Journal of Governmental & Nonprofit Accounting

View/Download Recently Accepted Manuscripts

The Government and Nonprofit section of the American Accounting Association announces a new academic journal, the Journal of Governmental & Nonprofit Accounting (JOGNA). JOGNA's objectives are to promote, publish, and elevate the quality of research in the governmental and nonprofit accounting areas. To this end, the role of the editorial board is to identify promising manuscripts and to advise and support authors of these manuscripts toward publication.

Appropriate topics for the journal include, but are not limited to:

  • Financial reporting by Governmental and Nonprofit Organizations
  • Governance practices in Governmental and Nonprofit Organizations
  • Audit markets for Governmental and Nonprofit Organizations
  • Financing Governmental and Nonprofit enterprises
  • Budgeting and financial management in Governmental and Nonprofit Organizations
  • Evaluating charitable organizations
  • Performance audits
  • State oversight of local governments
  • The role of accounting in political markets
  • The use of accounting information in markets for philanthropic resources
  • Financial and nonfinancial performance metrics in Governmental and Nonprofit Organizations
  • Compensation in Public Sector and Nonprofit Organizations
  • Regulation of reporting requirements for Governmental and Nonprofit Organizations
  • Federal Accounting Standards
  • Evaluating the public policy objectives, consequences, and performance of Governmental and Nonprofit Organizations
  • Government Auditing Standards
  • Government Cost Accounting Standards and the CASB

Appropriate methodologies include, but are not limited to:

  • Empirical studies using archival data
  • Laboratory studies
  • Theory-based analysis
  • Case studies

Submission and Review Process
The submission/review process will commence June 1, 2010. Manuscripts should be submitted using the American Accounting Association online PXP submission and peer review system at:

The nonrefundable submission fee in U.S. funds is $70 for members of the AAA Government and Nonprofit Section and $100 for nonmembers of the AAA Government and Nonprofit Section, payable online by credit card (VISA or MasterCard only). The payment form is available online at: If you are unable to pay by credit card or have any questions please contact the AAA Member Services Team at (941) 921-7747 or

Submitted manuscripts should be original research not previously published and not under consideration at another journal. After screening by the editorial board for suitability, submissions will be reviewed by qualified reviewers under the direction of the editor. Revisions not resubmitted within 12 months from notification will be considered new submissions. JOGNA is an online journal. Accepted articles will be published (posted online) shortly after their acceptance.

Editorial Board

William R. Baber, Editor
Georgetown University

David C. Burgstahler
University of Washington

Leslie G. Eldenburg
The University of Arizona

Randal J. Elder
Syracuse University

Angela K. Gore
The George Washington University

Michael H. Granof
The University of Texas at Austin
and the Governmental Accounting Standards Board

Steven J. Kachelmeier
University of Texas at Austin

Marlys Gascho Lipe
The University of Oklahoma

Christine M. Petrovits
New York University

Gregory B. Waymire
Emory University

Joseph P. Weber
Massachusetts Institute of Technology

Jerold L. Zimmerman
University of Rochester

Jean X. Zhang, Editorial Assistant
The George Washington University

Ad Hoc Reviewers

The JOGNA editorial board and the Government and Nonprofit section appreciate the editorial input and support of the following reviewers during the first year of the journal’s existence

Janice F. Bell
Babson College
Frederick W. Lindahl
The George Washington University
Paul A. Copley
James Madison University
Justin Marlowe
University of Washington
Donald R. Deis, Jr.
Texas A&M University–Corpus Christi
Kimberly K. Moreno
Northeastern University
Mary L. Fischer
The University of Texas at Tyler
Marc A. Rubin
Miami University
Marshall A. Geiger
University of Richmond
Jason D. Schloetzer
Georgetown University
Karen Kitching
George Mason University
Michael P. Schoderbek
Rutgers, The State University of New Jersey
Jagan Krishnan
Temple University
Stefanie L. Tate
University of Massachusetts Lowell
Krishna R. Kumar
The George Washington University
Jayaraman Vijayakumar
Virginia Commonwealth University