University of Washington
1988 David Sharp, Massachusetts Institute of Technology
1989 Teresa L. Conover, University of North Texas
1990 F. Norman Shiue, George Washington University
1991 Ajay Adhikari, Virginia Commonwealth University
1992 Stephen B. Salter, University of South Carolina
1993 Patricia McQueen, New York University
1994 Keith R. Duncan, Bond University
1995 Mary A. Flanigan, Virginia Commonwealth University
1996 Wayne Thomas, Oklahoma State University
1997 Paquita Y. Davis-Friday, University of Michigan
1998 Karl Albert Muller III, University of Illinois Urbana-Champaign
1999 Jan Marton, Göteborg University
2000 Tracy Manly, University of Arkansas
2001 Takashi Yaekura, University of Illinois Urbana-Champaign
2002 Ole-Kristian Hope, Northwestern University
2003 Thomas A. Matthews, University of Waterloo
2004 Steven Francis Orpurt, University of Chicago
2005 Christopher Hodgdon, Virginia Commonwealth University
2006 Etty Retno Wulandari, Nanyang Business School
2007 Annelies Renders, Katholieke Universiteit
2008 Devan Mescall, University of Waterloo
2009 Hans Christensen, University of Manchester
2010 Lijie Yao, Tsinghua University
2011 Gwen Yu, University of Michigan
2012 Clare Wang, Northwestern University



© 2013 American Accounting Association All rights reserved.