web server statistics
American Accounting Association

Outstanding Accounting Educator Awards

The 1999 Outstanding Accounting Educator Awards were presented at the 1999 Annnual Meeting to Robert P. Magee and Katherine Schipper. The presentations were made by Michael Maher, Committee Chair, at the Monday Plenary Session of the Annual Meeting held August 15–18 in San Diego, California.

Since 1973, the American Accounting Association has recognized Outstanding Accounting Educators for their contributions to accounting education from scholarly endeavors in research and teaching over a sustained period of time—through publications, educational innovation, research guidance to graduate and undergraduate students, excellence in teaching, significant involvement in professional and academic societies and activities, and advising and intellectual guidance of students.

The Outstanding Accounting Educator Award is funded by the PricewaterhouseCoopers Foundation from 1996–1997 through 2000–2001. The PricewaterhouseCoopers Foundation provides each recipient with a $10,000 award, which will have two parts—a $5,000 cash prize and a $5,000 grant from the PricewaterhouseCoopers Foundation to the American Accounting Association. The recipients determine the purpose of the grant to the Association. The awards will be presented at the AAA Annual Meeting in August 1999 in San Diego, California.

Former Outstanding Accounting Educator Award recipients are listed below.

  • 1973—Wilton T. Anderson, Oklahoma State University and Charles T. Horngren, Stanford University
  • 1974—Kenneth E. Perry, University of Illinois
  • 1975—James Don Edwards, University of Georgia and Carl L. Nelson, Columbia University
  • 1976—Sidney Davidson, University of Chicago and Jack J. Kempner, University of Montana
  • 1977—Herbert E. Miller, University of Georgia
  • 1978—Charles T. Zlatkovich, University of Texas at Austin
  • 1979—George Sorter, New York University
  • 1980—Norton M. Bedford, University of Illinois and David Solomons, University of Pennsylvania
  • 1981—Nicholas Dopuch, University of Chicago and Catherine E. Miles, Georgia State University
  • 1982—Gerhard G. Mueller, University of Washington
  • 1983—Carl T. Devine, Florida State University
  • 1984—Robert K. Mautz, University of Michigan and William J. Vatter, University of California at Berkeley
  • 1985—Maurice Moonitz, University of California at Berkeley and Glenn A. Welsch, University of Texas at Austin
  • 1986—Joel S. Demski, Yale University and Yuji Ijiri, Carnegie Mellon Universit
  • y
  • 1987—Thomas J. Dyckman, Cornell University
  • 1988—Robert S. Kaplan, Harvard University/Carnegie Mellon University and Stephen A. Zeff, Rice University
  • 1989—Robert N. Anthony, Retired (formerly Harvard University) and William R. Kinney, Jr., University of Texas at Austin
  • 1990—William H. Beaver, Stanford University and William W. Cooper, University of Texas at Austin
  • 1991—Raymond J. Chambers, Retired (formerly University of Sydney) and William L. Felix, Jr., University of Arizona
  • 1992—Thomas J. Burns, Ohio State University and Lawrence Revsine, Northwestern University
  • 1993—George J. Foster, Stanford University and S. Paul Garner, Retired (formerly University of Alabama)
  • 1994—R. Glen Berryman, University of Minnesota and Ray M. Sommerfeld, University of Texas at Austin
  • 1995—Harold Q. Langenderfer, University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill and Baruch Lev, University of California at Berkeley
  • 1996—Doyle Z. Williams, University of Arkansas and Larzette Golden Hale, Retired (formerly Utah State University)
  • 1997—Gerald Feltham, British Columbia University and Victor L. Bernard, (awarded posthumously)
  • 1998—James A. Ohlson, Columbia University and Gary L. Sundem, University of Washington



© 2010 American Accounting Association All rights reserved.