homepage > awards > dissertation award

Outstanding Dissertation Award

The Section periodically (usually annually) awards the SET Outstanding Dissertation Award. The award is to recognize outstanding dissertations in the fields of artificial intelligence and/or emerging technologies.

For the purposes of this award:

  • Artificial intelligence includes, but is not limited to, the sub-fields of knowledge-based systems, neural networks, and heuristic problem solving, expert systems, case-based reasoning, machine learning, natural language processing, intelligent databases, intelligent agents, and intelligent devices.
  • Emerging technologies include (among others) information system security, image processing, communications technologies, wireless connectivity, the Internet, World Wide Web, electronic commerce, workflow technology, private networks (local, wide, municipal, intranets), EDI, XBRL, XML, data mining, group technologies, continuous assurance services, voice recognition, and interactive multimedia.
The winner of SET Outstanding Dissertation Award will be presented with a plaque at the Annual SET Section Business meeting.

An abstract of the winning dissertation will be published in the SET Newsletter and from the launch of the new section website in 2006, will also be available online from these pages (see below).

An entry may be nominated either by the student who wrote the dissertation or by one or more members of their dissertation committee.

The entry cannot be simultaneously submitted for similar awards by other Sections of the AAA.

Submission requirements:

  • Dissertation topic dealing with artificial intelligence and/or emerging technologies
  • Dissertation completed between January 1 and December 31 of the year preceding the award
  • Letter signed by the dissertation chairperson stating that the dissertation was completed and accepted by the degree granting institution during the above period
  • A nominating letter stating why the dissertation deserves special recognition
  • An extended abstract of the dissertation (in PDF format). The extended abstract should focus on the aim, motivation, and significance of the research; and include a summary of the methodology, statistical analysis (as appropriate), results, limitations, and future research questions.
  • The dissertation (in PDF format)
Call for Nominations for the 2014 Award

Please send your nomination (as an attachment to an email) by 31 MARCH 2014 to the Chair of the committee for this award:

Professor Guido Geerts
University of Delaware
Email: geerts@udel.edu

Members of the Dissertation Award Committee

Don Kent
State University of New York at Brockport
Email: dkent@po.brockport.edu

Georgia Smedley
University of Missouri-Kansas City
Email: smedleyg@umkc.edu

Arindam Tripathy
University of Washington
Email: tripathy@uw.edu

Previous winners of this award

(click on each name highlighted to see the abstract of their dissertation)
  • 2005 - Shirley Hunter -
  • 2006 - Mark Cecchini - "Quantifying the Risk of Financial Events Using Kernel Methods and Information Retrieval"
  • 2007 - Jia Wu - "Continuous tests of details and analytical procedures in continuous auditing"
  • 2008 - Maciej Piechocki - "XBRL Financial Reporting Supply Chain Architecture"
  • 2009 - Not given
  • 2010 - Frederik Gailly - "Operationalization of Business Ontologies: Representation, Formalization and Application"
  • 2011 - Dr. Sunita Goel – “Qualitative Information in Annual Reports & the Detection of Corporate Fraud: A Natural Language Processing Perspective”
  • 2012 - Dr. Yong Bum Kim, Ramapo College - "Continuous Monitoring: Macro- and Micro-level Control"

Do please feel free to contact us with any queries or questions you have about anything you find on these pages - the section's webmanager, Rob Nehmer, can be contacted on nehmer@oakland.edu.